We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Ploughboy

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
60 Liskeard Road, Saltash, England
+44 1752 842861
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:45
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 22:30
Mon - Thu 11:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 11:00 - 23:45
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 211: English reviews
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Having given up on The Ploughboy many months ago, when standards and quality plummeted as prices soared, I was delighted to learn of the change of ownership and decided to give it a try. Wow, so pleased that we did! What a transformation, small structural changes have improved the eating area, but the whole place seems brighter and lighter, literally... More 

Helpful?
Thank hrhvic2ria
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Although I reviewed this restaurant last month it was not exactly a glowing report. Now however, it has been transformed thanks to new ownership. The place is a lot cleaner, doesn't smell anymore and overall seems a little brighter. We visited just as they were preparing for the lunchtime trade. Food was coming out piping hot, freshly prepared and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank micnor50
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Used to be a regular but the food got so awful we stopped going,it has now changed hands so we went last night,3 adults 1 teen 1 child,kids menu good and he loved the nuggets,our food was very good 3 had ribs 1 carvery all were yummy.the restaurant was quite busy,our waitress was so nice and helpful,you were made welcome!... More 

Helpful?
Thank sandrabarnes72
RebeccaD888, Manager at The Ploughboy, responded to this review

Thank you for this great review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you again. More 

Liskeard, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

we went to this pub havent been there before went for evening meal will be going back as food was lovely it was hot and not too exspensive we both had a carvary lovely lot of veg choice of 2 meats very quick and fairly busy but no waiting around

Helpful?
Thank Dorothy H
RebeccaD888, Manager at The Ploughboy, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Saltash, Cornwall
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As a group of 8 adults we attended for a meal. My steak and kidney pudding was so hard it was like ships tack. Cricket anyone? The peas were turning grey with overcooking. One meal asked for was plain lamb steak and chips with nothing else. It came with sauce and salad. One seafood basket was asked for without salad...... More 

Helpful?
Thank Admiral_Forest3416
RebeccaD888, Manager at The Ploughboy, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your meal. We always erg people to mention any issues they have during the table check, or even while the plates are being collected so we are able to deal with any problems before the customer leaves. It also helps us to avoid... More 

Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Much better feel to the place. We have avoided the Ploughboy for the last 2.5 years as the previous landlord ruined the atmosphere of the place and the food went down hill. We were hoping to try the carvery but we were too late, it had been taken off the menu. I was recommended the seafood special with salad and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wendy Horse H
RebeccaD888, General Manager at The Ploughboy, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the new atmosphere. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your seafood basket, and it wasn't to your liking, it is a very popular dish we do. However i am pleased your husband enjoyed his homemade curry, and your dessert. We do have many fabulous meals on our menu and... More 

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I haven't been in this pub for years. Never went back as far to rough and rowdy, and went back as new owner and OMG!!!!!. What a transformation it's so open, nice atmosphere, fantastic food, staff seem plesent, Can't wait to try the carvary, well done to the new owner Rod and staff

Helpful?
Thank Lilla D
RebeccaD888, General Manager at The Ploughboy, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you appreciate what we do. Hope to see you soon. More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This used to be a fantastic local pub and the food was above average for good decent pub grub. As a local I noticed the pub along with the food had dropped in standards over the last few years. We were pleased when we heard that The Ploughboy was under new management with a new menu and a carvery theme.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julia R
RebeccaD888, General Manager at The Ploughboy, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a detailed review. I am so pleased you seemed happy with the new look of The Ploughboy, and you found the front of house staff polite. We do like to have front of house staff in uniform, as we find it makes them more recognisable for customers, plus creates a... More 

Crecy-en-ponthieu, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Some meals are superb other are ok and now and then disappointing, found the specials off the board to be consistently good

Helpful?
1 Thank Sodit69
RebeccaD888, Manager at The Ploughboy, responded to this review

Thank you for writing us a review, we are glad you enjoy our specials, and hope you will visit us again soon. More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the pub today to try out the new daily carvery, I popped in last week on the saturday for a meal and as you do I scanned over the menu to see what had changed I must say I was shocked at the price increase for the carvery hence why I had to go and try it today to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Harry5652
RebeccaD888, Manager at The Ploughboy, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Travellers who viewed The Ploughboy also viewed

 
Saltash, Cornwall
Saltash, Cornwall
 

Been to The Ploughboy? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Waitstaff
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:45
Saturday
11:00 - 23:45
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 60 Liskeard Road, Saltash, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Saltash
  • Phone Number: +44 1752 842861

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Ploughboy and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Ploughboy staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?