We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Pub, Belgian, Bar, European, New Zealand, Central European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
6-8 Vulcan Lane | Auckland City, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
+64 9-300 6226
Today
07:30 - 03:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 07:30 - 03:00
Sat - Sun 09:00 - 03:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

588 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 466: English reviews
Dordt, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
191 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Nice people working here. Dedicated and active know a lot about Belgium beers. Food is good typical bitterballen and waterzooi. This however was to salt and not like waterzooi should be more like a soup. This was to heavy but in general ok.

Helpful?
Thank Arnold W
Duluth, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This place is a little off the beaten path, but very good. Fish and chips was excellent. Large selection of beers​! Pitchers , bottles and draft beer. Fun lunch spot.

Helpful?
Thank Skip D
Frenzigroup, General Manager at The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we're so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Occi More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Eaten here a few times. Once for breakfast & once for dinner. Both times was beautiful with great service. Would definitely recommend. Compliments to the chef!

Helpful?
Thank 158darrenf
Frenzigroup, General Manager at The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your feedback - awesome to hear! More 

Cala Millor, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Went several times while in Auckland...and the service from the friendly staff was excellent...did not eat but the beer was good..and a great selection. Situated in the centre close to everything and always busy ....saw loads off big plates of mussle sales..

Helpful?
Thank denitabees
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I had come to New Zealand for many experiences but on top 10 list was New Zealand green lip mussels. They no longer import them in the US (can't imagine why not). Had a giant bowl of mussels. Several sauces/preps to chose from beautifully described by the waiter. Plenty to share a taste with the 2 others at the table.... More 

Helpful?
Thank CarmclTrvlr
Frenzigroup, General Manager at The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback! We're so pleased we could satisfy your craving for green lipped mussels and that you had a good experience all round. We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

A popular spot in downtown Auckland. Good selection of beers, including Leffe Blonde and Leffe Dark on tap. Nice pubby atmosphere. Decent food. Monday is half-price mussels night. Tuesday is steak night. Service was somewhat haphazard.

Helpful?
Thank screen-gem
Frenzigroup, General Manager at The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback! Sorry we didn't quite deliver on the service but we're glad you enjoyed the food and beers and hope we'll be able to welcome you back again one day More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Should've been warned off by the badly scratched and fraying furniture but ordered anyway. Burnt waffles, coffee with coffee powder along the rim, and cold beans were provided. Very disappointed in our second meal in NZ and won't be back.

Helpful?
Thank sydneyflitter
Frenzigroup, General Manager at The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review

We are very sorry that this was your experience. As you will see for our other reviews this is certainly not up to our usual standard and we sincerely apologise that our breakfast let you down. We have taken your feedback on board and will be addressing these issues to ensure we give customers a great experience at all times... More 

Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
236 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

You might want to go early - this place gets busy. It is one of THE places to go in downtown Aukland and locals know it well. It is well known for its mussels. But even if you're not into seafood, there will be something good for you. There is outside dining when the weather is good - lots of... More 

Helpful?
Thank foodiefool_10
Frenzigroup, General Manager at The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive feedback, we really appreciate your review More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We tried to get into this restaurant on Monday night, but there was a 40minute wait. The reason was half price mussels on Monday night. So we tried the Tuesday late lunch. My son said the mussels were the very best. He was so right. I had half a kilo of the largest mussels I have ever tasted. With a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ann W
Frenzigroup, General Manager at The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review

Thank so much for your feedback, we are so pleased you were able to make it back and sample our famous mussels! More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We love this place. Love the seafoods and the beers. Their cheese mussels is a must try, as well as their oysters! The 2nd time i came to Auckland i wanted to come here but was mad tired. I hope i have the chance to come here again. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank YeenLing
Frenzigroup, General Manager at The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review, we're so pleased you had a great time and hope to see you again one day! More 

Travellers who viewed The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 14 - US$ 28
Cuisine
Pub, Belgian, Bar, European, New Zealand, Central European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 03:00
Monday
07:30 - 03:00
Tuesday
07:30 - 03:00
Wednesday
07:30 - 03:00
Thursday
07:30 - 03:00
Friday
07:30 - 03:00
Saturday
09:00 - 03:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6-8 Vulcan Lane | Auckland City, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland Region  >  Auckland
  • Phone Number: +64 9-300 6226
Description
In 1999 The Occidental Hotel on Vulcan Lane, Auckland was transformed into The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe which is the first authentic Belgian Beer Cafe in the Southern Hemisphere. We proudly serve an extensive selection of the finest Belgian beer and some of the best wines from New Zealand and Australia, complimented by authentic Belgian cuisine.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Occidental Belgian Beer Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?