We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

East Ocean Restaurant

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Neighbourhood:
Chinatown
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
Stanley House 421 Sussex St | Haymarket, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
+61 2 9212 4198
Website
Today
10:00 - 00:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 10:00 - 00:00
Sat - Sun 09:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

272 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 263: English reviews
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Once we sat down I then realised that the carpet didn't match the clean table cloths . The food was mediocre- very bland actually and the toilets were also filthy. The staff constantly pushing trolleys of food at you without 5 mins to even look at the menu to really decide what you want became very disruptive-just give people five... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linyep
EastOcean, Public Relations Manager at East Ocean Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Linyep, First of all, we would like to apologise for the experience you had with us - we take pride in our service and quality so we definitely want to put your needs first before anything else. Please don't let this experience be the last experience here as we constantly are trying to improve our services. You can further... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Could have been such a good dining experience if not being ripped off. Our bill was only 93.60 but when we got our receipt, we were surprised to have also paid for an extra 43 dollar for the TIP which we were not made aware of.... Husband paid thru paypass and was asked to enter PIN, I asked why need... More 

Helpful?
Thank janetandbrad
EastOcean, Public Relations Manager at East Ocean Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi janetandbrad, First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your dining experience with us. Can you please specify the date and time you dined with us or the manager/ staff that served you? We would like to follow up with this occurrence. Please feel free to email booking@eastocean.com.au the details of your dining experience so we... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been going here for over 15 years and I'm yet to have a bad meal. The restaurant is always busy and I think this sometimes leads to the service being below par. However the quality of the food always makes up for this issue. I recommend this place to anyone wanting a meal in the city. Keep up... More 

Helpful?
Thank scott712016
EastOcean, Public Relations Manager at East Ocean Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Scott712016, Thank you for your 15 year of loyalty and dedication to us. You do not know how much it means to us! We are definitely working on how we can maintain the level of quality and service during busy times - thank you for letting us know. Looking forward to seeing you again! Regards, East Ocean Team More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2017

This restaurant is located on the 1st floor, while it still attracts a lot of people. That must be the best proof of its taste. The cousine is typical Guangdong style. Fresh ingredients and not so strong taste. Average service.

Helpful?
Thank Serene C
EastOcean, Public Relations Manager at East Ocean Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Serene, We're glad you had an enjoyed our food and services. Looking forward to seeing you next time! Regards, East Ocean Team More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

The star has fallen in this restaurant. Pretty indifferent to the diner by way of service and attention to detail but the food is good. It's a shame as it use to be amazing and still could be.

Helpful?
Thank dazza48
EastOcean, Public Relations Manager at East Ocean Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Dazza48, Thanks for being such a loyal fan over these past years. Our team strives to provide outstanding service and food at all times and are also upset to see you encountered such an experience. We are constantly working on our service, so please don't let this deter you away. Give us another chance to make it right :)... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2017

First time I've been to this restaurant and will ever come back. I ordered a crab with XO noodles. The crab cooked is not nice. The costs of half kilo crab is $80. The bill came out $167.00 including 2 beers. This restaurant hired waiter and waitress with lacking of English. They don't know how to serve customers. The restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank cutetiger8
EastOcean, Public Relations Manager at East Ocean Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi cutetiger8, Thanks for your feedback. Our team strives to provide outstanding service and we apologise that their english skills may be lacking. Please understand that English isn't their mother tongue so it may take them time to communicate what they are trying to say. Please don't let this experience deter you away, but we hope you can give us... More 

Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We came here for Yum cha lunch often and really enjoyed it. So based on this we tried dinner here and was very disappointed. Food was bland, quite expensive and serving was really small for the price. Service was pretty bad. Will go Yum cha only and never dinner again.

