We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Slug and Lettuce

) #198 of 231 Restaurants in Richmond ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ , , British
Riverside House Water Lane | Water Lane, Richmond TW9 1TJ, England
+44 20 8948 7733
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good30%
  • Average18%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible21%
Travellers talk about
“fish cakes” (4 reviews)
“the river” (37 reviews)
“sunny day” (8 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Gastropub, Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Riverside House Water Lane | Water Lane, Richmond TW9 1TJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

We really originally wanted to go to White Cross nearby - atmosphere seemed so much better - but it was really more tipsier crowd and that place smelled really strongly of beer (unpleasantly so). So we went for The Slug and Lettuce which was almost...More

Thank JaWestPalmBeach
Slug_Richmond, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi, Thank you for taking your time to write a review and give us feedback. We've been a lot quieter than we have expected recently so we apologize that you feel we lacked a nice atmosphere. We hope to see you again, Kristian and the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location on the river and good outdoor seating Indoor TV but a fun ambience Poor to average 'pub food' Would not return since my chip and pin was copied here Average service/ rude Known locally as the 'snog & pick me up'

Thank minnieinrichmond
Slug_Richmond, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Minnie, Would you be able to contact the site on 020 8948 7733 so we can discuss the issues you may have had here? Kind regards Management

Reviewed 1 week ago

whilst having a drink outside taking in the lovely view and atmosphere we decided to order some food; however several of the things we would have liked were off the menu so we had to leave and find somewhere else. Otherwise ir was perfectly pleasant...More

Thank Jerry G
Slug_Richmond, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Jerry, Thank you for taking the time ti give us a review and your feedback. We apologize for the lack of several dishes on the menu recently, we've had a few issues with supply at the moment due to unforeseen circumstances. We hope you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were fortunate with the weather & to get a table outside to eat our lunch at. Food orders are taken at the bar & the food arrived quickly enough although we were happy sitting watching the world go by. The food was ok. I...More

Thank amanda40671
Slug_Richmond, General Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Amanda Thank you for taking the time to review us. Our spot by the river is certainly a nice place to be when the sun does come out! Hope to see you again? Andrew and the team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Usual slug and lettuce pub. A few tables outside, overlooking the river. Good food at reasonable prices, just what's expected from this unpretentious chain, Same food next door costs close to twice as much so not a difficult choice. The pub was quite busy at...More

Thank rick.ferries
Slug_Richmond, General Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Rick, I am very glad you enjoyed your visit to us. It is always great to get positive feedback about what we are doing here. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Andrew and the team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Popped in here and enjoyed a few drinks whilst sitting outside next to the river. The offer of 2 for 1 cocktails is good as the drinks are all freshly made. Worth. visit when in Richmond.

Thank Richard H
Slug_Richmond, General Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Richard Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a positive review. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Andrew and the team

Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Awful awful awful. We will never go back here and don't recommend to anyone!!! We visited it just for breakfast. We ordered, paid at the bar, then sat outside. We waited 20 minutes for coffees and over 45 minutes for food. We had to ask...More

1  Thank Cwiakus
Slug_Richmond, General Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, I am very saddened to hear about your recent visit to us in Richmond. This is not the level of service I expect from my team. Should you wish to discuss further with me personally, please do not hesitate to contact me. Andrew

Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Had kind of a date at this place. Luckily the weather was great. We sat outside with views of the river. The espresso martini and passion fruit martinis were our favourite. Closely followed by the passion fruit mojito.

2  Thank Saintlysinner
Slug_Richmond, General Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi I was very pleased to hear you enjoyed your cocktails with us. I hope the date went down as well as the cocktails? Andrew and the team

Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

I was on a flying visit to Richmond with work, and met a friend for dinner in the slug and lettuce. The tapas options are fabulous and great portions! The cocktail we had (2 for 1) was incredible (I think it was called absolutely fabulous!?!?)...More

Thank amybillz
Slug_Richmond, General Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Amy, Thank you for taking time to give us positive feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Andrew and the team

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

Me and my two friends had a great experience at the Slug and Lettuce in Richmond, due to the great service and amazing staff! After being verbally abused by a guest outside the restaurant, me and my friends were comforted by the lovely staff and...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Slug_Richmond, General Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Hi Thank you so much for the great review. I will be sure to pass on your comments to Kristian and Tom. See you again soon. Andrew and the team

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Richmond Vault Beer Cellar & Restaurant
391 reviews
.16 km away
Bill's Richmond
556 reviews
.19 km away
The Ivy Cafe Richmond
172 reviews
.14 km away
Cote Bistro - Richmond
516 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
So Bar Richmond
120 reviews
.32 km away
The Poppy Factory
21 reviews
.47 km away
Richmond Theatre
221 reviews
.48 km away
Museum of Richmond
52 reviews
.12 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Slug and Lettuce staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 6 - US$ 19
Cuisine
Gastropub, Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:00
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Riverside House Water Lane | Water Lane, Richmond TW9 1TJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater London  >  Richmond
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8948 7733
  • E-mail
Description
A perfect riverside location, The Slug & Lettuce is a very popular destination venue, especially during the summer months. The venue is family friendly allowing children from opening until 8pm daily, over 21's thereafter. Breakfast, lunch, dinner & take-away available. Parties are welcome. Great deals on cocktails, wine & food throughout the week. Our friendly staff will look after all your needs when visiting!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing