We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The George Inn Pub

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The George Inn Church Street, Wedmore BS28 4AB, England
+44 1934 712124
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 180: English reviews
Wedmore, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is my local so I could be biased....having said that I wouldn't send anyone off to spend their hard earned cash to somewhere I wouldn't go to myself. Food is good, always changing, good portions and none of this 'find it with a microscope' nonsense. Dog friendly, pub garden. The only thing I would say is book early as... More 

Helpful?
Thank alisonlb123
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Service was excellent BUT, the food very dissapointing, over priced for the portion and nothing special. I wont be returning.

Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne C
beerhound123, Owner at The George Inn Pub, responded to this review

I'm sorry but I genuinely find it hard to take this review seriously. Are you someone I know having a silly joke? We have our faults but this is the first complaint trip advisor or elsewhere about the amount of food we serve. We are often told by our many satisfied customers the portions are too big. Please read the... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Loved it !! Old coaching Inn dating back to the 15th century with lots of character combined with a very high standard of food and accommodation . A great welcome (also from some very friendly 4 legged friends) - all very relaxed and informal, I was immediately impressed. Each room was spacious and had individual character. The beds were comfortable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lindsey M
beerhound123, Owner at The George Inn Pub, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such a lovely review. We hope to see you again. More 

England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Right in the centre of Wedmore, worth a visit, good range of beers and ciders, large beer garden with plenty of parking. Really enjoyed just relaxing there for an hour on a Saturday. Great place if you're exploring the village. Excellent

Helpful?
Thank Dave L
beerhound123, Owner at The George Inn Pub, responded to this review

Many thanks for your excellent and accurate review. More 

1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Despite living locally it's been a while since I last found myself in The George for supper, but we had some friends to stay for the weekend and always enjoy the general buzz of the bar, so booked a table for the Saturday night. On arrival the staff were very welcoming and we were put at ease with no rush... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon M
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Visited here with my family for lunch pre-country walk. Sandwiches are of good quality with thick, fresh, farmhouse style bread (fair few fillings to choose from). Whitebait was lovely and crispy (as is expected) and the starter of tian of smoked mackerel, crab etc was very tasty and fresh. The homemade chips here are must! Super crunchy on the outside,... More 

Helpful?
Thank EmilySHill
beerhound123, Owner at The George Inn Pub, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments. As you have praised things I'm a little disappointed we didn't score a four!! Thanks anyhow. More 

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2017

We were fortunate enough to stop at this beautiful inn for one night on our way back home to Cornwall, and it was a very pleasurable stay. Our room was just gorgeous and oozing in character, the food in the restaurant was delicious in beautiful surroundings. And the staff were all very profffesional and friendly. Lovely inn and surrounded by... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank yatna110
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Hadn't been to the George for a while and seeing it was a mid week evening it was surprisingly busy which is probably because of the excellent food and service we had on our visit. I had a delicious goat cheese and walnut tart very tasty which came with some big very delicious chunky chips. We shared whit bait as... More 

Helpful?
Thank sally f
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

I went to the George for Sunday lunch it was superb. The beef was rare and beautifully cooked. The vegetables were nice but the cauliflower cheese was very Moreish!! We had prompt service and the staff were friendly will definitely be visiting again.

Helpful?
Thank Georgie B
beerhound123, Owner at The George Inn Pub, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2017

I have reviewed this restaurant under the hotel guidance section but in summary the steaks were overcooked (should have been rare), the ham was only ok, the chips were poor (we never leave chips as a rule) and the vegetables seemed to rely on green beans and not much else. Candlelight room made for a dark evening, the chairs are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael R
beerhound123, Owner at The George Inn Pub, responded to this review

Thanks for the review and I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your time with us. As is clear from most reviews that is not the opinion of the majority of customers. In answer to your points steak is somewhat subjective in terms of cooking preference but this could easily have been replaced for you at the time. We have never and... More 

Travellers who viewed The George Inn Pub also viewed

 

Been to The George Inn Pub? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 10 - US$ 29
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The George Inn Church Street, Wedmore BS28 4AB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Wedmore
  • Phone Number: +44 1934 712124

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The George Inn Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?