We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beachside Barbecue

1 The Strand, Saundersfoot SA69 9ET, Wales
+44 1834 811873
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good33%
  • Average15%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“brisket” (37 reviews)
“burnt ends” (26 reviews)
“fish and chips” (62 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Barbecue, British, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 The Strand, Saundersfoot SA69 9ET, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited for lunch as a couple - shown to a table in the window with a gorgeous sea view and promptly offered drinks. Very extensive menu and good selection of drinks. Food was quick to arrive and well presented - I had chicken and my...More

Thank Emily R
Stbrides-1, Owner at Beachside Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for leaving a review Emily - we always appreciate hearing constructive comments from new guests. I'm delighted to hear that you both enjoyed your meals. I hope that next time you visit you leave enough room for one of our freak shakes as they...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great decor and lovely staff. But the food was a bit too pricey for the quality. I had the brisket chilli for starter, this was okay but was essentially bits of brisket in a very mild sauce which could have done with some kidney beans...More

Thank DirtyWelshman
Stbrides-1, Owner at Beachside Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comments following your visit to Beachside Barbecue. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meals - had you mentioned something at the time we would have tried to rectify things for you - however I am pleased...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good service and great location looking out to sea and harbour. Food quality was a disappointment for the prices charged.More

Thank Geraint R
Stbrides-1, Owner at Beachside Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback which is obviously disappointing for us. We are proud to serve locally sourced food (from Pembrokeshire) and I am sorry that you did not appear to enjoy your meals. I do hope that you decide to return in the future...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a nice window seat, but the restaurant was very quiet and it felt like staff were glad to see the end of the summer season, they were however very friendly. I had grilled fresh fish and it was really tasty. My partner had...More

Thank MontyCheltenham
Stbrides-1, Owner at Beachside Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on TripAdvisor. Excellent customer service is very important to us and I am pleased that you found the team friendly, however apologise that the table was not clean which is certainly not the type of...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice food, but it was a little pricey for what you received! Service was a little slow (especially as there were only about 4 small groups in) but the staff were very friendly. And please, use plates!! My partner chased her burger around the...More

Thank 01Clive
Stbrides-1, Owner at Beachside Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. We have found that our new concept has been received well by guests, and we wanted to offer something no other restaurants in the area were doing, however we would have happily given you a plate had you asked. Please...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very efficient online booking and reminder service beforehand. My wife and I had a mixed experience with our meals. My whole seabass was well presented and tasty. My wife's cod was tasteless and lacked the whiteness expected. A complaint was made to the waitress and...More

Thank G J
Stbrides-1, Owner at Beachside Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments. I am pleased that you used our on-line booking service via our website. It's always disappointing when our guests do not enjoy their meals, and we always try to put things right at the time, therefore it is still disappointing that...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here as a couple not changed much since it was the mermaid Starters were of a good variety and different to other places the brisket chilli chips were excellent as were the cod chunks highly recommend The Sea bass was succulent had to be...More

Thank katieejones9
Stbrides-1, Owner at Beachside Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Katie for writing a review following your visit. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your sea bass. We'd have been happy to replace the scampi had you mentioned something at the time, however please accept my apologies that it was not to your...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We ate here last week for the first time and really enjoyed our meal, which we also thought was pretty reasonably priced. Starters (chilli and ciabatta and cod chunks) were okay, but the real winners were the barbeque main meals we ordered - notably the...More

Thank Gareth S
Stbrides-1, Owner at Beachside Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Gareth for taking the time to leave a review; we always appreciate hearing from first time guests. It's wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your meals, although a shame you could not manage desert - hopefully next time! Hwyl Andrew

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice scenery.........if your lucky enough to get a window seat. Food was poor. Won't visit again it was a waste of money.

Thank Mollie H
Stbrides-1, Owner at Beachside Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I'm sorry to hear that you did not appear to enjoy your meal. It's a shame to hear you won't visit us again. Your comments aren't what we are used to receiving however thank you for giving us a try. Andrew

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I'll start with the positives- Good View, Good Atmosphere, Nice decor, Good size restaurant for Pembrokeshire. Negatives- Terrible food for a restaurant that is supposed to specialise in 'Barbecue'. Lamb Shank served in a bowl that was full of what only can be described as...More

1  Thank taster383
Stbrides-1, Owner at Beachside Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments. Unfortunately it sounds like we are not to your liking and although your comments do not reflect our usual type of feedback appreciate the time you have taken for letting us know your thoughts. Andrew

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Mulberry Restaurant
968 reviews
.17 km away
The Kookaba
795 reviews
.15 km away
Sue's pantry saundersfoot
354 reviews
.12 km away
The Old Chemist Inn
535 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Reptile Experience
350 reviews
.21 km away
Sea Taxi
46 reviews
.03 km away
Good Trails Stand Up Paddle Boarding
30 reviews
.82 km away
Chobbles Traditional Sweet Shop
47 reviews
.21 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Dave C
25 July 2016|
Answer
Response from Stbrides-1 | Property representative |
Hi Dave, We have a small terraced area which you could dine with you dog, this is obviously weather dependent and also if there is room on the terrace at the time you wish to dine. Thanks Andrew
0
Votes
Debra-Carl
26 May 2015|
Answer
Response from 861SarahH |
Hi, yes we do have a 'Specials' Board but unfortunately we do not serve lobster just Fresh Fish
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 9 - US$ 26
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, View, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 The Strand, Saundersfoot SA69 9ET, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Pembrokeshire  >  Saundersfoot
  • Phone Number: +44 1834 811873
  • E-mail
Description
Beachside Barbecue opened in May 2016 as a new concept for Saundersfoot. Located by Saundersfoot harbour, overlooking the beach. We're all about Brisket, Ribs, Chicken and Fish. Featuring melt in the mouth, "low and slow" authentic barbecue cooked in our Hard Wood Pit Smoker (all the way from the USA) and a Lump Wood Charcoal Oven. Taking reservations or walk ins we look forward to welcoming you to Beachside Barbecue.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing