We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Swan

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
Market Place, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
+44 1751 472288
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good28%
  • Average11%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (28 reviews)
“belly pork” (16 reviews)
“mussels” (6 reviews)
Open Now
8:30 AM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Market Place, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

went for Christmas meal with a fixed menu with plenty of notice the food was absolute rubbish anemic roast potatoes, tasteless gravy, plastic turkey, avoid

Thank Paul B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Been here a few times now and called in for lunch on our way to Robin Hoods Bay. The food is Ok and the beer good. This time the tea my wife ordered had a dirty cup and the atmosphere was a bit stale, a...More

1  Thank Paddy459
Anna S, Marketing at White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear this and have taken all of your comments on board, a dirty cup is a basic error and should not have happened. We do always try to put things right for our guests and all of...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped her for a bite of lunch and it was very pleasant. We both had steak ciabatta and it was cooked to perfection. No fat and no blood. Would definitely return if in the area

1  Thank donnaj123
Anna S, other at White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review. We're pleased you enjoyed your lunch and look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Only had lunch in the Bar area but was very disappointed with the food as i have been there before I felt the food on this visit was poor. I had ordered a cappuccino and got a white coffee, sorry when you ask for a...More

2  Thank jamesosborne
Anna S, other at White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for you review and comments. Clearly we are not in the business of serving below par food or drinks and I am truly sorry you that this time you had a bad experience. I have spoken to the front of house team who...More

Reviewed 17 January 2018

Make sure to reserve as can be quite crowded, especially during hunting season. Enjoy the ambience with the big fireplace. A drink in the old bar out front is recommended before the meal starts ;-)

1  Thank Ger T
Anna S, other at White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. Really please to hear you enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes from the team.

Reviewed 12 January 2018

Simply put we paid £80 for 2 starters, 2 mains, 2 glasses of prosecco and 1 dessert. For some top quality food I would have no problem with paying this amount but unfortunately the food is mediocre at best at the White Swan. While the...More

2  Thank cathalsheehan
Anna S, other at White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are sorry to hear this and can only apologise that you were left unhappy with your meal. I will pass your comments to the chef who will look to make improvements. I do hope we can welcome you again.

Reviewed 5 January 2018

There were 14 adults and children in our group and staff couldn’t do enough to accommodate our group.

Thank Jo M
Anna S, Marketing at White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed 3 January 2018

My husband had wonderful main meal and amazing dessert with these special cherries. I will definitely have to go back with him, in the near future.

Thank Arti C
Anna S, other at White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review. Really pleased to hear you enjoyed your food. Were they the boozy cherries? Good aren't they!! We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes from the team

Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Warm and welcoming, as always. Lovely window seat and excellent Whitby cod and chips! Helpful and friendly staff and a great atmosphere.

Thank Peter B
Anna S, Marketing at White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you for your kind review. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

We went here as part of a Christmas do. It's a lovely rustic country pub with a warm inviting feel. The food is top-notch and reasonably priced. The function room is something special and the service is fantastic.

1  Thank James H
Anna S, Marketing at White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Really pleased you enjoyed it! Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back. From The Team at The White Swan

PreviousNext
12345647
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Pickering Hotels
The White Swan Inn
703 reviews
.02 km away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
440 reviews
.24 km away
Old Manse Hotel
258 reviews
.45 km away
Easthill Farm House
60 reviews
5.35 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Willowgate Bistro
647 reviews
.07 km away
Elizabeth Botham's Tea Rooms
273 reviews
.13 km away
Figaro's Restaurant
502 reviews
.11 km away
Capplemans Fish & Chips Restaurant
544 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
North Yorkshire Moors Railway
3,283 reviews
.12 km away
Beck Isle Museum
299 reviews
.21 km away
St Peter's & St Paul's Church
197 reviews
.12 km away
Pickering Castle
368 reviews
.28 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kay L
13 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from rubyandviolet | Reviewed this property |
Yes we took our dog and they were great with him.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 74
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
8:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
8:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
8:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
8:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
8:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
8:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Market Place, Pickering YO18 7AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Pickering
  • Phone Number: +44 1751 472288
  • E-mail
Description
The kitchen at the White Swan is focused on doing very little to excellent local ingredients with very rarely more than three flavours on a plate. We make just about everything from scratch in cluding the ketchup and we charge more for it than we would need to if everything came out of a freezer via a microwave.If you are looking for prissy and plastic fine dining then don't expect that here. If you are looking for mountains of cheap food and you don't care where it came from then there are better places to get it.However if you love proper food then I also promise you service from people who are genuinely pleased to be working in our lovely Inn. The AA deems our food good enough for 2 rosettes - and that is without a single smear, smudge or froth in sight. At the other end of the scale, we don't do wrapped butter portions or packets of sauce either (or piped musak). If you want real food in a relaxed experience with great service and a happy atmosphere then come on down. If you want something else - then don't say I didn't warn you.Victor Buchanan - Owner
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing