We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chinese Buffet - St Helens

Savoy Buildings Bridge Street | Savoy Buildings, St Helens WA10 1NU, England
+44 1744 610002
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good29%
  • Average16%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“sushi” (24 reviews)
“pancakes” (31 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Savoy Buildings Bridge Street | Savoy Buildings, St Helens WA10 1NU, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 708 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Went the Chinese buffet with couple of friends about 7.30 .their was plenty of choice decent food puddings wernt brilliant and I like my cake and custard ,but plenty of other choices I also like the machine ice cream which was good .polite service Disappointed...More

Thank John L
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Well what can I say about this place? What used to be a lovely restaurant and a pleasure to visit has sincerely lost all of its charm! I have visited here a few times and in the past the food was really nice, even though...More

Thank Natalie J
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

I recently visited this place for a friend birthday I had a lovely time and the food was very nice. The service was wonderful and a particular member of staff was very friendly called ray . I will definitely be visiting again.

Thank eviethefoody
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My 3 daughter's took me there for my birthday on Saturday 13th January, they booked a table for 4 of us the duck was smelly and pork ribs tasted sour, my daughter told the waitress the duck smelt off she just took away the plates...More

1  Thank maisey1940
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my family love it here we like to go to the grand buffee and the family 1 on a Sunday. They are the best. Staff friendly, always get a seat so never book. Food amazing and fresh, fantastic choice.

1  Thank Lynsey W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not my scene at all. Queuing. Too many dirty dishes about. Food too mass produced. Looked sloppy. Not organised well. Too brightly lit. Nothing personalised. Unhelpful. Bland. Will not be going back ever. Won't recommend.More

Thank Joan Margaret A
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback and we're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit, while we pride ourselves in the quality of our dishes, we do understand that some customers may prefer an A la carte type restaurant, I have passed your comments back...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for a family birthday great choice off food particuarly enjoyed freshly cooked items staff welcoming

Thank sallyljr
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We're so glad you and your family enjoyed dining with us for a birthday recently and enjoyed the dishes you tried, thank you for your lovely comments

Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

Went last night with friends an what a disappointing place, the food was very second rate tbh everything tasted the same, on the up side the staff made sure the table was cleaned asap, when I paid my bill I’d had 3 plates an 2...More

Thank Tim B
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience with us. We pride ourselves in the quality of our food and service so we're sad to hear you didn't feel you experienced this. I have fed all of...More

Reviewed 13 December 2017

I visited last week with three friends , one of whom is in a wheelchair and one who uses a stick. They were aware of a lift there as we had visited here before. I walked up the stairs and waited for the lift to...More

Thank bbrereton1610
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi There, thank you for your feedback and I'm really sorry to hear about your experience with our lift, I would like to assure you that this isn't usually the case and all your comments have been fed back and will be actioned upon. We're...More

Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Used to go when first opened and the food was okay for a buffet style restaurant but unfortunately this has become poor quality and not worth the price anymore.

Thank 105scottj
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience with us. Food quality is a priority for us and we pride ourselves on the dishes that we serve. I will pass your comments back to the team.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all St Helens Hotels
Premier Inn St. Helens (A580/East Lancs) Hotel
302 reviews
2.73 km away
Premier Inn St. Helens South Hotel
271 reviews
3.76 km away
Premier Inn Liverpool Rainhill Hotel
279 reviews
5.01 km away
Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock
839 reviews
5.36 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Vigour Kitchen & Juice Bar
29 reviews
.02 km away
Caffe Nero
27 reviews
.11 km away
Kaleidoscope Cafe
6 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
The World of Glass
324 reviews
.22 km away
Theatre Royal
142 reviews
.39 km away
The Citadel
45 reviews
.08 km away
Church Square Shopping Centre
12 reviews
.28 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Luke H
30 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Carl C | Reviewed this property |
i wouldnt think so tbh
0
Votes
ron f
14 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Sarahkelly67 | Reviewed this property |
Didn't see a menu
1
Vote
ron f
26 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from 790kevin1974 | Reviewed this property |
The general Sea food and they have set lunch time deals
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 4 - US$ 19
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Buffet
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Savoy Buildings Bridge Street | Savoy Buildings, St Helens WA10 1NU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  St Helens
  • Phone Number: +44 1744 610002
Description
The Chinese Buffet is a dynamic and exciting, modern Chinese restaurant. Launched initially as a single restaurant in Bolton the concept has grown in size and stature into an emerging brand with nationwide aspirations. Peter Wu, Paolo Hu and David Hu created The Chinese Buffet with the clear aim of providing a new style of buffet restaurant, high quality food at low cost to customers. They created an eclectic blend of Chinese food using only the finest and freshest ingredients, prepared and presented to the highest of standards. THE Chinese Buffet believes all their customers should receive the care, attention and quality they would expect from the finest of a la carte restaurant.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing