We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Hall Inn

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Whitehough, Chinley SK23 6EJ, England
+44 1663 750529
Website
Today
12:00 - 19:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 19:30
Mon - Thu 17:00 - 21:00
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 14:00
Fri - Sat 17:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 335: English reviews
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Been meaning to eat at this lovely pub for lunch for some time. Unexpected guests on Sunday was the perfect opportunity. Having finally got to our table it then took 45 mins for our order to be taken. The food when it arrived was very nice but our guests were on a tight schedule and couldn't stay for desserts. Shame... More 

Helpful?
Thank _denisemercer6
DanielCapper, Manager at The Old Hall Inn, responded to this review

Hi, firstly i'm delighted you enjoyed the food. The Sunday in question was a particular busy Sunday and as such main dishes were taking around 45- 50mins at one point at our busiest time. Starters and desserts less than 20mins. This is longer than we would normally expect, but was exceptionally busy. Your review reads as if we left you... More 

Sotby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Having been here a number of times, booked a table to take our elderly mother for Sunday lunch. Arrived just before 12 and quickly ordered drinks and meals. Can't fault the friendly waitresses. Unfortunately we then had to wait an hour for our meals to arrive. People on the next table, came in after us, ordered after us but got... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
DanielCapper, Manager at The Old Hall Inn, responded to this review

The Sunday in question was a particular busy Sunday and as such main dishes were taking around 45- 50mins at one point at our busiest time. Starters and desserts less than 20mins. This is longer than we would normally expect, but we were exceptionally busy, and was only for a short period where we had delays. Some dishes would come... More 

Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Heard about this place by looking on the internet regarding walks with a pub visit. Visited mid week so fairly quiet. We had booked as we have a dog so needed to be in bar area. Got a warm welcome and was seated straight away. Varied menu & specials of the day. All our food was very tasty & well... More 

Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What an absolute gem this place is. I was brought up about 10 miles from here (now living away) and had never heard of it. We visited on a Saturday lunchtime. Table booked for 1.45. We arrived and the place had just the best atmosphere, with chatting, laughter and lovely foodie smells. We were taken to our table, through room... More 

Helpful?
Thank 16corky06
DanielCapper, Manager at The Old Hall Inn, responded to this review

Its heart warming to read such reviews. We are delighted you enjoyed you visit and are very grateful to you for taking the time to review us online. Dan More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
339 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A great pub with rooms to stay in, in the beautiful Peak District. Too many cask ales to choose from, ciders and wines for all tastes. The evening meal menu was typical pub grub, it looked good and tasted fine! We can recommend the suet puddings. The setting is lovely and the friendly service made for a great stay. Can't... More 

Helpful?
Thank 78Pam
DanielCapper, Manager at The Old Hall Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We look forward to having you back. dan More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my partner decided to have a holiday before we have our baby and so got a cottage in the area. On our door step was the old hall. I can't praise this place enough. The food was very delicious and had style about it. The atmosphere was superb and service was exceptional. The steak puddings are melt in... More 

Helpful?
Thank luke82gt
DanielCapper, Manager at The Old Hall Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the amazing review, and for the strong recommendation. Dan More 

UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There's a main bar area which had a lived-in, jolly feel, plus several rooms for dining in what looks like a spreading old country house. When we visited for a late Sunday lunch, the atmosphere was busy and welcoming. We both had excellent fish. The service (mostly by young people, probably students) was a little lacking (slow and a trifle... More 

Helpful?
Thank lonelygoat
DanielCapper, Manager at The Old Hall Inn, responded to this review

Delighted you enjoyed your sunday lunch. Thank you for taking the time to review us online. Dan More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On business in the area, I was put up in the hotel across the road, the Papermill. Both the Old Hall and the Papermill where exquisite. The food was glorious and the ambiance just as good. Those with a taste for real Ale, there is something there for you too! It was packed in there too which is always a... More 

Helpful?
Thank mmorrisroe
CHESHIRE UNITED KINGDOM
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having visited previously visited twice in a short period of time. We realised they offer a 'Early Bird' offer during stipulated days and times in the week. With the excellent standard of food we thought this was worth a try, we were mindful that the offer finished at 6.30pm. However we arrived in the bar/restaurant area at 6.33pm which was... More 

Helpful?
Thank SIX3OFUS
DanielCapper, Manager at The Old Hall Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry that that you missed the early bird offer. We offer a strict policy of adhering to the time for the offer as it is designed to offer a guests better value by tempting them to order and eat early, before the chefs get very busy. The last bookings we take for early bird is 6pm, giving our guests... More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

friendly welcome on arrival, prompt service, helpful staff, piping hot freshly prepared food (the steak and ale pudding was SUPERB!) warm informal ambience, great value... can't recommend enough!!! and can't wait to re-visit 😋...

Helpful?
Thank Peter H
DanielCapper, Manager at The Old Hall Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review. Dan More 

Travellers who viewed The Old Hall Inn also viewed

Chinley, Derbyshire
Chinley, Derbyshire
 
Kettleshulme, Cheshire
 

Been to The Old Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 7 - US$ 29
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining
Good for
Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, View, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 19:30
Monday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Whitehough, Chinley SK23 6EJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Chinley
  • Phone Number: +44 1663 750529
Description
We are proud of our reputation for great local ales and have an amazing regular following, who are not only responsible for the wonderfull lively atmosphere you will find at the Old Hall, but also for allowing such an extensive selection of traditional hand pulled cask ales and ciders to be offered. We offer a home cooked menu, using local produce, with a restaurant that extends into the Old Hall itself, complete with Elizabethan Minstrels Gallery.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Old Hall Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Marple, United Kingdom
8 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Hall Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?