We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Golden Heart

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Down Road | Winterbourne Down, Winterbourne BS36 1AU, England
+44 1454 774392
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

363 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 363: English reviews
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The menu is great, the building and atmosphere is lovely, the food is above average/good BUT the service level (and this is not a criticism of the staff who work there, I actually think they are good) is appalling. I have visited the Golden Heart over half a dozen times and I can't think of a time when everything went... More 

Helpful?
Thank Greg G
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

My girlfriend and I live two minutes from this restaurant and subsequently have visited many times. After this last visit we won't be back, enough is enough. We visited on a Sunday afternoon and were greeted with the usual cosy atmosphere and helpful staff. Sadly this is where the positives end!! It has to be said, I have never been... More 

Helpful?
Thank GregHammick
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Not a great meal steak over cooked chips burnt should have kale with meal but ended up with rocket I suppose there the same colour !

Helpful?
1 Thank martin j
general manager A, General Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this review

Hi, Martin J, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. I'm sorry to hear that our high quality food wasn't up to the usual standards. I hope you will give us another chance. More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food here was really good but the brand new waitress made a possibly great experience pretty poor. It was a real shame that a poorly trained staff member impacted on the review for this restaurant. Due to long wait times we had to give up on dessert (which looked the most exciting part of the menu including a Chocolate... More 

Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolSt
general manager A, General Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this review

Liverpoolst, thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with The Golden Heart. I do apologise about the slow service, we are currently training new team members and I'm sorry to hear that few mistakes happened during your visit. Again thank you very much for taking the time to review us. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided to drop in for an afternoon meal, the setting is very good and décor is of a village pub. There is plenty of space and good selection of beers, the garden is a good size with plenty of tables but a bit to cold to sit outside so sat in restaurant. The menu had a good selection on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank steveisgplc
general manager A, General Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this review

Thanks Steveisgplc, for leaving us this response. Wishing you a great day until the next time we meet. More 

bristol
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

Rubbish Booked a party of six for xmas meal with pre order simple right ? er no the restaurant on a Thursday night was rammed priority was given to non xmas bookers. We were sat at 7.30pm had our tiny starters at 8.30pm by 9.15pm no ordered xmas mains was told another table before us so we guessed not being... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank welshcakeBristol
general manager A, Guest Relations Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this review

Thank you, Welshcakebristol, for reaching out to us. Your opinion plays an integral part in our customer service. Thank you for your input, and we hope to see you soon. More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Dropped in with two weeks to go for eight of us. Menu quite extensive and food quite good but not the best. They did not have any turkey - who would have thought the demand would be so high? Three beers on. But as I was driving stuck to water.

Helpful?
1 Thank ijmark
general manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this review

Ijmark, thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with The Golden Heart. We always love to receive great feedback. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016

Amazed that we did not have to pre order for our party of 25 on a Saturday night, especially as the restaurant was very busy. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Service was very good. Food was excellent. Great menu.

Helpful?
Thank royaloak2015
general manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this review

Thanks Royaloak2015, for leaving us this response. We always love to receive great feedback. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

booked table on line after recommended by a friend, slightly disappointed if I'm honest , seated on a table for 4 ( 2 of us , not quite as romantic as we'd hoped for ) listening to the 3 waitresses moan loudly pretty much the entire time we were sat down eating ! My husbands £20 steak was not value... More 

Helpful?
Thank babeandangel
general manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this review

Babeandangel, we regret that you had a negative experience with us, but are glad you brought this to our attention. we hope to see you soon. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2016

Amazing service, excellent food and a lovely ambience. The staff were excellent and very knowledgeable in every aspect of the meal. We were celebrating my 70th birthday and it couldn't have been better.

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan N
general manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, Susan N. We strive to provide excellent service to our customers at The Golden Heart. Wishing you a great day until the next time we meet. More 

Travellers who viewed The Golden Heart also viewed

Winterbourne, Gloucestershire
 
Long Ashton, Somerset
 

Been to The Golden Heart? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Down Road | Winterbourne Down, Winterbourne BS36 1AU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Gloucestershire  >  Winterbourne
  • Phone Number: +44 1454 774392

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Golden Heart staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?