Helpful?
Thank Judelaw
EastOcean, Public Relations Manager at East Ocean Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Judelaw, Thanks for taking your time to give us a review. We're glad you enjoyed our yumcha services and we apologise for the dining experience you had. We are also upset that you have encountered such experience - can you please provide more details on your dining experience? Feel free to email admin@eastocean.com.au so we can improve from this... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

This is the best Yum Cha. My friend and I had a feast. We had lobster,duck, many dumplings- the spinach and prawn were most delicious, prawn and sesame which my friend adored, green vegetables, tea, sauces. A bit of an extravagant food choice but it was Chinese New Year after all. We ended up taking some away which was greatly... More 

Helpful?
Thank carothomo
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2017

The inside of the restaurant is well presented, however upon walking in we should've turned back. A small line to get seated (which was fine), however when people behind you are getting seated first and speaking cantanese so you have no idea what is happening, not a great sign. After finally getting a seat i asked a lady for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
EastOcean, Public Relations Manager at East Ocean Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Sarah, Thank you for taking time to let us know your experience. Our team strives to provide outstanding service for everyone at all times so we are also upset to see you have encountered such an experience from our staff. Would you please contact us via email admin@eastocean.com.au to give us more details and we would like to follow... More 

Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

Staff where extremely rudest ignorant, forgot to bring parts of our order and simply didn't give a rats... food was average at best, priced way over the top $250 for 4 adults and 2 kids (that ate almost nothing)

Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
EastOcean, Public Relations Manager at East Ocean Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi there Darren G, Thanks for dining with us and giving us a review. We are constantly working on our operations so we are also disappointed that our staff did not offer their best services to you. Can you please provide further details of your dining experience to admin@eastocean.com.au. We would like to follow up on the details and provide... More 

Travellers who viewed East Ocean Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to East Ocean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 3 - US$ 38
Cuisine
Chinese, Seafood, Asian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 00:00
Monday
10:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 00:00
Thursday
10:00 - 00:00
Friday
10:00 - 00:00
Saturday
09:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stanley House 421 Sussex St | Haymarket, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Sydney>  > Chinatown
  • Neighbourhood: Chinatown
  • Phone Number: +61 2 9212 4198
Description
Located in the heart of Chinatown, East Ocean Restaurant was established in 1985 and has since been known as the most authentic Chinese restaurant in Sydney. We are committed to offering our patrons high-quality and authentic Chinese cuisines.East Ocean specialises in live seafood cooking. We keep live lobsters, king crabs, mud crabs, abalone, pipis, king prawns, and large variety of fishes in temperature-controlled tanks. All our seafood is guaranteed to be fresh and of excellent quality.In addition to its extensive live seafood menu, East Ocean Restaurant is also famous for its Yum Cha. In 2010, The Sydney Morning Herald rated East Ocean Restaurant as one of the top 10 Yum Cha restaurants in Sydney. East Ocean was also a finalist in the Best Chinese Restaurant 2010 category by The Australian Restaurant and Catering Association.Since 2009, East Ocean Restaurant broke through the barrier of Chinese dining culture by introducing the wine drinking culture together with Chinese cuisine. With our extensive experience in matching Australian, French and Italian red and white wines with our menu, we are confident that our patrons will have the utmost experience in Chinese dining. In 2010, East Ocean Restaurant was awarded 2 Wine Glasses by the Gourmet Traveler Wine in the Wine List of the Year category for its comprehensive selection, wine knowledge, and its ability to match Australian and French wines with authentic Chinese cuisines.We are proud to receive the well accredited 2013 Gourmet Traveller Wine list Award of the year, again... a well deserved 2 Glass rating!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of East Ocean Restaurant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from East Ocean Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Chinatown

Neighbourhood Profile
Chinatown
Tiger-flanked archways on Dixon Street mark the entrance to the “little Asia” of Sydney. A walk through Chinatown is a feast for the senses where aromas, tastes, sounds and visions of dancing tigers transport you to a different world. Chinatown visitors can expect a melting pot of Asian food at the neighbourhood's specialty delis and groceries. From yum cha to handmade noodles, BBQ ducks hanging in the window to Asian sweets and bakeries, there is something for all tastes. Paddy’s Markets is the largest flea market in Sydney where you can find souvenirs, clothing, gifts and fruit and vegetables at unbeatable prices. At night, Chinatown comes alive with entertainment including theatre, nightclubs and bars that are open until the early morning.
Explore this neighbourhood