We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

ZEST

25 St. George's Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3208, Malta
+356 2138 7600
Website
Share
Save
Certificate of Excellence
All photos (301)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good26%
  • Average10%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“sushi” (89 reviews)
“beef rendang” (16 reviews)
“sorbet” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian, International, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
25 St. George's Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3208, Malta
All Details
Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here
Sponsored by: ZEST
1. Top Marks
"Great customer service, pleasant atmosphere .Delicious food"
Comino C
See reviews that mention atmosphere
2. Authentic Flavours
"The food is simply exquisite .. simple, wonderful flavours"
Stephanie W
See reviews that mention sushi
3. Top in St Julians
"By far the best dinner experience we have had in St. Julians so far. "
Peter S
See reviews that mention st julians
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After checking the reviews we thought to dine here it’s quite dated Chinese ,Thai and Japanese mix of all .Food is good not as excellent as the reviews most of the things taste the same. Service was excellent.Its on higer side ,portions are very small.

Thank changluo2000
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 25 September 2017

First, the service - because it was so good: Lito and Lester took such wonderful care of us! They're friendly, welcoming and attentive to our needs. The food was great too. After several days in Malta, we were looking for a culinary break from the...More

Thank PeanutButters
Juliani_Team, Owner at ZEST, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear PeanutButters, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback here on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your evening with us, particularly our unique combination of authentic flavours, attentive service and unique ambience. I shall surely pass on...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

i have been there twice. the food is good, service is brilliant just got a bit disapointed with the panacotta dessert.

Thank Alexiinhoo_
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic beef rendang, tasted just like in Indonesia!! Also good portions. Has a nicely styled interior and outside view on the ‚busy‘ bay.

Thank Michael S
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely horrendous. Sushi is left out for 35 mins before being served to tables. Food is bland and tasteless. Never again! I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. I guess management must have changed because McDonald's which is underneath the restaurant sounded like a better option.More

Thank stratechconsultants
Juliani_Team, Owner at ZEST, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear stratechconsultants, I am very surprised and disappointed to hear feedback such as yours because, as you can see from the overwhelming majority of our reviews, at Zest we take pride in preparing the freshest, authentic flavours using only the finest ingredients made to order....More

Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

On our sixth trip to Malta in eight years, and visits which included two stays at Hotel Juilani itself, we went back again to Zest. The food as usual was very good. For Malta it is expensive but we knew that in advance and there...More

Thank AMoz
Juliani_Team, Owner at ZEST, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear AMoz, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback here on TripAdvisor, and for returning to Zest again. I am delighted to hear that our authentic flavours and contemporary presentation was to your satisfaction on all accounts. However, I am both...More

Reviewed 10 June 2018

The worst meal for our entire stay in Malta, we were expecting a nice meal, what we got was overpriced reheated food. The waitstaff were lazy didn't even offer us water when we were seated. I noticed previous comments and that the manager was rectifying...More

1  Thank Rebecca E
Juliani_Team, Owner at ZEST, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Rebecca, I am surprised and disappointed to hear that your experience at Zest did not meet your expectations. We take your feedback very seriously. As you can see from the overwhelming majority of our reviews, we are known for serving only the freshest food...More

Reviewed 7 June 2018

It was tough for my wife who is very allergic, but everything I had was really good, and it also looked very good. Service was friendly, but maybe not very knowledgeable. This is recommended for food lovers.More

Thank HeGeKH
Juliani_Team, Owner at ZEST, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear HeGeKH, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Zest with others here on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to hear that you can recommend Zest for food lovers! We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back to Zest...More

Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

You have to look hard to find the door at the end of the verandah of another shop, because Zest is located on the first floor of the building, but it is certainly worth the effort. Once upstairs you will find a large dining area...More

Thank ricebags
Juliani_Team, Owner at ZEST, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear ricebags, Wow—what a lovely review! I am very glad you found your way to Zest and that every aspect of your time with us exceeded your expectations. I completely agree that our Chef’s Selection degustation menu offers the perfect taste of the best of...More

Reviewed 26 May 2018

What a hidden gem of a restaurant - wonderful decore, attentive staff and a well balanced menu to meet all pallets.More

Thank GWalker23
Juliani_Team, Owner at ZEST, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Gwalker23, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback here on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that all aspects of your evening with us were to your satisfaction, and hope your next visit to Zest is just around the corner....More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 141 hotels in Island of Malta
Hotel Juliani
1,522 reviews
.00 km away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
216 reviews
.12 km away
Argento Hotel
1,054 reviews
.15 km away
Spinola Hotel
288 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Restaurants
1927
718 reviews
.04 km away
Bianco's
1,063 reviews
.01 km away
Ristorante Il Ponte
269 reviews
.11 km away
The Dubliner
570 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Flyboard Malta
616 reviews
.26 km away
Spinola Bay
1,977 reviews
.04 km away
Portomaso Marina
716 reviews
.37 km away
The Casino at Portomaso
163 reviews
.39 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Justine H
30 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from tjfclily | Reviewed this property |
Whilst dining there, in the evening, I was not aware of any children. I would recommend an email to the Juliani Hotel. Hope that helps.
1
Vote
LyndonLynch
25 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Juliani_Team | Property representative |
We are pleased to assist you :) You may call us on +356 2138 8000 or visit the Zest web site for more information.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 40 - US$ 51
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Wifi, Delivery, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Open Hours
Monday
7:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
7:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 25 St. George's Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3208, Malta
  • Location: Europe  >  Malta  >  Island of Malta  >  Saint Julian's
  • Phone Number: +356 2138 7600
  • E-mail
Description
For over a decade, Zest has pioneered the Asian fusion culinary concept in Malta. Boasting some of the best Asian and Continental cuisine on our islands, including exquisite sushi made with fresh, local seafood, Zest's menu will take you on an exciting culinary journey. Every plate perfectly balances Eastern and Western influences-even dessert! Get swept off your feet with delectable dishes from Balinese curries, Indonesian noodles, Japanese teppanyaki and Cantonese dim sums to French lamb sous vide with mango salsa and crème brulées of mandarin and fresh chili. At Zest, no attention to detail is spared including the décor and design that elevates one's dining experience from ordinary to extraordinary. Original architectural details and attractive features, including an open wine cellar and a live-cooking sushi bar, are sure to leave a lasting impression. Zest also enjoys the added bonus of an open-air terrace overlooking romantic Spinola Bay, for which reservations are highly advised-only 14 seats are available in this exclusive location. Year after year, Zest has been voted one of the most popular "best ambience" and "best service" restaurants in Malta by its discerning guests. On these award-winning foundations, Zest has also built a reputation for professional, creative and impeccable outside catering. Whether you are throwing a dinner party for friends at home, a lavish wedding reception for hundreds of guests or an inspiring corporate event, our blend of experience, planning and bespoke attention to detail ensures a successful occasion every time. All this begs the question... Whether for an elegant evening out in the heart of Spinola, or a memorable private event, why not add a little Zest?
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing