We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ship Inn

) #261 of 3,578 Restaurants in Brisbane ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ , ,
Cnr Stanley & Sidon Streets | South Bank Parklands, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
+61 7 3844 8000
Website
Save
All photos (53)
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good37%
  • Average13%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, Australian, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Cnr Stanley & Sidon Streets | South Bank Parklands, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised with the menu. If I'm ever going out for a meal I always pre check the menu to make sure there are allergy friendly options. This time I didn't get the chance and was pleased to see a variety of options....More

1  Thank flea173
Ellie J, Front Office Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Flea173, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. We are always happy to help cater for any dietary requirements when we can. We hope to see you soon!

Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 18 March 2017

We had a table outside where we could watch the world go by. It was a Saturday lunch and we could choose from several tables outside or inside without a reservation. I ordered the pork belly and scallops. The pork belly was cooked to perfection....More

3  Thank Vicki B
Reviewed 1 week ago

Ship Inn is a great location and a great place to stop for a meal, a coffee or a drink. Good atmosphere and value for money meals.

2  Thank tim_chuck_norris
Ellie J, Front Office Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi tim_chuck_norris, Always great to hear that you enjoy the Ship Inn. We hope to see you again!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came upon this place after our visit to the maritime museum and we were not disappointed. This place has a very relaxing outdoor beer garden under a canopy of palms and shade sails. I had a shepherds pie and husband had the calamari on...More

2  Thank Colleen J
Ellie J, Front Office Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Colleen, Thanks so much for your lovely review and great to hear that you were not disappointed! We hope to see you again to try more of our menu.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful old hotel filled with history in a great area of Southbank it was lovely to pop in here for dinner, we were staying in Brisbane for 3 nights pre cruise and we looking for somewhere comfortable to eat this was perfect close to our...More

1  Thank endlessumers
Ellie J, Front Office Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Endlessumers, Great to hear that you enjoyed your visit at the Ship Inn and thank you for the feedback. We hope to see you back again in your next visit to Brisbane!

Reviewed 11 July 2017

Chose this restaurant as it seemed lovely from the outside when we were walking past. Got shown to our table and told that the restaurant was table service and they would be out shortly. They came out with a bottle of water and glasses and...More

Thank Jacqui M
Ellie J, Front Office Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jacqui, We are terribly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy yourself. Your review has been noted and we will talk with our staff to improve so this does not happen again. We do hope you will try us again!

Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Food was fresh and very nice. Our waiter failed to listen well to order. At first I thought I said the wrong thing.. but wben the next tables order was mixed up as well.. I thought it wasnt me. History is interesting and great to...More

1  Thank Danni F
Ellie J, Front Office Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Hi Danni F, Many thanks for your review on your experience at the Ship Inn, I am glad you like the meals. It is great to here positive feedback, but it is also very important to be notified of issues and if a customer is...More

Reviewed 4 June 2017

Nice atmosphere, nice staff..terrible food. Both of our dishes were just terrible. Skewered lamb tough as an old boot. Pork belly lamb tasted three days old. Would not go back again.

Thank knip_12
Reviewed 29 May 2017

attended a private function upstairs , the finger food was very ordinary for what was charged per head, and certainy few and far between in quantity ! .... and the drinks upstairs were ridiculously overpriced ...Its a shame it is a great venue/location , surrounded...More

Thank Russel Neville D
Reviewed 29 May 2017

I ate here in May 2017. It was a week night and early, but that didn't seem to be an issue. The Inn has a good menu and the most amazing sweet potato flies anywhere. Good prices, so in all this is a great place...More

1  Thank Family464
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
MADO Cafe and Restaurant
478 reviews
.21 km away
Stokehouse Q
722 reviews
.13 km away
Popolo Italian Kitchen and Bar
468 reviews
.14 km away
Siam South Bank
122 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
Queensland Maritime Museum
302 reviews
.12 km away
Old Government House
51 reviews
.63 km away
Goodwill Bridge
23 reviews
.18 km away
QUT Art Museum
26 reviews
.62 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kaye G
26 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from WLKennedy | Reviewed this property |
I don't believe that is an option.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 13 - US$ 28
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, Australian, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Highchairs Available
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
09:30 - 16:00
Monday
09:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
09:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
09:30 - 22:00
Thursday
09:30 - 22:00
Friday
09:30 - 23:00
Saturday
09:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cnr Stanley & Sidon Streets | South Bank Parklands, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Brisbane Region  >  Brisbane
  • Phone Number: +61 7 3844 8000
  • E-mail
Description
What was once a rowdy sailor's drinking den has been transformed into a civilised Gastro Pub complete with a separate and impressive function and convention facility catering for up to 200 guests. This iconic South Bank Hotel, constructed in 1864, has developed a reputation as a lamblover's paradise and boasts a classic pub style menu sitting beside our more accomplished dishes. The Ship Inn is proud to have a strong commitment to sustainability. Drop by some time and see for yourself what it is we do.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing