We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rachel's

3, The Mound | Dt6 4, West Bay, Bridport, England
+44 7974 314277
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent86%
  • Very good11%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“fish stew” (142 reviews)
“chowder” (101 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3, The Mound | Dt6 4, West Bay, Bridport, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

The food is cooked to order and so fresh. The staff were so friendly. I had lovely tempura prawns with chilli dip, chips and delicious salad with homemade coleslaw. My husband had fish and chips which were scrummy. Everything was wonderful. Thank you to all...More

1  Thank Ruth A
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Many thanks Ruth for your amazing review. We are pleased you both enjoyed your lunch and hope to see you again one day. I shall pass on your comments and thanks to the staff.

Reviewed 6 days ago

The sun came out as we sat down and things got better. Beautiful view over the quay in the sunshine. The food was outstanding. I chose the Fish Stew and my wife had the haddock chowder. Best we had ever tasted, fresh, beautifully cooked and...More

Thank Colin W
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We are pleased you enjoyed the fish stew and your wife the chowder Colin. Many thanks for your wonderful 5 star review. See you again.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A lovely discovery (thanks to TA). The fish stew was super and the kids loved the prawn platter. Unfortunately for us no crab or scallops were available as the fishermen hadn’t brought any back but next time....More

Thank LondonSony
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are thrilled you enjoyed your first visit to us and look forward to seeing you again. Our menu revolves around what fish is available to us from the local fishermen so let’s hope that crab and scallops are about next time you visit. Many...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited on the only sunny day this week and Rachel’s was very busy!! The friendly and helpful staff explained that we could order, they would give us a spoon with our number on it, and then they would call us when a table became...More

Thank TaniaPlymouth
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Tania for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. It is always good to hear that customers enjoy their lunch and the whole experience of Rachel’s. We look forward to seeing you when you’re in this area again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food as always is amazing. I booked a table and Rachel was very accommodating, especially as we got stuck in awful traffic. We had the haddock chowder which comes in the most amazing creamy sauce and the fish stew which is a medley of...More

Thank RachelAA
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Shame about the weather however the food did the shining. We had seafood chowder and fish and chips Delicious generous portions always repeats on quality Remember it’s cash only and the nearest atm charges 1.75 to take money out Delicious food served with a smile....More

Thank jonesyboy27
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Let’s hope on your next visit that the sun will be shining for you! Thank you for the fab review.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We traveled all the way from South East London for a taste of Rachels fish stew and were not disappointed, delicious fresh crab too. Friendly service.

Thank Trulysplendid
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your lovely review. We are so pleased we didn’t disappoint after your long journey to try our fish stew. Hope to see you again one day.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on recommendation and were very happy we did. Fish stew and seafood chowder were excellent. Prawn sandwich served with chips and salad was full of big juicy prawns, delicious too. There's places either side that serve cheaper options, but the food we had looked...More

Thank BubbleGump
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us and hope you visit us again in the future. Thank you for your excellent review.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a 2.5 hr drive and a cold wet day Rachel’s was just the ticket. The Chowder warmed you up with deliciousness and was washed down rather nicely by a local cider. My parter had the stew which was just as good. While the kids...More

Thank Gavin A
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks Gavin for your lovely review. We are pleased to learn that the whole family were satisfied by something on our menu and hope to see you again one day.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Chowder comes highly reccomended. Always busy maybe a wait for food and seating but well worth the wait.

Thank coombe1970
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are so pleased you enjoyed our chowder. Many thanks for your excellent review.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all West Bay Hotels
The West Bay Hotel
307 reviews
.32 km away
Seacroft Bed & Breakfast
24 reviews
.33 km away
Haddon House Hotel
530 reviews
.37 km away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
390 reviews
1.63 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Baboo Gelato Ltd
128 reviews
.14 km away
Seagulls Restaurant
395 reviews
.27 km away
Snack Shack
126 reviews
.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lyme Bay Rib Charter
156 reviews
.19 km away
West Bay Canoes
104 reviews
.14 km away
West Bay Harbour
1,002 reviews
.08 km away
The Customs House
61 reviews
.28 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
FloydOnForever
15 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Rachelwestbay | Property representative |
Hi Floyd, our current opening hours are 11.30 -2.30 Thursday - Monday. Weather depending. Please feel free to give me a call 07974314277 to double check on the day. Thanks Rachel
1
Vote
Honeypie100
25 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Rachelwestbay | Property representative |
I’m terribly sorry we close on the 28th October for the season. Opening again in the spring. Hopefully you’ll be able to make it for a meal then. Kind regards.
0
Votes
GavCla11
13 August 2017|
Answer
Response from Rachelwestbay | Property representative |
Hello. I don't believe so as it's been a very hectic summer and everyone is shattered by closing time. Sorry to disappoint.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 6 - US$ 17
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, View
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3, The Mound | Dt6 4, West Bay, Bridport, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Bridport  >  West Bay
  • Phone Number: +44 7974 314277
Description
Rachel's is open daily from 11.30am to 3pm. Opening is weather dependant and there will be occasional days that they close for personal reasons. We will endeavour to advertise these closures on Facebook. Customers are welcome to telephone the advertised mobile number to discuss needs or book a table between 10.30 - 11.30am. Prior to start of service.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing