We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Keystone

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Bar, New Zealand, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
150 Victoria St, Hamilton, New Zealand
078394294
Website
Today
10:00 - 23:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 - 23:00
Mon - Sat 11:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 97: English reviews
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Food was really nice and the staff were very professional, sirloin nicely cooked and vegi salad was quality

Helpful?
Thank Arn135
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This review is predominantly about the service which was so poor that it overwhelmed the experience. Went for lunch today. There was 3 wait staff and no more than 30 people in the restaurant. 10 minutes in we finally established eye contact with a wait staff and ordered 2 beers and the keystone platter. No biggie? Apparently so. Had to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shaz V
TheLawrensonG, Manager at Keystone, responded to this review

Hello Shaz, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review from your experience on Monday. We are very sorry for the level of service you received, unfortunately one of our staff members fell ill and fainted while working behind the bar and had to be attended to. Because of this incident we were short staffed and the service... More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been to Keystone before and was looking forward to a good hearty meal. Unfortunately not this time around! I ordered venison and was extremely disappointed in the size that got served up to me. Just a few small pieces of venison, a smear of sweet potato and some cocktail tomatoes and asparagus on the side. I came home... More 

Helpful?
Thank OscarBOy33
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

We kind of stumbled upon this restaurant for lunch and were really happy we did - the lunch menu was reasonably priced and a nice variation, well presented and the service was fabulous! Thumbs up guys!

Helpful?
Thank Teena A
Level Contributor
101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Went here with my other half for dinner. Didn't feel like a main so asked about the size of the entrees. Waiter reckons they're pretty small so I order two for myself and a small side, the other half got the sliders and fries. Food comes out. Wow. Not small. Struggled to eat less than half. No complaints though, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank DaveBevin
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Popped into here a couple of times this weekend. Found the staff very welcoming and chatty. Very pleasant. Can't comment on the food, but it's a comfortable "local".

Helpful?
Thank nzrckstr
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2016

Found Keystone on a short walk from the Novotel Tainui. Waitress was nice but the food was so-so. Three out of four of us had chicken that was fried in some manner. The last guest had fish and chips. All dishes leaving us feeling like we could have or should have gone somewhere else.

Helpful?
Thank BSLindsay1
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2016

Nice atmosphere, log burning fires inside , patio heating in outdoor areas . Service was quick and efficient , staff attentive ,good quality food at reasonable prices , We e were sat on high bar stools as a party of eight ,not altogether as comfy as chairs , but still had a good evening .

Helpful?
Thank 361jenny
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2016

Having eaten at Keystone on a number of occasions, this particular experience was the worst ever! The same waiter who has also served us at Furnace greeted us in his usual unfriendly, arrogant, rude manner and when we asked him for a table he rudely told us we could not sit anywhere but out in a cold section of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris W
TheLawrensonG, Public Relations Manager at Keystone, responded to this review

Hello Chris, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We would like to get more information from you about your visit to Keystone. Are you able to please email marketing@lawrensongroup.co.nz with some further details about your visit? such as: - description of both of the wait staff. - date and time of your visit. Thank you and... More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2016

we came here for a family lunch. service was average and so was the food. we ordered fish and chips for the kids and it came out overly done and hard with a slight fishy smell. Portions were not that generous either. the setting of the place was great though. It would take a lot of convincing for us to... More 

Helpful?
Thank moonlotus18

Travellers who viewed Keystone also viewed

Hamilton, Waikato Region
 
Hamilton, Waikato Region
Hamilton, Waikato Region
 

Been to Keystone? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, New Zealand, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 150 Victoria St, Hamilton, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Waikato Region  >  Hamilton
  • Phone Number: 078394294
Description
Keystone is Hamilton's only Monteith's craft bar, and the ideal venue for a work get-together or casual evening with friends.Offering a distinctly Kiwi menu,combined with a wide selection of quality craft tap beers and New Zealand wines, Keystone represents the best of New Zealand bar culture.

Set in the heart of the Southend hospitality precinct, on Victoria Street, Keystone has forged a reputation as the go-to destination for Hamilton's more sophisticated crowd.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Keystone staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?