We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melbourne Public

) #630 of 3,375 Restaurants in Melbourne ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ , ,
11 Dukes Walk | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
+61 3 9268 7600
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good42%
  • Average19%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“mini burgers” (2 reviews)
“chicken parm” (3 reviews)
“south wharf” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, Australian, Contemporary
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
11 Dukes Walk | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely upmarket pub in southwarf the outside seating has a good atmosphere and the inside is decked out well. Service was good and we didn't wait to long for our meals to arrive. The salmon dish was nice but my partners meal the chicken risotto...More

Thank RayleneL
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were having a late dinner somewhere and we decided about 4pm we wanted a couple of drinks and a light bite. We chose the Melbourne Public as it was next to our hotel. In our time there on a Thursday afternoon it was fairly...More

Thank JJJakki
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Myself and 15 of my family members came for lunch and we were all presented with beautiful meals and the service was also 👍🏻. Only down side was apple pie & donuts on the dessert menu with bout 7 of us wanted to order these...More

Thank BarneyLovesUs
Darcy V, Manager at Melbourne Public, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

So pleased you had a wonderful Mother's Day here at MP! We are always striving to improve - so thank you for your feedback on the desserts. Hopefully see you again very soon! The MP Team.

Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

After reading some reviews decided that we were due some pub grub. After our first two dinners in Melbourne were duds we were very pleasantly surprised by the food, service and ambience of the Melbourne Public. I had the chicken Parma and my partner had...More

Thank ElleC1957
Darcy V, Manager at Melbourne Public, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Thank you for your glowing review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed the food and the atmosphere - and hopefully see you again soon! Thanks, The MP Team.

Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

Arrived at 3/4 time of the Anzac Day match to watch the end of the game. I was a bit unsure about going inside as it was quite busy and I had a 5 month old baby in a pram. But thank you to security...More

Thank Patchy1985
Darcy V, Manager at Melbourne Public, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

So pleased to hear you had such a good experience! Look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thanks, The MP Team.

Reviewed 20 March 2017

I was in melbourne for work in February 2017. I was staying at Southbank and my work colleagues took me here for dinner - great pub, excellent food and good value for money. Would definitely eat and drink there again - very good wine list...More

Thank darren m
Reviewed 20 March 2017

The food was good and along the lines of pub grub. The reason I wouldn't return or recommend to friends is the young bar staff who seem more keen to form a youth club behind the bar then provide decent service. When the food arrived...More

Thank Matt C
Darcy V, Manager at Melbourne Public, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Hi Matt. We're sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. Would you be able to send me more information on your waiter - a description and also a date and time that you were here? We take these things very seriously and would...More

Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Rude barman ask for a glass of wine wanted to sell me a jug of something else when I said no he was annoyed ! Why don't you give the customer what they asked for !!!!

Thank Bernadette M
Darcy V, Manager at Melbourne Public, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Hi Bernadette, we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your service at Melbourne Public. We appreciate your feedback and will follow up accordingly. Hopefully you will give us another chance soon. Thanks, The MP Team.

Reviewed 8 March 2017

Great location & friendly staff. We sat outside which was really nice. Quick service with our food & was very delicious.

Thank chriss552016
Darcy V, Manager at Melbourne Public, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

So glad you had a great time! Sounds like the weather was nice for you as you got to enjoy the Terrace. Hopefully see you again soon!

Reviewed 26 February 2017

Good, fun atmosphere here - we visited for drinks and dinner. Bar service was quick and friendly even when the venue was quite busy. Empty glasses were cleared frequently from the table, very efficient. We ordered meals which were good value, very tasty and served...More

Thank kristyw83
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Boatbuilders Yard
404 reviews
.21 km away
BangPop
285 reviews
.06 km away
Munich Brauhaus
569 reviews
.07 km away
Akachochin
146 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
DFO South Wharf
644 reviews
.15 km away
Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre
240 reviews
.18 km away
Polly Woodside - Melbourne's Tall Ship Story
144 reviews
.18 km away
Victoria Police Museum
73 reviews
.34 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Melbourne Public staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, Australian, Contemporary
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 01:00
Monday
12:00 - 01:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 01:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 01:00
Thursday
12:00 - 01:00
Friday
12:00 - 01:00
Saturday
12:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 11 Dukes Walk | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Melbourne
  • Phone Number: +61 3 9268 7600
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing