We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Simply Judes Brasserie

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
West End, Pentewan, St Austell PL26 5BX, England
+44 1726 842474
Website
Today
18:00 - 21:30
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 14:30
Tue - Sun 18:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 88: English reviews
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2016

If you are eating in the immediate area, it's here or the local pub.The difference is that at Judes, you can get a roast meal with vegetables and no peas in sight. I like peas, good ones, tender, sweet but not the musket balls commonly seen. Anyway, Sunday lunch booked, very pleasant greeting and a choice of table for two.The... More 

Helpful?
Thank rodburris
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2016

Ok, where do we start? Right, two young ladies - Kirsty and Jordan are front of house and approach you with an amazing demeanour. Nothing is too much trouble and relayed with genuine smiles. Already my wife and I feel relaxed.I request the seafood stew MINUS garlic. My wife asks for the crab and chilli spaghetti but not too many... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shinnerin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Came to this resturant for our 10th anniversary meal and all I can say is it was shambolic. White wine not even chilled, onion bahjis like small rocks and the lamb was like it had been cooked then sat around all day they re cooked to the point where it was black! Chips were red hot and burnt the roof... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicole H
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

This was our 4th visit to Simply Judes and I must say that year on year it is simply getting worse. Our first visit was when Simply Judes first opened and the meal was fantastic nothing to complain about, however the last couple of visits the prices have gone up and the quality of food has gone down. £6.95 for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Toby G
judy r, Owner at Simply Judes Brasserie, responded to this review

Your review has been duly noted. First of I would like to respond to your comment. Few facts I need to clear up. As from day one to now 3.5 years later from opening we have not changed our menu or have any price increase. Indian tapas ... everything on that are homemade. We do not have a pakora ever... More 

Pentewan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2016

Went to this brasserie this evening and now wish we had saved our money. White wine was not at all chilled and my starter of crab, prawn and avocado stack had so much Rose Marie sauce on it that it overpowered the main ingredients. The main courses were ok and having ordered dessert we were then told that it had... More 

Helpful?
Thank fusingmad
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

It was my first time here and very nice to. Food is 10/10, delicious with huge choice on the menu.It all appears fresh and plentiful. There is a variety of cuisines which is great if you can't decide what you fancy.All staff we saw were polite and helpful. Couple of minor points..a little pricey, because its a large room its... More 

Helpful?
Thank cornishlocal
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2016

First and last visit !! Felt ripped of, food not up to scratch, left HUNGRY. Portions small and very over priced. 65p each for popadoms, pud at £5.95/6.25??? Don't think so. Staff were polite and as helpful as they could have been.

Helpful?
Thank foldingcamper
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2016

It was my birthday and we were looking for a new place to have a celebration meal with friends and found Simply Judes just next door to our camp site in Pentewan. We arrived at 7 pm and the place was very nice. The two waitresses were lovely, very welcoming and helpful. We were given the menus and tried to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter P
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

The food at Simply Judes is amazing. So fresh, well conceived, delicious and the most authentic taste we have had in a while. Please stop and try their fare. Great welcome and fabulous food. What more can you ask?

Helpful?
Thank Faye T
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2016

This place should be packed out every night. The food is marvelous, the decor and ambience charming. The team are friendly.

Helpful?
Thank raymond m

Travellers who viewed Simply Judes Brasserie also viewed

 
Pentewan, St Austell
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to Simply Judes Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
British, International
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
18:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
18:00 - 21:30
Thursday
18:00 - 21:30
Friday
18:00 - 21:30
Saturday
18:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: West End, Pentewan, St Austell PL26 5BX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  St Austell  >  Pentewan
  • Phone Number: +44 1726 842474

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Simply Judes Brasserie staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?