We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$ 12 - US$ 29
CUISINES
French, European
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks
View all details
features, about
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
4
3
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
4
3
2
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 27 September 2020

We were there twice last week, the dinner and service in both occasions was excellent. Portions were generous and the Rose wine was exactly as I liked it. We had a delicious stuffed fig starter - devoured every morsel, fois gras was so smooth and...tasty. The duck was cooked to perfection - recommended by the owner to take it pink - right choice. Seiche was tender and tasty. The views were breathtaking - you can even see it when you are sitting inside. We enjoyed lovely evenings there and could not have asked for more.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 3 September 2019

We spent 9 very happy nights in our tent here and were looked after admirably by the very friendly and helpfull owners. The resuarant seved us two very good meals and the swimming pool was devine, especially regarding the hot weather. We can thoroughly recommend...this campsite and restaurant. John and HelenMore

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
VeroniqueB1420, Gérant at Le Relais D'aguilar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2019

Thank you so much. It was a pleasure to have you here. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards. Véronique & James

Reviewed 19 July 2019

Beautiful french waitress/owner who was very helpful and spoke very good English. She even recommended we sit towards the view to soak up the good weather. Food unfortunately did not deliver, Starters were excellent in the set menu, main course - not so much, frozen...chips and there was no sauce. Fondant chocolate was firm and no soft middle but otherwise atmosphere was fun and service was good. I will still like to go again and try other dishes.More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
VeroniqueB1420, Gérant at Le Relais D'aguilar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2019

Hi, Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately if you were not satisfied with the main course it would have been easier for me to be told on the day so that I would have been able to suggest something else. Our aim is to please...More

Reviewed 17 May 2019 via mobile

We were out and decided to stop for lunch. The service was excellent, very friendly. Food was delicious. Will be coming back.

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed a delicious dinner here. Our three courses were expertly prepared to a high standard and tasted amazing, using high quality local ingredients with sophisticated methods made this an outstanding meal. Our hostess was wonderful: warm, friendly, helpful and generous and I would happily...return. Highly recommended!More

Date of visit: October 2017
Helpful?
Veronique B, Gérant at Le Relais D'aguilar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

We are delighted to read your comment. We are aiming at satisfying our customers. So it is always rewarding to read comments like yours. Thank you very much. Véronique

Reviewed 9 August 2017

We stayed here one night, after our first day's hike on the Sentier Cathare. Our chalet was fairly basic but well enough equipped for self-catering. However we were half board on this trip, and had the set menu in the evening - this included a...superb homemade pizza. In the morning, we were served a lovely, simple, fresh breakfast. The owners, James and Veronique, were charming and made us feel very welcome.More

Date of visit: June 2017
Helpful?
Veronique B, Gérant at Le Relais D'aguilar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thank you very much. Véronique

Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

Beautiful french waitress who was very helpful and spoke very good English. She even recommended we sit towards the view to soak up the good weather. Food unfortunately did not deliver for the high price charged. Starters were more expensive than the main course and...tasted like out off a can or supermarket quality. We did not pick the set menu thinking the a la carte would be better.More

Date of visit: June 2017
Helpful?
Veronique B, Gérant at Le Relais D'aguilar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Hi, thank you for your feedback which is very important to us (at times it is surprisingly difficult to obtain objective feedback). We are sorry on this occasion we failed to achieve the high level of customer satisfaction which we aim to achieve every time...More

Reviewed 25 May 2017

On the 1st day of our hike along the Sentier Cathare, we met a couple of hikers who strongly recommended this restaurant. So when we arrived at our excellent B&B in Tuchan (La Remise), we mentioned this to our hosts, and they called to reserve...for us. They were told that the chef had left suddeny a couple of days previously and therefore we would have to eat the half-board menu. When we arrived at the restaurant we met up with some fellow hikers who were staying at the Relais d'Aguilar, and we all sat together. They were offered the half-board menu - gaspacho, steak with potatoes, and tiramisu. However, we were not permitted to have this menu after all, and were told we could only have a salad or a pizza. The owner was quite unpleasant to us when we specifically asked for something else. After eating a sandwich at lunchtime, we were really looking forward to a proper meal with meat. We ended up ordering one large salad to share and one pizza to share, and requested an extra plate so we could share both dishes. Our friends were served with their starter, but 35 minutes later, we still had nothing to eat. When I asked the owner what was happening, she brought the large bowl of salad immediately, dumped it unceremoniously in front of me, and didn't bring serving spoons or plates. Seeing our difficulty, the waitress brought an extra plate. The salad was nice, as was the pizza when it arrived, though the topping on the pizza was not very generous. At the end, the owner asked if everything was OK, but when we complimented her on the food, she just replied in a superior way "at least something positive this evening" - a very surprising attitude from a restaurant owner to her customers. If the owner treats her staff in the same way that we were treated, I can understand why she has trouble keeping them. Her whole attitude was superior and aggressive, verging on rude, and quite unpleasant. We didn't appreciate at all being spoken to so rudely.More

Date of visit: May 2017
Helpful?
Veronique B, Gérant at Le Relais D'aguilar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

We are surprised to read your review on this site however I understand the tone of your interaction with the staff on the evening in question was no different. We would like to clarify a few points : 1. The "half board" (demi pension) menu...More

Reviewed 26 September 2016

We stayed at the resort last week and ate there on a couple of occasions, the food was wonderful. I recommend the Caesar Salad, as a starter it was nearly big enough as a main course. I tried the Meat Balls and the Lamb Shank,...both were delicious. The restaurant also had an extensive wine list which should be enough for any wine aficionado. All in all both meals were delightful, and the lady who served us on both nights was gracious in her manner and never lost her smile, even when we brutalised the french language when orderingMore

Date of visit: September 2016
Helpful?
Reviewed 14 May 2016

We stayed at the Relais d'Aguilar campsite in the first week of May and ate at the restaurant most nights. We did try other eateries in the area but realised this was by far the best. While I love my food I'll admit to being...a picky eater but the menu had enough options to ensure plenty of choice. My favourite was the gambas which were tender to the point of melting. The chef is clearly accomplished as I know from eating elsewhere that gambas are tricky enough to get right. My husband adores lamb but is prejudiced in his belief that Irish lamb is the best in the world due to the soft rainfall and that lamb anywhere else in the world is not worth eating. The proprieter convinced him to give the rack of lamb a try and he almost licked the plate. The lamb was cooked perfectly and the chef coaxed a tenderness and a sweetness from it that gave irish lamb some serious competition. From the first night we relied on the proprieter to make the wine choice for us. As we were not familiar with the wines in the region we deferred to her local knowledge and we were certainly glad we did. The wines she recommended were mid priced but superb in their complexity and depth. While I enjoy a glass of red with dinner I had never moved beyond our usual chateauneuf de pape or new world cabernet sauvignon. I very much enjoyed the Fitou served at dinner and visited the Relais d'Aguilar supplier during my stay to bring several bottles home. Dessert was for me one of the high points of the meal. The chocolate fondant pudding is a much abused restaurant favourite - often served either overcooked or too hot. Not in this restaurant. Plunging a spoon into the delicate pudding unleashed a rich ooze of warm unctious chocolate ganache. Too often when we eat out I find that the restaurant dessert is an afterthought on the menu and isn't worth the calories in the consumption. The chocolate pudding here was worth every last calorie and a week later I'm still thinking about it. We visited the restaurant as a couple but there were several familes with young children dining and the children played happily with toys provided in a room off the main dining area but in eyeline. Their parents were clearly able to relax over their meals in comfort. The bill for dinner each evening always came as a pleasant surprise. Dinner, drinks and dessert were very reasonable and there were three set menus available at around the 14 - 18 euro mark which were even better value. All in all, we were lucky that the restaurant was on site where we were staying but even so, this place would have been well worth a detour. It was the best food we had on our entire trip. The chef is clearly skilled at his job. The suppliers are also top notch if the wine and the bread are anything to go by and last of all, the music played in the background was well chosen. A really enjoyable experience overall.More

Date of visit: May 2016
Helpful?3  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Auberge du Vigneron
151 reviews
10.77 km away
Auberge De Cucugnan
121 reviews
10.79 km away
Les Lavandes
27 reviews
13.26 km away
Le Tropic Hotel
210 reviews
16.60 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Domaine la Peiriere
57 reviews
.91 km away
La P'tite Ardoise
10 reviews
5.95 km away
Lou Barral
60 reviews
6.54 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Chateau d'Aguilar
99 reviews
2.00 km away
Musee des Premiers Habitants de l'Europe
72 reviews
8.50 km away
Cave Cooperative d'Embres et Castelmaure
17 reviews
9.04 km away
Chateau de Queribus
848 reviews
10.23 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Le Relais D'aguilar staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Le Relais D'aguilar

Le Relais D'aguilar is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4