We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Samuel Lloyd

The Samuel Lloyd Building Rockingham Road | Gretton Brook Road, Corby NN17 1AG, England
+44 1536 447910
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good34%
  • Average19%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (9 reviews)
“peas” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Samuel Lloyd Building Rockingham Road | Gretton Brook Road, Corby NN17 1AG, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first visit for a couple of years and it was really nice. The timing wasn't the best, very busy about 1.30 and there were not many clear tables. We ordered at the bar and were warned that it would be about 20...More

Thank jo h
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited here for lunch and drinks. Some of the service was terrible, no listening to what you asked/ordered, being rude and no apologies for mistakes. Some staff (local female bar staff) were lovely though. The food was good as was the drinks, what you come...More

Thank lcdug
chloe f, Manager at The Samuel Lloyd, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. With a bit more information I can look further into this visit for you. Please feel free to contact us. I can assure you this would be a rare...More

Reviewed 19 March 2018

The food tasted great - we had steak & a mixed grill - both were cooked perfectly. Also the pub was very busy & didn't have to wait long for the food.

Thank Joey0
chloe f, Manager at The Samuel Lloyd, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting us at The Samuel Lloyd and taking the time to review us. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

We spent a day in this establishment chilling with good quality ales and food whilst watching the rugby

Thank Jargon69
chloe f, Manager at The Samuel Lloyd, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review of 'The Samuel Lloyd'.

Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

Curtis team leader served me with a smile he also did the check back within 3 minutes very friendly service table got cleared rapidly!! 5 star pub could not recommend a better place.

Thank Alicia O
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

So I went to a JDW about 15 years ago and ordered a fish and chips. It was not good. The fish was so bad in fact that I almost died after eating it. (I ate it all however because that’s just how I roll)...More

Thank Jack J
chloe f, Manager at The Samuel Lloyd, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you for reviewing 'The Samuel Lloyd'. Please take note the picture attached is actually our chicken strips though our fish is just as tasty. Im sure if you visit us again you will 'sea' this. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 3 March 2018

Even on a Saturday night you can get a seat despite being busy..... Great beer selection both bottles and draught also good selection of spirits..... Food is standard Wetherspoons served quickly and efficiently...... Bar staff busy but friendly.....

Thank Mike O
chloe f, Manager at The Samuel Lloyd, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review 'The Samuel Lloyd'. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 21 February 2018

Standard Wetherspoons fare was served quickly and efficiently for a Saturday evening. This is a busy place with a nice atmosphere.

Thank reallywrenchit
chloe f, Manager at The Samuel Lloyd, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you for your lovely review of 'The Samuel Lloyd'.

Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

Went here with some friends for a drink on a Friday night. Wasnt too busy bht a good crowd in. Managed to find a table and used the app for the first time to order drinks and food. Both came in good time and the...More

1  Thank William P
chloe f, Manager at The Samuel Lloyd, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you for reviewing 'The Samuel Lloyd'. We're glad you enjoyed a visit to ourselves and hope you return again soon!

Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

9 0f us ate here. Bar staff not happy bunny. ordered food from app very good and arrived quick. Would we eat here again yes if staying at hotel next door

Thank brugel098
chloe f, Manager at The Samuel Lloyd, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Thank you for reviewing 'The Samuel Lloyd'. We appreciate your review and are glad you enjoyed the experience of ordering from our new app :)

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Corby
Hampton by Hilton Corby
823 reviews
.04 km away
Best Western Rockingham Forest Hotel
524 reviews
.50 km away
The Raven Hotel
116 reviews
1.42 km away
The Saxon Crown
194 reviews
2.33 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Barn Tea Room At Rockingham
11 reviews
1.46 km away
Hungry hossee
64 reviews
1.26 km away
A Tasca
111 reviews
1.51 km away
Voujon Restaurant
75 reviews
1.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Rockingham Castle
281 reviews
1.34 km away
Fineshade Wood
147 reviews
1.36 km away
Fineshade Woods
19 reviews
1.27 km away
Planet Bounce Corby
106 reviews
.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Samuel Lloyd staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 2 - US$ 12
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Samuel Lloyd Building Rockingham Road | Gretton Brook Road, Corby NN17 1AG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northamptonshire  >  Corby
  • Phone Number: +44 1536 447910
  • E-mail
Description
It was Samuel Lloyd who began the transformation of Corby, from a sleepy village in Rockingham Forest into a modern, industrial town. Stewart & Lloyds (the successor to Lloyds Ironstone Company) built many of the houses, as well as the school and sports ground in the vicinity of the Wetherspoon pub.The original village of Corby gets its name from 'Kori', the leader of the Danish invaders who settled in a Rockingham Forest clearing. Corby remained a village until the arrival of Samuel Lloyd, in the 1880s, when the new ironstone industry developed to dominate life in Corby, until the closure of the iron and steelworks in 1980.This wetherspoon, opened in July 2008, is completely new and is a gas-free site, it has an extrodinary design to traditional pubs to mark both its individuality, and to tie in with the concept of glass use in the building of some of corbys' landmark sites (cube/swimming pool)
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing