We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Lion

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
Digswell Hill, Welwyn AL6 9AJ, England
+44 1707 299342
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good28%
  • Average17%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“duck salad” (7 reviews)
“ham” (8 reviews)
“pudding” (19 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Digswell Hill, Welwyn AL6 9AJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Having heard about The Red Lion on a local radio station and the offer of a £40.00 voucher for £20.00 we decided to purchase and visit as we are always on the look out for new places to eat and drink. The pub itself has...More

2  Thank CostaMan
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello, reviews like this give us motivation and help us ensure we provide high-quality care, I will pass on your comments to our kitchen team as we appreciate all feedback, The Lamb Rump Special is indeed one of the most popular amongst our guests. I...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

8 of us including three children, very friendly and efficient staff, service was not too long and not so quick that everything had to be microwaved and the food was excellent. Beware of the post code if you are using a sat nav..... you could...More

2  Thank PoitouCharentesphoto
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Red Lion, Welwyn. we take pride and our food and as you have said good food takes time. We encourage our guests to use AL6 9AJ to locate us, we hope to see you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

went here today for lunch ,not to return ever, wife,s salid was ok ,i had the gammon ,came out under cooked ,and to be fair ,no bother replacing the meal , as i asked for the replacement to be well cooked ,that came out again...More

Thank bryan C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came on a very quiet time, 3-3:30. Service aside my dog getting really good attention from one of the young stuff (who left for a break later on I guess) was very poor. Had the fish special and it wasn’t fresh, I didn’t have a...More

4  Thank Fermin G
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Fermin G, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. I will speak to our Head chef regarding the cheese suplliers to ensure that will have all the options availble. I can only apologise...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Recently ate here as a group of 10 to celebrate my son's birthday. Lovely setting, bar area cosy with plenty of seating and the restaurant is well laid out. The menu has a good variety of dishes to choose from and the quality of the...More

Thank NHoseason
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Nhoseason, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been to the Red Lion a few times and it rarely disappoints. Most recently for a romantic meal, but previously for large family meals. After a long walk without a booking, they fitted us in and service was warm and friendly The range...More

Thank Ady_JD
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi! We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us! Thanks again for taking the time to leave us this information about your recent visit. Take care!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really enjoyed all three of my courses, would have to go every day for a month to get through all the menu choices i liked the look of....

Thank Jason B
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jason We glad you like the look of our menu as much as we do! We hope to welcome you back very soon. The Red Lion Management

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on a Saturday night. Firstly the front of house were nowhere to be seen to seat us. After waiting for a few minutes to be seated we were eventually shown to our table. The food was excellent! But it felt as though the staff...More

Thank LukeSPrescott
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Luke, we really appreciate your feedback! Thank you again for letting our team know how we did! We look forward to seeing you in the future. Take care!

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Fantastic family gathering and lunch was superb brilliant staff thks so much, will definitely be back

Thank Mark J
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Mark J, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Red Lion, Welwyn and look forward to seeing you again soon ! Red Lion Team

Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Just had a great working lunch. The service was fast and the food was good. The restaurant is bright and welcoming, I would highly recommend.

Thank MelParkinson88
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Hi Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we are glad you had a good time. Hope to see you soon. The Red Lion Management

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Red Indian Restaurant
108 reviews
1.77 km away
Auberge du Lac
616 reviews
1.73 km away
Bill’s Welwyn restaurant
563 reviews
1.82 km away
Cote
278 reviews
1.70 km away
Nearby Attractions
Welwyn Roman Baths
88 reviews
2.04 km away
Stanborough Park
187 reviews
2.90 km away
Tulip Clinic
42 reviews
1.79 km away
Cat Survival Trust
45 reviews
2.94 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Vanesa M
20 December 2016|
Answer
Response from alyson.johnson-smith_123 | Reviewed this property |
I do know that they can cater for Gulten Free and Dairy Free but I would phone them to check what the options are
1
Vote
Terry H
19 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Derek S | Reviewed this property |
Hi Terry yes they do as you can see. They can be bought by e mail or text up to £250
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Digswell Hill, Welwyn AL6 9AJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Welwyn
  • Phone Number: +44 1707 299342
Description
An idyllic retreat set in beautiful country house-style surroundings,The Red Lion - Welwyn serves a menu of gourmet European recipes. Trained in high-class cookery schools in Spain and Italy, the chefs bring a wealth of experience, and demonstrate knowledge of a breadth of classic and complex cooking techniques. Partnering with Rothschild wine merchants, guests can choose a bottle from the well-stocked cellar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing