We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The River House

) #118 of 169 Restaurants in Stirling ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ European, British,
The Castle Business Park | The Castle Business Park, Stirling FK9 4TW, Scotland
+44 1786 465577
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good23%
  • Average15%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“black pudding” (25 reviews)
“sea bass” (18 reviews)
Open Now
09:00 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
European, British, Scottish, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Castle Business Park | The Castle Business Park, Stirling FK9 4TW, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (1,061)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

From start to finish I cannot find fault with either the service or the meal at the River House, having heard many bad review, s I was a bit worried about dining here but I could not have been more pleased at the standard of...More

Thank Jean H
venue_manager70, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Jean H, Thank you very much for your lovely review of The River House, I have passed your comments on to the team and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Jade

Reviewed 5 days ago

Nice outlook from the restaurant and pleasant interior. We were greeted by a slightly grumpy waitress and shown to our table, took a while to be asked if we wanted drinks. The food was very good couldn't fault anything, portions are huge and slightly too...More

Thank JEAN T
venue_manager70, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear JEAN T, Thank you for your review, I am glad to see that you enjoyed your meals and that you liked the interior and view at The River House. I will investigate further on your comments about the ‘grumpy waitress’ as this is not...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Having not been to the Riverhouse for a number of years, my friend & I went there this evening. I wish we hadn't! We arrived early & were shown to our table. We decided what we would drink & chose our food. After some time...More

Thank Carly5422
venue_manager70, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Carly5422, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, I am sorry that we did not have some of the food and drinks items which you requested, We take pride in providing our customers with fresh ingredients daily, which means on some...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

The same as all the other reviews, empty restaurant poor service, kept waiting. Food was ok main meals expensive for what you got. Wine glasses left on table for 5 year children to drink from, nothing else offered as an alternative. Have gone to this...More

Thank taffycubby
venue_manager70, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear taffycubby, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, I am saddened to hear that your recent visit to The River House has not been on par with previous visits, I apologise for the wait you had and have taken note on...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited the River House for a special occasion one summer's evening. The service was fantastic; all of our waiting staff were friendly and attentive. Unfortunately the food was not as good as it was a number of years ago. I ordered the Cullen skink which...More

Thank groovyshona
venue_manager70, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear groovyshona, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review on The River House, I have passed your lovely comments about the service on to the staff and I am glad to hear it was fantastic, however I am sorry you didn't...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed our meal at River House very much. Everyone in our group agreed it was the best meal we had in Stirling. The service was impeccable. Our server Ryan was on top of everything and knowledgeable about the menu and area. We have a...More

2  Thank susanli2017
venue_manager70, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear susanli2017, Thank you for your review of The River House, We are thrilled to hear the you enjoyed your meal and the service, I have passed your lovely comments on to Ryan and the team. We look forward to seeing you all again soon....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came here for lunch and the place was empty. The manager/barman was on the phone when we arrived so we hovered for a bit before he came and took us to a table. We sat while a waitress laid out flowers and salt and...More

5  Thank Porter313
venue_manager70, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Porter313, Please accept my apology for the lack of service on your visit to The River House, this is something that should never happen. We take pride in our customer service and I will be sure to speak to the team and ensure this...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with wife and 2 kids. Beautiful designed and laid out venue. However meal was ruined by being served the greasiest chips I have ever had in a restaurant and exceptionally slow service. You could see the grease visibly on the surface. First time in...More

Thank Brett S
venue_manager70, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Brett S, Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback of your recent visit to The River House, I apologise that the food and service was not up to standard. I have passed your comments on to the team and I hope that you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a few drinks with my work colleagues and the service was excellent especially from Jade who has witty banter! Good value for money and a great atmosphere, we will be backMore

Thank hellsbells38627
venue_manager70, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear hellsbells, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback from your recent visit. I am very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable time whilst you were here. Your comments will be passed along to the rest of the team...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I've always had a great experience at the river house, both food and service but today was so disappointing. I have not been in over a year or more and you can tell ownership has changed hands. The service was unprofessional (thumb in veg, bringing...More

1  Thank Gillian L
venue_manager70, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Gillian, Thank you for taking the time to leave us you feedback from your recent visit. I apologise that the food and service was not up to standard, your comments are noted and have been passed along to the rest of our team. Again...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Portcullis
498 reviews
1.55 km away
The Gallery Restaurant
102 reviews
.35 km away
Highland Gate
361 reviews
.31 km away
Stirling Castle Unicorn Cafe
137 reviews
1.56 km away
Nearby Attractions
Stirling Castle
6,230 reviews
1.28 km away
Church of the Holy Rude
301 reviews
1.53 km away
Argyll Sutherland Highlanders Regimental Museum
207 reviews
1.16 km away
Argyll's Lodging
266 reviews
1.60 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jiov19
16 June 2017|
Answer
Response from Lou1479605 | Reviewed this property |
Hi, I went there on Christmas Day just last year and it lived up to more than what was expected. You hear of Xmas Day at restaurants often being below par, but we found the food and service to be excellent.
0
Votes
taffy125
12 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from stefidave | Reviewed this property |
YES. Perfect vegetarian options. And carnivore options too...
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 10 - US$ 45
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:00
Monday
09:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 22:00
Thursday
09:00 - 22:00
Friday
09:00 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Castle Business Park | The Castle Business Park, Stirling FK9 4TW, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Stirling  >  Stirling
  • Phone Number: +44 1786 465577
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing