We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan Inn Woolpit

₹₹ - ₹₹₹British, ,
The Street, Woolpit, Bury St Edmunds IP30 9QN, England
+44 1359 240482
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good21%
  • Average5%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“crab cakes” (15 reviews)
“gravadlax” (5 reviews)
“lamb burgers” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
British, Pub, Bar, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
The Street, Woolpit, Bury St Edmunds IP30 9QN, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

11 - 20 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2017

We visited today for Sunday roast and it was impressive. The restaurant itself is very welcoming and cosy with a great friendly atmosphere. For starters we ordered the tempura prawns and crab cakes followed by an amazing, well sized roast beef dinner and every part...More

2  Thank Deepak S
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

Excellent, interesting high quality light lunch at around £7-00 and more ... With a daily pie offering at £14 ! My light crispy chicken sandwich exuded quality and style... Relaxing atmosphere with roaring log fire. Get zonked by Jak !! ... A charming host for...More

1  Thank pete b
Reviewed 10 December 2017

Had our first tastes of the Sunday roast at the Swan, Woolpit today. Absolutely delicious! The menu was simple but covered the bases. Everything looked home made, the pate was excellent! The portions were huge and definitely good value for money. Friendly staff and a...More

1  Thank Nikki S
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

I phoned for a table the gent who answered the call could not of been any more pleasant to deal with, all the staff were great, the food was very inspiring and very enjoyable, we had a great time and will be returning, Thank you...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 November 2017

Having enjoyed Sunday Roast at The Swan now three times, in a short space of time, I think we can say it is consistently excellent. From todays menu I chose the gravadlax with mustard dressing, it was delicious to say the least. I said to...More

1  Thank Michael L
Reviewed 19 November 2017

Sayed one night visiting family having done so last year.Room just about bearable temp,plenty of beverage ingredients but no milk not event powdered.Room ok but bathroom poor ,with mould on skirtings.Wanted to make comments on return of key Sunday morning but no access to main...More

2  Thank peter592014
994jonathan, Owner at The Swan Inn Woolpit, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Thank you for your comments. If our rooms "are just about...basic" then we can only imagine what cloud capped palaces and fairy castles you are used to "for 70 quid" Your review is hyperbolic, spoilt and exaggerated. We look forward to a time when TripAdvisor...More

Reviewed 19 November 2017

The place was buzzing, a terrific atmosphere. Book well in advance if you want a Sunday Lunch. We were very lucky that when we phoned the day before to book they squeezed us in at the end off the sitting. Once again it was first...More

1  Thank ChrisHarbutt
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Having heard that The Swan had recently started to open on Sundays we went last weekend. There were six of us and we were delighted to be greeted by a roaring log fire and cosy atmosphere. As a keen cook myself, I cook a Sunday...More

1  Thank cookingmad
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Having read the good reviews on Tripadvisor we were looking forward to an enjoyable meal. Unfortunately we were disappointed with our meal. We had a shoulder of lamb dish which was very bland and the service a little slow. The place itself is quite attractive...More

Thank BrianMellor
994jonathan, Owner at The Swan Inn Woolpit, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Mr Mellor, We have asked TripAdvisor to remove this review because you did not visit us. You cannot have eaten with us because we have no shoulder of lamb on the menu and never have had. We are happy to send you a copy...More

Reviewed 15 October 2017

We run a very busy Bed and Breakfast and many of our quests eat at the swan and say how good it is. We thought it was about time we made some time for ourselves and tried it for Sunday lunch. Wow, it was exceptional!...More

1  Thank ChrisHarbutt
Nearby HotelsSee all Woolpit Hotels
Travelodge Ipswich Stowmarket Hotel
133 reviews
4.65 km away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
673 reviews
7.22 km away
The Grange Hotel
274 reviews
7.24 km away
The Cedars Hotel
182 reviews
9.87 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Bull Inn
63 reviews
.01 km away
Teacups Tea Rooms
36 reviews
.15 km away
The Stag Cafe
34 reviews
1.59 km away
Nearby Attractions
Haughley Park
7 reviews
5.32 km away
St Mary Pakenham
6 reviews
6.71 km away
Rattlesden Gliding Club
6 reviews
7.84 km away
Stowmarket Golf Club
11 reviews
5.30 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Swan Inn Woolpit staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Street, Woolpit, Bury St Edmunds IP30 9QN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Bury St Edmunds  >  Woolpit
  • Phone Number: +44 1359 240482
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing