We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pheasant Inn

) #1 of 1 Restaurants in Cumwhitton ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ , British,
Cumwhitton CA8 9EX, England
+44 1228 560102
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent77%
  • Very good17%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (16 reviews)
“rice pudding” (4 reviews)
“warm bread” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Cumwhitton CA8 9EX, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The setting in the Eden valley is lovely to start with, the pub itself is beautiful. The food was fantastic, well presented and reasonably priced. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Thank Andrew H
Michelle G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank for taking the time to complete a review, we are so pleased you've enjoyed the food and your experience with us, we look forward to seeing you again soon Kind Regards Michelle

Reviewed 1 week ago

Very quaint, friendly Inn - staff were charming and very efficient. We all had fillet steak with all the trimmings which was excellent and cooked to perfection. For deserts we had crème brulee and caramelised rice pudding which was out of this world but quite...More

Thank Angie964
Michelle G, Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank for taking the time to complete a review, we are so pleased you've enjoyed the food and your experience with us, we look forward to seeing you again soon Kind Regards Michelle

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We recently visited this pub with our dog. It was a very busy evening and luckily we had reserved a table. We had starters and mains and couldn't fault it the waitresses were excellent and very welcoming, the landlord was also very friendly and chatty...More

Thank Jingleby91
Michelle G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank for taking the time to complete a review, we are so pleased you've enjoyed the food and your experience with us, we look forward to seeing you again soon Kind Regards Michelle

Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

My husband and I visited the Pheasant Inn whilst travelling in the area. It is situated in the delightful little village of Cumwhitton and is frequented by lots of friendly locals as well as visiting tourists. From the moment we arrived the atmosphere was excellent,...More

Thank Sarah B
Michelle G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Thank you so much for you lovely comments, I’ve fed back to the staff and they are delighted with your comments. We do rota the specials menu on a weekly basis and this is proving a hit with regulars and customers visiting the area. We...More

Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

Food is great, service is great, selection of drinks is great. You can't go wrong. This has been a go to pub for my family for a very long time and it only keeps getting better.

Thank Mal1984
Michelle G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Thank for taking the time to complete a review, we are so pleased you've enjoyed the food and your experience with us, we look forward to seeing you again soon Kind Regards Michelle

Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

What a great time we had, lovely food and excellent service. Will definitely visit again! We were are party of 3 adults and 5 young children, the staff were really attentive and brought the children thier food quickly. 😊

Thank embr1
Michelle G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Thank you for taking time to complete a review, your comments are of value to our team, we are so please you enjoyed your experience, we hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Michelle

Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

We stopped for a meal at the pheasant Inn. We received a warm welcome from the owners and the staff were so friendly and very efficient. The food was delicious thanks to their chef nigel. I can't wait to see the improvements the new owners...More

Thank Lorraine N
Michelle G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Thank you for taking time to complete a review, your comments are of value to our team. Nigel will be pleased you enjoyed your food and I’m happy the team made your visit a very pleasant experience. Looking forward to seeing you again soon Kind...More

Reviewed 3 June 2017

Just back from the Pheasant where we have had a brilliant meal. We haven't been for a while but were not disappointed. We both had the twice baked salmon soufflé which was so tasty and was served with warm crusty bread and salad. My husband...More

Thank Lynda M
Michelle G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Hi Thank you for taking the time to complete a review your feedback is of value to our team and we are so pleased you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon Kind Regards Michelle

Reviewed 31 May 2017

Well i read a few of the latest reviews and can say that the food is bloody good We did wait half hour only because it was busy but they told us this when we came in The landlord offered us a drink for the...More

2  Thank Dennis H
Michelle G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Hi Thank you for your feedback I know the staff have already seen your comments and they were so pleased. We are glad you enjoyed the experience and look forward to seeing you again soon Kind Regards Michelle

Reviewed 27 May 2017

Cumbria has plenty of decent pubs, and its a very competitive market locally in the Carlisle/Brampton area. What people are looking for is decent, attentive service, a good meal in a sensible time frame and enjoy the surroundings. This pub, which wasn't busy, took two...More

5  Thank Paul S
Michelle G, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Just to highlight you’ve wrote a review on the wrong establishment! The owners don’t work in the bar and we are fully staffed at all times. No one has ever waited 2 hours for a meal and there’s no scruffy staff working in our establishment....More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant
196 reviews
4.60 km away
Duke of Cumberland
154 reviews
4.98 km away
The Queens
218 reviews
5.90 km away
Nearby Attractions
New Mills Trout Fishing Park
138 reviews
10.56 km away
Walby Farm Park
330 reviews
10.58 km away
Carlisle Flight Training & Aero Club
11 reviews
9.17 km away
Solway Aviation Museum
304 reviews
9.32 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Carl W
26 November 2016|
Answer
Response from MGR99 | Property representative |
Hi Carl, much as we love dogs and have them ourselves, we cannot have dogs in the pub as all areas are used for eating plus we are now known for this so that people with pet allergies can happily come in without feeling any... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 12 - US$ 24
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cumwhitton CA8 9EX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Cumwhitton
  • Phone Number: +44 1228 560102
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing