We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Original Bakewell Pudding Shop

The Square, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1BT, England
+44 1629 812193
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good27%
  • Average12%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“bakewell pudding” (372 reviews)
“cakes” (143 reviews)
“bread” (51 reviews)
Open Now
8:30 AM - 6:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Square, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1BT, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We nipped in here for a cup of coffee whilst staying over in the town and before moving on to our next location. We sampled the Bakewell Tart but we found it a bit sweet for our taste and too large a portion. All in...More

Thank Mike J
ChristyDawes, Manager at Original Bakewell Pudding Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks so much for visiting and trying our tart. Our portions are very generous and apologies if it was all a bit much for you but i suppose we'd rather be to generous than stingy. Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped for the famous pudding, but ordered fish and chips and a Sunday roast, what food👌⭐️👌⭐️ loved it thoroughly, and would go back if I could. Can imagine in summer it’s really packed!More

Thank sharronb959
ChristyDawes, Manager at Original Bakewell Pudding Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks so much for visiting it's great to read that you enjoyed your food. We're grateful that you've made the effort to put a positive review up. Hope your time spent with us was just a small part of a great day in Bakewell and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

6 pounds for a tiny "bakewell pudding". Get real. Was seated and waited about 15 mins for service which necver came, walked out and got a very nice tart at the bakers round the corner.More

Thank somewheredownthere
ChristyDawes, Manager at Original Bakewell Pudding Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Whilst we respect you right to an opinion we feel like you've exaggerated certain aspects of this review. The Bakewell pudding is not "tiny" it's a really nice portion for one person and if there is more than one of you we have even better...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It’s been a awhile since I visited but remembered how good the menu is. On this busy Saturday afternoon we waited only about 10 minutes to be seated and were given a menu meanwhile. We witnessed other visitors quietly leaving as they decided after briefing...More

Thank Shope99
ChristyDawes, Manager at Original Bakewell Pudding Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your patience on the way in we really appreciate it, the Christmas Market was a lovely occasion and brought a lot of extra visitors to town, we only wish our restaurant was twice the size so we could accommodate all the people look...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Home of the Bakewell Pudding. Lovely restaurant upstairs. I always visit when in town. Will be back!

Thank Don2984
ChristyDawes, Manager at Original Bakewell Pudding Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the endorsement it always brings us joy to read that people enjoy coming back so thanks for taking the time. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really lovely service, friendly and welcoming staff. The breakfast was one of the best I've ever had.

Thank Rembug22
ChristyDawes, Manager at Original Bakewell Pudding Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

That's a lovely review thank you. Are breakfast continue to be really popular and we always say it's a combination of good quality local ingredients combined, cooked fresh to order by good chefs. Thanks for visiting hope you had a great time in the town!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely breakfast - beautiful surroundings. Really enjoyed our food and our few days in Bakewell. Especially loved the Christmas touches in the restaurant.More

Thank LME1992
ChristyDawes, Manager at Original Bakewell Pudding Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for visiting and coming on here to say nice things it's kind of you to take the time. Glad you enjoyed the Christmas touches we're really proud of the work done by the team that put them up. Your welcome back here...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We always come here when in the area. We decided to have something different instead of the afternoon teas. We had a ploughman’s lunch and a steak sandwich with cheese, mushrooms and onion chutney. The food was outstanding and will come back yet again.More

Thank Samantha M
ChristyDawes, Manager at Original Bakewell Pudding Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Samantha and thanks for taking the time to leave such a nice review we're really grateful. We're proud of our chefs and the food that they serve at lunch time and it's really great to read that you've enjoyed yours. It's always great to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I actually don't like giving poor reviews but in this case it is warranted. Visited here on Sunday morning for one or two things to buy before our trip home. We did not visit the restaurant so this review is purely based on our service...More

Thank OliverFan
ChristyDawes, Manager at Original Bakewell Pudding Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Please accept our sincerest apologies. Your are entirety right in what you say and this behavior is not acceptable in any way. We're grateful to you for bringing this matter to our attention. The member of staff you mention has in fact left the company...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my family was staying near bakewell and decided to go for a breakfast. The outside looks oldie worldly so appealed to me straight away. We had to go up some stairs which led to the dining area. We ordered the English breakfast and...More

1  Thank jeza82
ChristyDawes, Manager at Original Bakewell Pudding Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much for visiting we're really grateful to you for taking the time to both pop in and see us and leave us feedback on here. We'd like to apologise, as a team we like to pride ourselves on being warm genuine people who...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Piedaniel's Restaurant
498 reviews
.07 km away
Ricci's
547 reviews
.05 km away
The Peacock
1,279 reviews
.07 km away
Eastern Court Chinese
83 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bakewell Old House Museum
185 reviews
.33 km away
River Wye
89 reviews
.17 km away
All Saints Church
112 reviews
.22 km away
Thornbridge Brewery
74 reviews
1.00 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Paula H
29 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 720yvonnec | Reviewed this property |
Simply I don't know because I am not part of the restaurant. I suggest you ring them and ask?
0
Votes
885David
28 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Ste_C1985 | Property representative |
Yes we serve coffee and all other drinks in our restaurants upstairs
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 6 - US$ 16
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Square, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1BT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Bakewell
  • Phone Number: +44 1629 812193
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing