We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riverside Restaurant

Riverside, West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EZ, England
+44 1308 422011
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good22%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“turbot” (27 reviews)
“seafood” (70 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
₹₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Riverside, West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EZ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 688 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

I read reviews of this place before I visited and therefore went with high expectations. My hopes were surpassed. This place serves wonderfully fresh seafood. I chose scallop and Portland crab bisque as my first course and it was fantastic. The staff were friendly, professional...More

Thank Peter S
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Food excellent. Service really good. Not rushed in any way and a wonderful menu. Some music would have been good as the atmosphere was not super but this was a Sunday evening.

Thank Ian L
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Lovely 10 year anniversary meal. Great food, gin and wine to compliment the meal. Nice and clean. Happy and helpful staff. Beautiful views from the restaurant. Very pretty little place and of course it's famous for the filming of the Broadchurch TV Series.

Thank Ceri B
neilriverside, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thhank you very much for your kind review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We went specifically for the seafood and were not disappointed. The restaurant is in a perfect location, service was excellent and unhurried. The fish was well cooked and presented, but you need deep pockets for a good meal.More

Thank Bridgeplayer99
neilriverside, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our food as we only buy the best and this comes from the market at a cost. We also pay our hardworking staff over the minimum wage and as we are a small independant business (therefore...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Came here on a Saturday night for a mela with family. Setting was lovely right by the water. The service was very friendly.i liked the the food but the thing that annoyed me is how you don't get anything with the majority of the main...More

Thank razzledazzle22
neilriverside, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review, we are very glad that you enjoyed the food, we are somewhat confused that you were charged for extras with the steak as they are included, regarding the fish dish we are not sure which you had, not all dishes...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We've been coming to West Bay for years and can't believe that it's taken us this long to eat here, it's fabulous! The entire experience from booking to dessert was great, incredibly welcoming and tremendous food. Looking forward to a speedy return visit, thanks guys...More

Thank TradHenderson
neilriverside, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we look forward to your next visit

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Sea bass gorgeous, for both of the girls. Tested the chef with steak, and came up trumps. Can't fault the location; right in the middle of the harbour, with outside seating if preferred. Well worth a visit.

Thank Snipenose
neilriverside, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you very much for your kind words, it is gratefully appreciated

Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for a birthday lunch of about 8 people. Staff were friendly and familiar, wine was really excellent, food was very nice (although I was surprised by the prices - I hadn't been for about 15 years. Must be out of date!). I had mussels...More

1  Thank AMassey010
neilriverside, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

thank you very much for your review, Although we try very hard to keep our prices down we are governed by the market price of the day. We look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice ambience in the restaurant which was refurbished over the winter. Friendly and efficient staff and excellent food, focussed very much on locally caught fish/shellfish - not cheap but highly recommended

Thank Jon D
neilriverside, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for you kind review, we look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 1 week ago

Six of us ate dinner at the Riverside and it was excellent. There was a very large selection of fish dishes but steak, duck and vegetarian food - all nicely presented by attentive, but not obtrusive, staff. The outlook is real "fishing harbour" stuff and,...More

Thank John H
neilriverside, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for you kind words, they are very much appreciated by all of the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Rachel's
743 reviews
.20 km away
The Station Kitchen
483 reviews
.27 km away
Baboo Gelato Ltd
87 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lyme Bay Rib Charter
112 reviews
.20 km away
Hive Beach
316 reviews
.45 km away
West Bay Harbour
851 reviews
.12 km away
West Bay Canoes
85 reviews
.06 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Falak A
14 June 2017|
Answer
Response from neilriverside | Property representative |
Not being a follower of Islam myself I have researched this a little and as I understand it all meat from the sea is halal but, as we cannot confirm all of our ingredients are halal we would have to say no. I am sorry the... More
0
Votes
L-A S
9 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from neilriverside | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry and thank you to our customers for your answers. Yes we do have a disabled toilet, and good access to the building
1
Vote
Susan H
31 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 14 answers
Response from Bob A | Reviewed this property |
Yes, not beach gear, but smart casual
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 26 - US$ 65
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Romantic, View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Riverside, West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Bridport  >  West Bay
  • Phone Number: +44 1308 422011
  • E-mail
Description
the Riverside Restaurant enjoys a prime location with large picture windows overlooking the river Brit, but that is just one element of it's charm. It's also a pioneer in it's use of local produce to create truly special fish and shellfish dishes - along with alternative meat and vegetarian options which change on a daily basis.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing