We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Peacock Inn

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
+44 1629 813635
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good27%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (90 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 190 of 1,338 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2017

Stayed in this lovely Inn for 5 nights at the beginning of June. Really lovely little room overlooking the courtyard. Well decorated and very clean. Good position in the centre of Bakewell. Very friendly pub, loved the jukebox! The food was amazing, read in other...More

2  Thank Sue B
thepeacockbakewell, Price is what you pay. Value is what you get, the true measure of the value of any business is performance, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Sue B - thank you for an amazing review as you speak from your heart and your head! We pride ourselves on the issues you highlight, and nothing is ever to expensive if it leaves you satisfied! We learned about gratitude and humility - that...More

Reviewed 26 June 2017

Having read some of the negative reviews I was a touch apprehensive....should we try it or not? I am glad to say we decided to make our own minds up and I am glad we did! Good basic pub grub ( we had the homemade...More

3  Thank GretaK
thepeacockbakewell, It's funny, but people love negative spin, somehow it's always more interesting than compliments, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

You have to understand GretaK that all the negativity that comes out (especially on social media) is from Negative People, who I believe think they know it all, when in actual fact they basically know nothing!!! Always make up your mind to act decidedly and...More

Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

I absolutely love this place for meals. Ignore what you read about this pub being expensive. You get what you pay for. My partner and I are regulars in here; I can assure you the staff are NOT rude. Although I do hope the odd...More

3  Thank Victoria H
thepeacockbakewell, Let the road be open to talent, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Victoria H - we love you as you post your thoughts that epitomise who the Peacock is and all about!!! Thank you for saying we are not rude as I couldn't agree more - under pressure at times, but that is the beauty of the...More

Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Me and my fiancé came to The Peacock Inn today in an attempt to escape the rain at lunch. On an initial look at the menu we thought that the food wasn't the cheapest however it was worth every penny! He had the Philly Steak...More

1  Thank Lauralou85
thepeacockbakewell, Adversity is the first path to truth, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Great positive review from Lauralou85, and why not as she says it honestly and says it just as it is! Maybe we are a few extra quid, a few extra pence more expensive than the competition around us, but as Lauralou85 testifies it is worth...More

Reviewed 23 June 2017

My partner and I had an evening at The Peacock recently as it had a pleasant beer garden. The prices of both beer and food were a couple of pounds more than equivalent nearby pubs even though the quality was no better. However the real...More

17  Thank fbl640
thepeacockbakewell, A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

What an amazing coincidence that you fbl640 post a review that sits above the amazing honesty in a post from Jamie P who absolutely illustrates 100% in my opinion what your review is typically all about - it is all about you for your own...More

Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Just been flicking through some of the "terrible reviews" some guest have left this establishment and I can assure you that most of the are fabricated for there own self sense of feeling important. Me and my partner pop across into Bakewell for a bite...More

1  Thank Jamie P
thepeacockbakewell, I do what I feel is right. I am not scared to walk on the new path and take risk, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

A massive thank you to Jamie P as you post your thoughts about the trials and tribulations of running a successful business, which fortunately the Peacock is, because the Peacock runs on the strength of hard work, honesty and integrity, and it is amazing no...More

Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Rude staff, couldn't be bothered to help select an Ale. We seemed to be an inconvenience. Service for two drinks took ages and we were the only ones at the bar. A person not of Ale, a lager, some crisps and nuts were about £12!...More

20  Thank Byron F
thepeacockbakewell, The greatest obstacle to discovery is not ignorance - it is the illusion of knowledge, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

The problem with people such as you Byron F is you can't see the wood for the trees as you go around posting your TripAdvisor comments as if you know it all, as interestingly I notice out of the 39 "good advice" posts you no...More

Reviewed 19 June 2017

We booked a table due to the area being busy due to glorious weather. we were shown to a nice table for two near to a window and had pre meal drinks.I ordered fish and chips and my wife had salmon. The meal was fabulous...More

1  Thank martha1047
thepeacockbakewell, It is nice finding that place where you can just go and relax, and eat fine food, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thanks for the lovely and honest post martha1047, as you highlight our fabulous food - can't beat good old fish 'n' chips, (and trust me ours are amazing) and the salmon is exceptional! Terence K - who was this guy??? So thanks again, because you...More

Reviewed 16 June 2017

The Peacock is conveniently located adjacent to the square where Bakewell’s market-day stalls are located. So … pretty central. We’d forgotten that Monday is market day in Bakewell – a day we normally avoid because of potential crowds, and we suspected that it might be...More

3  Thank PJandSJ
thepeacockbakewell, A great pleasure in life is doing what people say you cannot do, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

We thank you for your review PJandSJ, and a nice review at that, but I can't help but get the feeling you are a couple of oddballs as you go about spending your retirement posting very peculiar reviews on your new hobby TripAdvisor! If you...More

Reviewed 7 June 2017

Read the dinner meal offer (very reasonable) and thought we would pop in for a quick drink, look around the town and then return for a meal. Could not believe what we were charged for a glass of wine - 175ml - and half a...More

16  Thank Terence K
thepeacockbakewell, I know of no time in human history where ignorance was better than knowledge!, at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

What a despicable review from no doubt a person of the same nature Terence K, how can YOU condemn a lovely pub that serves lovely food in a beautiful town over the price of a glass of wine and half a cider! You have literally...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Bakewell
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1,037 reviews
.16 km away
Bagshaw Hall
453 reviews
.28 km away
The Lathkil Hotel
193 reviews
2.43 km away
Hassop Hall Hotel
527 reviews
3.67 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Ricci's
574 reviews
.06 km away
Upstairs Cafe
201 reviews
.07 km away
Rajas
551 reviews
.07 km away
Eastern Court Chinese
115 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Monsal Trail
1,257 reviews
.89 km away
Bakewell Old House Museum
201 reviews
.39 km away
All Saints Church
118 reviews
.29 km away
Thornbridge Brewery
88 reviews
1.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Michelle B
13 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from thepeacockbakewell | Property representative |
Unfortunately if you are a dog owner/lover Michelle, we only allow dogs outside on the patio beer garden area. I hope that answers your question and we may see you during the summer months when it is more likely you can eat... More
1
Vote
SolihullStew
8 March 2016|
Answer
Response from thepeacockbakewell | Property representative |
Unfortunately for the few SolihullStew we are not dog friendly as you put it inside the pub and dining area. Yes, in the beer garden we embrace dogs, as just in the home a dogs place is in the outside world, not for us... More
-8
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 13 - US$ 29
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Bakewell
  • Phone Number: +44 1629 813635
  • E-mail
Description
The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town. We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal. The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;