We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Starlings Cafe

94 Belvedere Road, Claremont, South Africa
+27 21 671 6875
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good28%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (14 reviews)
“eggs benedict” (13 reviews)
“cakes” (12 reviews)
Open Now
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Healthy, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
94 Belvedere Road, Claremont, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Once again we went to Starlings for a meal and thoroughly enjoyed it. Service was excellent and food as always was excellent. If you have not been you must really find time to go!!

Thank Malcolm D
Starlingscafe, Public Relations Manager at Starlings Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Malcolm for such a lovely review

Reviewed 3 April 2018

This is a very quirky restaurant, originally a house but the rooms opened up to give a large kitchen and then other rooms with the largest opening out onto the garden through wide sliding doors. The garden is part of the restaurant and is so...More

Thank Bumbleboo
Starlingscafe, Public Relations Manager at Starlings Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you!

Reviewed 14 March 2018

My first visit to Starlings was over breakfast with a friend back in 2013. It was a sunny Sunday morning and we got a seat outside with a nice view of the greenery and ornaments. The friendly waiter was happy to recommend me something yummy...More

Thank Sibahle M
Starlingscafe, Public Relations Manager at Starlings Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thanks Sibahle!

Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

It can get full, so book in time. Week afternoons it is relaxed and pretty - a little oasis. There is no sign on the street so you won't even know it is there, but worth investigating. Kitchen closes at 3pm after that just cakes...More

Thank Albert C
Starlingscafe, Public Relations Manager at Starlings Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thanks Albert!

Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

10 girlfriends gathered for breakfast yesterday in the beautiful garden at Starlings. As usual our waiter was fabulous, friendly and attentive. Loving the eco friendly coffee cups and plates. We were not charged any extra fees for bringing our own champagne or birthday cake either....More

Thank WendyDaffarn
Reviewed 17 January 2018

This delightful garden cafe once again lived up to expectations. Get there early if you need a large table like we did, but staff were warm and helpful and fitted us in well. Service and food were excellent and the setting is simply wonderful.

Thank robr590
Starlingscafe, Public Relations Manager at Starlings Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Thank you! We appreciate your comments and glad you enjoyed your meal.

Reviewed 10 January 2018

Even most locals try to keep this little gem hidden for fear of never again finding a table. Consistently excellent breakfasts...coffee is outstanding and the waiters on point. HINT: look for the "hedge"...great assisted parking down back if you struggle on the main road...MUST have...More

Thank Clint W
Starlingscafe, Public Relations Manager at Starlings Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Thank you Clint for a lovely review!

Reviewed 3 January 2018

We were a varied party one of us a Vegan. The service was friendly, informative and good. The food was excellent and we all thoroughly enjoyed our lunch.

Thank CapeTownSandy
Starlingscafe, Public Relations Manager at Starlings Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Thank you Sandy!

Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

We decided to take our relatives to Starlings for breakfast whilst we were down in Cape Town. It was not up to standard to say the least. The majority of the party had the curried mince with egg, and we were mostly disappointed. The mince...More

Thank Brent M
Starlingscafe, Public Relations Manager at Starlings Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Hi Brent, We are sorry to hear the meal was disappointing. It is not how the dish is meant to be. Our apologies. It’s a pity we weren’t able to address it at the time and make good.

Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Starlings is like a secret garden. I visit Cape Town often, and have probably driven past it many times. But from word of mouth, we found it. Walking in to this hidden gem, we found an arty, open and friendly restaurant. It opens out in...More

Thank Alex P
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Claremont Hotels
Radisson RED Cape Town
179 reviews
.88 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
323 reviews
1.58 km away
Southern Sun Newlands
510 reviews
1.63 km away
Vineyard Hotel
1,466 reviews
2.15 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Avenue Restaurant and Grill
130 reviews
1.03 km away
3 Degrees Ice Cream
6 reviews
.27 km away
The Eatery Wood Fired Grill
72 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Southern Sky Travel & Tours - Day Tours
40 reviews
.22 km away
Cape Town Hiking with Tim Lundy - Tours
20 reviews
1.54 km away
FS Tours - Day Tours
7 reviews
1.30 km away
Rush
63 reviews
1.43 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Starlings Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Open Hours
Monday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 94 Belvedere Road, Claremont, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Claremont
  • Phone Number: +27 21 671 6875
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;