We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

sultan

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
rue de Rive 22 | 1260 Nyon, Nyon, Nyon District 1260, Switzerland
+41 22 362 38 62
Website
Today
11:30 - 14:30
18:30 - 23:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 - 14:30
18:30 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 66: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

We were visiting Nyon for business and asked our hotel for Indian restaurant. We were told to go to restaurant Sultan if we want to have real Indian food. It was great recommendation. All of us enjoyed the dinner and service was great. Next day we went again but this time for self service buffet. Restaurant was full but staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nohy259
Geneva
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

It's a shame because the food is not bad. But the service was almost non-exitant. The trainee who served most of the restaurant was not sufficiently apt to do the job. She will need some more training before she is apt for the job. The problem is not her, but her management.

Helpful?
Thank Nidge L
Shahid W, Owner at sultan, responded to this review

Dear client, Thank you for your remarks. We totally agreed with you that the quality of service by the trainee is not perfect. We have been training young trainees for over fifteen years and when we employed them we take the chances that there may be some complaints from the clients concerning their work. We have to take thiese chances... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Planned for a family dinner out accompanied by a traveling colleague. Food was bland with no spice. Veg (legumes) korma was more like turmeric korma. In Chicken curry we had to search for curry to go along with naan we had ordered. Overall not so good dining experience and won't recommend one.

Helpful?
Thank Prasadkumar D
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2016

Unfriendly service. Food was not Indian..no chutney, or pickles, just poor. Dessert was canned litchis. Definitely not a traditional Indian sweet!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Sanjay A
Shahid W, Owner at sultan, responded to this review

Hello Sanjay, I am not going to apologize and very unhappy with your unfair remark about the food. Just because you did not get your chutney you passed this remark. Why didn't you ask for it? We always serve our client who wishes to have it. We just donot put it on the table. There are already too many dishes... More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile

We have been for lunch obvious factoring in some time pressure. With the lunch buffet this is not a problem: there is sufficient choice, plenty in quantity and for the price/speed the food is really good. Have to admit haven't been for dinner (yet) but can certainly recommend it for a lunch in Nyon.

Helpful?
Thank Theo D
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2016

Had dinner with my buddies, tried different curries and naans. Loved all of them but was hooked to the Sultani sauce. The mood and the ambiance of the place was also enjoyable with very welcoming service. Will be returning back for more Sultani sauce.

Helpful?
Thank Maheshwar T
Crans-près-Céligny
Level Contributor
204 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2015

We often take their tasty food to eat at home and it's always good. For years we've been doing it. Always well cooked, well seasoned and the portions are of a good size. We've also eat at the restaurant and apart from the quality of the service, which was just ok, the food was even better than the take away.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daniela K
Crassier, Switzerland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2015

I lived in Bombay for 6 months so I know great Indian food when I taste it. The food is good here, one portion of Basmati rice is probably enough for two, and you must have the buttered chicken curry.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
Canton of Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2015

If you are looking for a family and friendly atmosphere, this restaurant is the place to be. He offers you a wide menu that makes you travel to India. The take away service is also a good option. Reservations are possible so your experience can be even more enjoyable. I hope you will enjoy your visit as much as I... More 

Helpful?
Thank DaniGrebe
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Good food, quite atmosphere, have to admit nothing special, nothing that makes you want to go back... however it is a good local neighborhood Indian restaurant that most of the night is not busy. The service is good, the food is good but again average.

Helpful?
Thank kirka35

Travellers who viewed sultan also viewed

Nyon, Nyon District
 
Nyon, Nyon District
 
Nyon, Nyon District
Gland, Nyon District
 

Been to sultan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Indian, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Delivery, Takeout, Highchairs Available
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 14:30
18:30 - 23:30
Monday
11:30 - 14:30
18:30 - 23:30
Tuesday
11:30 - 14:30
18:30 - 23:30
Wednesday
11:30 - 14:30
18:30 - 23:30
Thursday
11:30 - 14:30
18:30 - 23:30
Friday
11:30 - 14:30
18:30 - 23:30
Saturday
11:30 - 14:30
18:30 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: rue de Rive 22 | 1260 Nyon, Nyon, Nyon District 1260, Switzerland
  • Location: Europe  >  Switzerland  >  Canton of Vaud  >  Nyon District  >  Nyon
  • Phone Number: +41 22 362 38 62
Description
Self service - Lunch Buffet - Monday to Friday - Fr19-Summer terrasse with lake view.Unlimited public parking.Outside catering for business and private parties.Takeaway.Online reservation and menu available on our website.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from sultan staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?