We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Spotted Cow

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Bar, British, Pub, International, Contemporary, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Street, Marston Meysey SN6 6LQ, England
+44 1285 810264
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 18:30
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

212 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 212: English reviews
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

It is difficult to describe, but The Old Spotted Cow looks right and feels right. The welcome was friendly, the food very good and the atmosphere warm - can there be more?

Helpful?
Thank Smith5764
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

My sister and brother in law live in the village and although we have visited before for a drink in the garden, myself and my teenage 'children' have never eaten here before. However, on Friday evening we were lucky enough to sample the food at this lovely pub! We were a group of 7 including my elderly, wheelchair-bound mother, 14... More 

Helpful?
Thank tabbiecat23
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were staying at the De Vere Cotswold Water Park hotel and decided to drive out for dinner on Saturday 15th April. After checking trip advisor, The Old Spotted Cow stood out significantly. Upon arrival in the evening, this place lived up to expectations instantly. The staff were amazingly friendly and delightful to talk to, the menu was great for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kevS265
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have eaten here on a few occasions and have always been greeted by friendly staff. Today was a little disappointing as we had booked over a week before and requested vegetarian and vegan options. Despite this there was only two vegan options one of which was bubble and squeak,and a spicy chickpea stew (why oh why can't chefs come... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
OldSpottedCow, Owner at The Old Spotted Cow, responded to this review

You're joking?! We rang the person who made your booking well in advance, specifically to ask what you might enjoy eating. We asked if you'd please speak to the chef so as to agree a suitable menu for your personal tastes. We were told NO. We asked what you'd enjoy but were not given ANY information. None at all. On... More 

Southampton, England
Level Contributor
131 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Oh my goodness, what an unexpected surprise! We chose a selection of little dishes to start and share between us. At £2.60 each they were very good value for money - but more importantly very tasty. But ... the big surprise was the Spicy Tanzanian fish stew with coconut rice and chilli-ginger sauce at £13.00 was amazing! So tasty I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank poroger
Minety, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

They've done it again. Excellent food, reasonable prices, friendly and knowledgeable service - what more could you possibly want? We will be back.

Helpful?
Thank GDL2014
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Lovely country pub environment - very friendly and helpful staff and the food was lovely. They were so flexible in helping to organise our small party and gave us our own room for privacy.

Helpful?
Thank PonderT
West Horsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Popped in for lunch on 18th Feb and were greeted with the warmest welcome, roaring fire, friendly staff and the best Tapas we have ever had!! Broad beans with black pudding, juicy prawns, feta, chorizo, mushrooms, calamari - absolutely delicious. We paid a fortune to stay at a pub just up the road, with overpriced mediocre food, dirty rooms and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jan A
OldSpottedCow, Owner at The Old Spotted Cow, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your lunch - and as it happens, we are about to begin doing B&B in the next couple of months so please feel welcome to get in touch next time you are in this area. Best wishes, Anna More 

Swindon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2017

My family and I had the pleasure of dining at the Old Spotted Cow last Saturday. Apart from one member we all chose the battered haddock served with chips and peas. I can honestly say this was the finest fish we have ever tasted in a pub restaurant, so fresh and so flavoursome. Not only that the fish sizes were... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Bobby B
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Honest good pub grub, so many Pubs proclaim this and then so disappoint, The Spotted Cow does not, there menu ranges from simple to more refined, ideal…. The service was attentive, professional and efficient with a bonus smile, its easy when you know how, the Spotted Cow clearly knows how….

Helpful?
Thank Antony l
OldSpottedCow, Owner at The Old Spotted Cow, responded to this review

Perfect - glad you enjoyed your visit to the Old Spotted Cow. We are a happy team and enjoy delivery hospitality in the true sense of the word. Warmest wishes for 2017 Anna More 

Travellers who viewed The Old Spotted Cow also viewed

Cirencester, Cotswolds
Meysey Hampton, Gloucestershire
 
South Cerney, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Old Spotted Cow? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 6 - US$ 18
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, International, Contemporary, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 18:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Street, Marston Meysey SN6 6LQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Marston Meysey
  • Phone Number: +44 1285 810264
Description
The Old Spotted Cow is a pretty village pub on the outskirts of Marston Meysey, the northern-most village in Wiltshire. We have records of it as a pub as early as 1841, when the first census was taken, and it still retains many of the old features befitting of a Costwold pub: open fires, low beamed ceilings, exposed stone walls... Set amist pretty gardens, with views of open fields and plenty of off road parking, the Old Spotted Cow makes a charming retreat from the hurly burly of modern life. We strive to keep our menu fresh and seasonal, striking a balance between much loved pub classics and some more diverse dishes that reflect the landlady/head chef's many travels. Booking is recommended as we can get busy.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Old Spotted Cow and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Worcester, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Spotted Cow staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?