We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White Lion Inn

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
10 High Street | Shadowbrook Lane, Hampton-in-Arden, Solihull B92 0AA, England
+44 1675 442833
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 146: English reviews
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We only called in for a drink after visiting and walking in the area bit the pub was warm and inviting, lovely locals, nice beer and a friendly atmosphere. What more could you want. We would definitely return if back in the area, the restaurant looked great aswell

Helpful?
Thank bigchinn
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a fantastic Sunday lunch here for 9 people. The food was wonderful and the staff 1st class. My wife has gone as far as to say it is the best Carvery she has ever had!! and my Father in law was equally impressed which should be not be taken lightly (enough said). Thank you for a very enjoyable... More 

Helpful?
Thank paul19692015
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Firstly the food was late and incorrect, one plate was served 15mins after the other members of our party.We were then spoken to very rudely when we questioned the service, even accusing me of swearing at them..which I did not! When we asked for a refund I was accused of just wanting a free lunch in front of the whole... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maria P
raphanoa, Owner at The White Lion Inn, responded to this review

I think your memory may be playing tricks on you, as all this happened 3 weeks ago. Yes one sandwich had been missed off the order, and yes a refund of this meal was offered which you refused. You actually did not want to pay for a round of five drinks, a bottle of prosecco and all five meals !!!... More 

1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just had a delicious steak and Guinness pie with a decent pint. Good traditional pub with above average food.

Helpful?
Thank Rob B
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Rude staff, walked out whilst a staff member was yelling at a customer when they complained of poor service.

Helpful?
4 Thank Bewad
raphanoa, Owner at The White Lion Inn, responded to this review

Perhaps there are two sides to every story............. More 

Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2017

The only pub in a remarkably unspoiled village, the White Lion retains what looks like a pretty unaltered interior which is full of character. Therein lies the first problem: on a cold day, absence of any secondary doors means a blast of cold air from the outside every time the main door to either bar is opened. The restaurant doesn't... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rovingpublover
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Absolutely love this cosy village pub. So lucky to have on our doorstep with perfect pub grub & great drink selection

Helpful?
3 Thank Emmashalley
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We had the Turkey Dinner every item on the plate was cooked to perfection and plenty of it., plus some nice little touches creamy mash hidden under the Breast of Turkey also the gravy some on the plate but also extra brought to the table without asking for and it was not the case of one gravy does all it... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank baltiboy956
raphanoa, Owner at The White Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, nice to be appreciated More 

Dorridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Excellent food and great service for our EHS Holdings Ltd Christmas get together. We have been enjoying this venue for some years now and will hopefully continue to do so in the future. Many thanks to Chris and all staff. Happy New Year to you all.

Helpful?
3 Thank John R
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Another week rolls round when my son says should we go out for Sunday lunch Dad-so off we went to the above about 5 miles from where I live.Its a lovely old typical inn I used to visit 30 years before with a small cosy bar but is full if you get 20 people or more in there.However the newly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C

Travellers who viewed The White Lion Inn also viewed

Hampton-in-Arden, Solihull
Solihull, West Midlands
 
Solihull, West Midlands
Solihull, West Midlands
 
Balsall Common, Solihull
Hampton-in-Arden, Solihull
 

Been to The White Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 10 High Street | Shadowbrook Lane, Hampton-in-Arden, Solihull B92 0AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Solihull  >  Hampton-in-Arden
  • Phone Number: +44 1675 442833

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The White Lion Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The White Lion Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?