We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Skipper's Brit Pub at Sweet Plantains

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
16119 Little Plantation, Coral Bay 00830-9564, St. John
+1 340-777-4653
Website
Today
15:00 - 22:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Tue - Sat 15:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 243: English reviews
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stopped here on a recommendation from friends, after dinner at Aqua Bistro, just up the street. Had their Mini Gunnie and beer shots as a night cap. Looks like a place for a younger crowd. They had had a rock band playing earlier.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rickrider1948
western ny
Level Contributor
92 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We were staying on the coral bay side of the island and wanted to try this place out for dinner. They weren't busy, it was maybe 6pm(?)when we arrived we were the only diners, though there were a couple people st the bar. My drink was well made. The waitress told us the tostones app was out (would have been... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank grapefarmer
STEVE H, Owner at Skipper's Brit Pub at Sweet Plantains, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you had less than a perfect night. We take your feedback very seriously. We are in the process of changing to our new menu for the high season, so some of the items were in the process of being pulled. If the waitress did not explain the other three appetizers as specials, I apologize and will ensure... More 

New York City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I got food here two nights ago and it was overpriced and tasteless. I ordered the chicken tikka masala which at $24 was overpriced to begin with. What I got was not chicken tikka masala but rather chicken pieces stewed in a spice-less, curry-less sauce over over-cooked long grain rice. My husband got the jerk chicken sandwich... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine G
STEVE H, Owner at Skipper's Brit Pub at Sweet Plantains, responded to this review

Sorry to hear your experience was not up to our usually standard. We cook all of our food fresh daily and use a traditional British recipe for Tikka Masala (which is where the recipe originated). To quote the recipe - "Roasted chunks of chicken cooked in a creamy, tomato and orange colored sauce". We make it mild and provide sauces... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this dive while on vacation with the wife. Off smells, dirty feel, loud band and relatively pricey beer. Might appeal to younger crowd.

Helpful?
Thank Kevin E
STEVE H, Owner at Skipper's Brit Pub at Sweet Plantains, responded to this review

Your review took us by surprise. We pride ourselves on cleaning our restaurant daily. Maybe it was the torrential rain that was what you could smell. The rain was also why we had to have the band inside that night, and I agree - it made it loud inside the restaurant. We were also confused by the comment about beer... More 

Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had high hopes hearing British music pumping out from bar. Decorated like a pub but lacking any atmosphere. Food was ok but had limitations and missing items. AB Fab cocktail was fantastic. Only 4 other guests on the night. 'Mine host and hostess' appeared to be sitting at bar but not participating in any way. Not like an English pub... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank andyexpatus
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Skippers offered us a variety of foods that everybody could appreciate and everything we got was spot on! Fantastic place. My boyfriend actually said if he had gone there at the beginning of our trip that we would have gone there many more times throughout the week!

Helpful?
1 Thank Carleigh I
STEVE H, Owner at Skipper's Brit Pub at Sweet Plantains, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We hope to see you again when you come to St John. We can be your first stop next time ;)... Steve & Adie More 

St. John
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016

Our dinner was amazing! I had the steak and mushroom pie, rich flavor, delicate puff pastry, delicious roasted potatoes, YUM! My partner had the Tuna, which was prepared perfectly, along with a flavorful coconut rice and vegetables. We participated in the trivia, which was fun and benefits our local animal shelter. What a great night! We are blessed to live... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank winmick
STEVE H, Owner at Skipper's Brit Pub at Sweet Plantains, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review. Trivia night is our favorite night of the week. The St John ACC is such a great cause and they are such nice people. Thanks and see you again soon. More 

Pa.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016

My husband and I recently dined at the new Skipper's Brit Pub. They do not have tap water so you have to order bottles. Our waitress was OK. She informed us they were out of plantains, so I was bummed. She said they are out of season and very hard to get on island. Guess she didn't realize they have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank snorkeler-6
STEVE H, Owner at Skipper's Brit Pub at Sweet Plantains, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are starting to ramp up for the season now that the suppliers are going back to shipping more than just a couple of days a week to Coral Bay. Life on the slow side of a small island :) We often use the local grocery store for plantains, but it can be very hit... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

The diverse menu is unique amongst all the other restaurants in St John, offering some British inspired dishes that are wonderful to break up the standard island cuisine. The service was wonderful, the patio was clean and well set, just 10 ft from the sea and views of boats moored in the bay. Great wine list and generous portions.

Helpful?
Thank Silouan A
STEVE H, Owner at Skipper's Brit Pub at Sweet Plantains, responded to this review

Thanks for a great review. Please stop back again soon as we have no gone full Brit - and launched Skipper's Brit Pub at Sweet Plantains. If you like the British feel before - you're going to love the new menu and changes. Cheers Steve & Adie More 

Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2016

My husband and I love the place, it sits right along the bay, and the breeze is great! They serve pasta meals such as shrimp alfredo with bowtie pasta, excellent and the serving portions are large enough that if you leave a little on your plate you don't feel bad. I also had the Banger's and Mash 2 Brats with... More 

Helpful?
Thank horsekeeper41
STEVE H, Owner at Skipper's Brit Pub at Sweet Plantains, responded to this review

What a lovely review. Thank you so much. We are glad you enjoyed the bangers and mash. It reminds us of home cooked food growing up back in England. We hope to see you again soon. Very warm regards Adie & Steve More 

Travellers who viewed Skipper's Brit Pub at Sweet Plantains also viewed

 
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Skipper's Brit Pub at Sweet Plantains? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 8 - US$ 40
Cuisine
British, Caribbean, Seafood, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids
Open Hours
Tuesday
15:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
15:00 - 22:00
Thursday
15:00 - 22:00
Friday
15:00 - 22:00
Saturday
15:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 16119 Little Plantation, Coral Bay 00830-9564, St. John
  • Location: Caribbean  >  U.S. Virgin Islands  >  St. John  >  Coral Bay
  • Phone Number: +1 340-777-4653
Description
Steve and Adie look forward to welcoming you to their newly renovated British Pub right on the water in Coral Bay. The menu features Skipper's Pub menu (wraps, sandwiches and appetizers) plus a great dinner menu of British food such as Bangers n mash, Cottage Pie, Steak and Guinness Pie, as well as some amazing curry dishes. Walk-ins are always welcome, but it is recommend to call ahead and reserve a table during high season.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Skipper's Brit Pub at Sweet Plantains staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?