We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rachel's

3, The Mound, West Bay, Bridport Dt6 4, England
+44 7974 314277
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent86%
  • Very good11%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“fish stew” (149 reviews)
“chowder” (102 reviews)
Closed
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3, The Mound, West Bay, Bridport Dt6 4, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 918 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Outside dinning of surprisingly great quality. The only disadvantage is that there is no protection from the weather. Be sure to wear a hat if it is sunny.

Thank BaldEagleDude
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Many thanks for your excellent review. We only have a limited amount of umbrellas and do advise in hot conditions that customers come prepared for the hot sun.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited on a sunny Sunday and the place was really busy but they gave us a time to return and when we did seated us within minutes. Food is cooked to order so there was a wait, but so well worth it - fab fish...More

Thank Ajane3
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

It’s great to hear that you both enjoyed your lunch with us. Due to the space within the kiosk there is a limit to what alcohol we are able to stock and are sorry to hear that you weren’t enamoured with the wine we had....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Admittedly weather was on our side. Had to wait for a table so what better way than sit in the sea wall with a bottle of wine. Once shown to our table we selected our food and we weren’t disappointed . Scrumptiously tasty hot and...More

Thank Lulu R
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks Lulu. We are pleased you both enjoyed your lunch and look forward to seeing you next time.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food is amazing and although you may have to wait for a table sitting on the wall with a bottle of wine while you wait what can be better. Will definitely return. My friend had the fish stew and I had tempura prawns both equally...More

Thank LindaR3749
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Linda for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A year since we were last here and the quality of the cooking goes from strength to strength. We had a delicious lunch with the freshest of ingredients and generous portions. Fish stew, served with chunky bread, was brimming with white fish, prawns and mussels...More

Thank mahonia2013
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It’s fabulous to hear from returning customers continuing to enjoy the whole experience of lunching at Rachel’s. Many thanks for taking the time to write this excellent review and we look froward to seeing you next year.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we visit West Bay for our annual weekend break to Dorset our first stop weather permitting is Rachel's. This year was no exception, we arrived at lunch and luckily found a table. We ordered a bottle of wine, seafood platter and battered squid all...More

Thank ossiejolly
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your fabulous review and recommendation. It’s good to know that the weather didn’t disappoint you after such a long drive. We looked forward to seeing you next year.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A long que but well worth the Waite best fish stew made with tomato and cider I've had in ages also my better half had salt and pepper squid Mazin flavour crispy batter and wonderfully soft squid we had to swap meals half way through...More

Thank Nick H
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review Nick. We are pleased you enjoyed both the stew and the squid. Look forward to welcoming you back another day/season.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had to wait for 25 mins due to the long queue and it was worth while. We found it by accident looking for a quick bite. We had fish and chips and chilli squid. All fresh and well cooked. Also serves local cider . We...More

Thank Danny R
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Danny for your excellent review. We will be closing for the season at the end of October, but hope we may see you another season if you’re in Westbay again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We reserved a table ( beware, you DO need to reserve well in advance to secure a table although many people don't and still get a fabulous service). I'd never been before and was bowled over by the ambience ( albeit a beautiful sept morning)....More

1  Thank WillandKateUK
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you WillandKate for an absolutely fabulous review. The team are really pleased you enjoyed your first visit to us and hope that it will be one of many if not this season then next as we will be due to close at the end...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Myself, Sister and Mum were down in Dorset for a weekend and wanted to visit West Bay on our way home (fan of Broadchurch!) and I really wanted a yummy fish and chips before we set off home. I looked up places on trip advisor...More

Thank KeshaM7
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are pleased you enjoyed your first visit to us and hope that we will see you return if you are ever in the area again another day. Many thanks for your amazing review.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The West Bay Hotel
320 reviews
.32 km away
Seacroft Bed & Breakfast
24 reviews
.33 km away
Haddon House Hotel
555 reviews
.37 km away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
431 reviews
1.63 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Baboo Gelato Ltd
152 reviews
.14 km away
Seagulls Restaurant
438 reviews
.27 km away
Snack Shack
141 reviews
.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lyme Bay Rib Charter
218 reviews
.19 km away
West Bay Canoes
135 reviews
.14 km away
West Bay Harbour
1,129 reviews
.08 km away
The Customs House
78 reviews
.24 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
FloydOnForever
15 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Rachelwestbay | Property representative |
Hi Floyd, our current opening hours are 11.30 -2.30 Thursday - Monday. Weather depending. Please feel free to give me a call 07974314277 to double check on the day. Thanks Rachel
1
Vote
Honeypie100
25 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Rachelwestbay | Property representative |
I’m terribly sorry we close on the 28th October for the season. Opening again in the spring. Hopefully you’ll be able to make it for a meal then. Kind regards.
0
Votes
GavCla11
13 August 2017|
Answer
Response from Rachelwestbay | Property representative |
Hello. I don't believe so as it's been a very hectic summer and everyone is shattered by closing time. Sorry to disappoint.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 5 - US$ 16
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3, The Mound, West Bay, Bridport Dt6 4, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Bridport  >  West Bay
  • Phone Number: +44 7974 314277
Description
Rachel's is open daily from 11.30am to 3pm. Opening is weather dependant and there will be occasional days that they close for personal reasons. We will endeavour to advertise these closures on Facebook. Customers are welcome to telephone the advertised mobile number to discuss needs or book a table between 10.30 - 11.30am. Prior to start of service.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing