We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

De Post Belgian Beer Cafe

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Bar, Pub, Belgian, European, New Zealand
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
466 Mount Eden Road | Mt Eden, Auckland, New Zealand
+64 9-630 9330
Website
Today
09:30 - 02:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 11:00 - 01:00
Sat - Sun 09:30 - 02:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 120: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have frequented this place so often as a local in the village and raved about it. But the 3 last visits have unfortunately been disappointing sorry De Post. No Stella available. The mussels which you were famous for gone down hill and the latest i was told by one of your waitresses that avocados were too expensive so that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane1402
Frenzigroup, General Manager at De Post Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review

Hi, thanks very much for your review and our sincere apologies that you’ve had a disappointing experience. We have never run out of Stella so can’t understand this and would be keen to find out more about when you were in and who you spoke to so that we can get to the bottom of what happened there. We haven’t... More 

1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Beer selection is amazing!! However the food has ranged from good pub food, to an overcooked mess. Sometimes the food is great and on point, but on many occasions a rare steak can come out well done. I would go back for beer, but not food

Helpful?
Thank Michael W
Frenzigroup, General Manager at De Post Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Great to hear that you enjoy our beer but we're disappointed that you haven't found the food up to scratch. I've passed your feedback on to the kitchen team so that we can ensure standards remain consistently good. Kind regards General Manager More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

After ordering several rounds of drinks our party of five asked to see the food menu. There was a promotion of two burgers for $29. I asked if me being the fifth person would have to pay full price to which the waitress responded, "yeah, that's what happens when you're the.. Fifth wheel". Just remembered why I haven't been here... More 

Helpful?
Thank tr0gd0r
Frenzigroup, General Manager at De Post Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review and we apologise that you had an average experience. I have passed your comments on to the front of house team so that we can address this with the staff member involved. Kind regards General Manager More 

Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

This was my first stop off when I landed and it was a great little pub. The beer was great, the atmosphere was very warm and welcoming. I was outside using my Ecigg and told I could come in with it and relax with my beer. Staff were friendly and a lot of the locals were in for quiz night.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sparkster74
Frenzigroup, General Manager at De Post Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, great to hear that you had such a good experience! More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

I have been going to this place for years - last time I went the waitress got pissy because I booked for 15, and 17 people showed up. She refused to extend our table. Seemed a bit rude - I brought 17 people into your restaurant, show some manners! We went tonight and the wait-staff ignored us when we arrived,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brad H
Frenzigroup, General Manager at De Post Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review, we are sorry that you felt let down by the staff. You certainly should have been greeted at the door and this would have solved the problem of both the dress code and the menus straight off. It is standard for us to have a Maître D’ positioned here so we apologise that no... More 

Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Haven't lost the plot in years Muscles were excellent. Ethan our waiter was creative in finding us a table when the place was pretty much full. Great service and very good value Will go again

Helpful?
Thank keriansav
Frenzigroup, General Manager at De Post Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your feedback, we're thrilled that you had a good experience! More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016

It is a while since I have been to my local De Post and after last nights experience I suspect it will be a long while before I go back. We popped in for a light meal and a few drinks I decided on a Belini cocktail which on the menu said peach liquor and sparkling wine. What I got... More 

Helpful?
Thank KBrown312
Frenzigroup, General Manager at De Post Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your feedback. We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience at De Post as this is certainly not the kind of visit we want people to have. Your feedback has been passed on to both the kitchen and front of house teams so that we can improve on what went wrong and learn from these... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Dropped in here on a whim as I was waiting for my partner to finish her last lecture for the day, decided that since I was a nice summy day I would sit outside and enjoy a pint. Staff were friendly, with good knowledge of the beers they stock. The outside area tho small was nice enough and caught a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kieran T
Frenzigroup, General Manager at De Post Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Kieran, so pleased we were able to hit the spot! More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Stopped in on Thursday for a meal with the children (21 & 19). Happy hour too! As usual I get to taste at least part of someone's meal (sons unlikely to share). BBC burger was very nice, as was my steak and red wine sauce! (Thursday special $25). Will be back to get my own burger. Everyone was very happy.

Helpful?
Thank 70flash
Frenzigroup, General Manager at De Post Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review

Great to hear that both you and 'the kids' enjoyed your visit, thanks for the feedback! More 

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2016

Situated in the heart of the Mt Eden shopping strip, great place for an original Belgian beer and food. Share a pot of steamed mussels with chips for a cheap and tasty meal.

Helpful?
Thank Paul v
Frenzigroup, General Manager at De Post Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, we're glad you had a great time! More 

Travellers who viewed De Post Belgian Beer Cafe also viewed

Auckland Region, North Island
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Mount Eden, Auckland Region
 

Been to De Post Belgian Beer Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 7 - US$ 22
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, Belgian, European, New Zealand
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:30 - 02:00
Monday
11:00 - 01:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 01:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 01:00
Thursday
11:00 - 01:00
Friday
11:00 - 01:00
Saturday
09:30 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 466 Mount Eden Road | Mt Eden, Auckland, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland Region  >  Auckland
  • Phone Number: +64 9-630 9330
Description
De Post Belgian Beer Cafe, located in the heart of Mt Eden offers a fantastic menu including mussel pots and platters, hearty pub fare and a great range of desserts. The atmosphere is lively and welcoming and the sunny upstairs outdoor deck area a perfect spot to enjoy the wide range of fine Belgian beers any time of the year. Special functions and parties work well at De Post Belgian Beer Cafe as the venue includes two separate bar areas plus a dedicated functions room. Contact 0800 FUNCTION for more information about booking a function at De Post.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from De Post Belgian Beer Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?