We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Pear Tree Inn

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Bar, European, British, Pub, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Top Lane | Pear Tree Inn, Whitley, Melksham SN12 8QX, England
+44 1225 704966
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 185: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This pub - with a huge car park but looking quaint and compact from the road is like a tardis - it has a lovely interior and the staff are welcoming and friendly. The food was fresh and delicious. They also have some beautifully refurbished accommodation, next time i'd like to stay!

Helpful?
Thank TiggsBunty
Jackie C, Owner at The Pear Tree Inn, responded to this review

Hello TiggsBunty! Thank you for taking the time to review your visit and complementing our interior, food & "Perfect Team" We hope next time you get the chance to stay in one of eight individually designed rooms Kind Regards Jackie More 

Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We decided at the last minute to book and were glad that we did as The Pear Tree was very busy. The food was excellent and the service just right, not rushed but attentive. We will definitely return in the summer to enjoy the garden.

Helpful?
Thank Martina H
Marcus G, Deputy Manager at The Pear Tree Inn, responded to this review

Dear Martina H, Many thanks for your fantastic 5-star review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves. Looking forward to your return, Marcus More 

Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Thank you Jacqui and Adrian for a great Sunday lunch. Delicious beef, perfect vegetables, delicious wine from Patagonia (a first for me) and the sticky toffee pudding was amazing. Well done with the decor, really comfortable and warm environment with the wood burners going. Will certainly be back soon and will come on a non-Sunday to have Adrian's amazing Fish... More 

Helpful?
Thank David L
Marcus G, Deputy Manager at The Pear Tree Inn, responded to this review

Dear David L, Thank you so much for your detailed five-star review following your Sunday lunch with us last week - It's great to read. Let me know when you plan to return & I'll be sure to book you a table and reserve a fish pie for you! Many thanks, Marcus #bestinthecountry More 

wiltshire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We bought my mother, son and his girlfriend here for dinner after we had tried it again when it had reopened and had such a lovely meal. Unfortunately it was really disappointing. The fire was lit and was absolutely roaring, far too hot. Menu choice was limited and although I usually have no problem choosing what I wanted but even... More 

Helpful?
Thank 40somethingWiltshire
Marcus G, Deputy Manager at The Pear Tree Inn, responded to this review

Dear 40somethingWiltshire, Thank you for leaving a review following your experience at the Pear Tree. I'm sorry to hear that you felt this was disappointing. Never before have we had negative feedback concerning our log-burning fires - If you were too hot, I'm sure a member of the team would have been happy to adjust the temperature slightly. With regards... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Appalling food. They got my order wrong and no attempt was made to give me the correct dish that I had ordered in advance. Instead I was sarcastically told by the waitress "it can be difficult to remember what you order when you do it in advance"! Sorry, I thought the point of ordering in advance was to ensure you... More 

Helpful?
Thank 0ophelia1
Jackie C, Owner at The Pear Tree Inn, responded to this review

This review does not represent the service and quality of food served at The Pear Tree, our Trip Advisor rating proves this. Please come & check us out and form your own opinion. Happy New Year Jackie More 

Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had the most delicious Sunday dinner here today; we had the turkey and everything was cooked to perfection with the turkey having a most fantastic flavour... the best we'd had in a long time! Plenty of a variety of different veg as well and wonderful roast potatoes. The desserts were also fabulous. We enjoyed the warm, relaxed ambience of... More 

Helpful?
Thank sada60
Marcus G, Deputy Manager at The Pear Tree Inn, responded to this review

Dear sada60, Thank you for your detailed five-star rating following many visits to the Pear Tree, it's great to hear such positive feedback & we're all delighted that you enjoy the Inn as much as we do. Looking forward to your next visit, Marcus More 

Mfuwe
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We often stay with relatives and what a fantastic treat to visit here since the revamp and new management. Menu and food were superb, friendly staff and great atmosphere. We loved our anniversary dinner, but also often pop in for a cheeky pint in the afternoon.

Helpful?
Thank Jackalberry
Marcus G, Deputy Manager at The Pear Tree Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jackalberry, Thank you for your feedback following your recent experience with us. I'm really pleased that you've enjoyed yourselves. Many thanks, Marcus More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our second visit, the first being excellent. The restaurant was freezing and some of the food was luke warm. This was mentioned to our server and she offered to heat the food up again rather than replace it which did not appeal so it was not eaten. The waitress had an off hand attitude and consequently we did... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Megandteddy
Marcus G, Deputy Manager at The Pear Tree Inn, responded to this review

Dear megandteddy, I'm really sorry that you felt disappointed with your most recent dining experience at the Pear Tree - The actions that you have described are certainly not what we would expect. Thank you for your feedback, Marcus More 

Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A business trip, and not my first say. As good as ever, and thoroughly recommended. What more can I say? I wish it was nearer Cumbria!

Helpful?
1 Thank clocks90
Marcus G, Deputy Manager at The Pear Tree Inn, responded to this review

Dear clocks90, Thank you for your feedback following many visits to us. I'm really pleased that you've enjoyed yourself every time. Many thanks, Marcus More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was a joke. Small portions, rude staffs, food presentations was poor. When asked for new dessert, the portion was extremely small. Food and service didn't worth 75 pounds. Waiters were not friendly... oh dear. Have a look how our desert was originally served. Thanks. Merry Christmas!

Helpful?
16 Thank E_phnompenh
Jackie C, Owner at The Pear Tree Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry you felt the need to review your visit as soon as you got home, most people would have relaxed and watched the Queens speech! Your comments contradict our other reviewers, including the people that sat next to you. I do not believe that my team are rude or "unfriendly" but then everyone is entitled to their own opinion.... More 

Travellers who viewed The Pear Tree Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Pear Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 19 - US$ 31
Cuisine
Bar, European, British, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Top Lane | Pear Tree Inn, Whitley, Melksham SN12 8QX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Melksham  >  Whitley
  • Phone Number: +44 1225 704966
Description
After being closed for over a year The Pear Tree Inn has been carefully restored as a farmhouse kitchen with bar & rooms. It has a relaxed & rustic appeal to the locally sourced menu & reclaimed quirky decor.

An old stone build farmhouse with rug strewn flagstones & reclaimed timber flooring. It features worn wooden tables with mismatched furniture and linen napkins. The Pear Tree Inn will showcase the best local suppliers with a menu guided by the seasons. It also offers overnight guests eight contemporary individually decorated rooms split between the Inn & a beautifully converted barn
.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Pear Tree Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Pear Tree Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?