We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chinese Buffet

63 Standishgate, Wigan WN1 1UP, England
+44 1942 820277
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good29%
  • Average18%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“sushi” (7 reviews)
“noodles” (14 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
63 Standishgate, Wigan WN1 1UP, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the second time we have been to this restaurant. The customer service is second to none and the food is excellent especially the teppanyaki noodle bar where you can construct your own dishes and have them cooked there and then by the chef....More

Thank TheFoldGuestHouse
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I love the 1 in st Helens so as this is nearer to me I wanted to go but it wasn't any were near as good. So would not be returning. It tasted good but the variety was not as good and a lot of...More

Thank Lynsey W
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry you didn't feel you enjoyed this visit as much as our St Helen's branch, we're glad you enjoyed the dishes you tried

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It smelt delicious.. It all looked very inviting, hot and fresh, but even the veg had Gluten in it in the sauce they put on it. I was really looking forward to the meal with my mum and sister, so this was very frustrating!

1  Thank Carla H
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry you didn't find any dishes suitable, the best thing would be to speak to the team before your visit as our menu changes quite regularly due to local availability.

Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Little bit on the expensive side however foods always hot fresh and tastes amazing cocktails are good and the place is always clean.

Thank Laurenjean1997
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback and we're glad you enjoyed dining with us ! We hope to welcome you again soon

Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

First time to Chinese buffet wigan. We was greated by Jenny and shown to our seats anf had a chat she was lovely . Food was beautiful the trays was being filled up regular so nothing was run down. We asked for more drinks and...More

Thank Nicola W
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback and we're so glad you enjoyed your first visit with us and enjoyed all of the dishes you tried. We hope to welcome you again!

Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

I would like to take a second to share my absolute anger at the Wigan chain of your restaurant's, my mum came to dine there on Sunday 2nd of July, on arrival she told the staff that she had just undergone major gastric surgery and...More

3  Thank Beki E
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Very good selection of food, staff were very helpful. Lovely deserts including ice cream and chocolate fountain. Only downside was some of the meat was a bit dry but I don't think you can avoid this with a buffet.

Thank BarbaraSWigan
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your comments and we're glad you enjoyed dining with us, we will pass your comments back to the team but we do hope you will join us again

Reviewed 24 June 2017

I'm not one to normally leave bad reviews but this place needs it. Il start by saying the waiter we had 'Oreo' was very pleasant and friendly. Good customer service. We went for afternoon lunch and wish we hadn't bothered. We ordered drinks (very expensive...More

2  Thank bear1212
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Hi There, thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience with us in Wigan. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food and our dishes so I'm sorry to hear you didn't experience this during your...More

Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

Been going for years since it's been took over or redone up it's gone sad like the food it's very poor if you want ribs I want meat not just bone as this is the same thing over and over as I said poor food...More

Thank 13thgod
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy dining with us recently, our food quality is a top priority for us and I would like to assure you that we follow strict guidelines set by the FSA however I will...More

Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

Food very poor quality, was very unimpressed, lots of choice but very little gluten free so really struggled with my young daughter, would not go back.More

Thank Suzanne G
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy dining with us, we pride ourselves in the quality of our dishes so we're sorry to hear you didn't experience this during your visit. I will pass your comments back to the...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Fat Olive Wigan
670 reviews
.23 km away
La Sentidos Loca
112 reviews
.34 km away
Casino De Cuba
268 reviews
.30 km away
John Bull Chophouse
54 reviews
.32 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Old Courts
46 reviews
.48 km away
Wigan Little Theatre
85 reviews
.20 km away
Wigan Roller Rink
77 reviews
1.20 km away
Mesnes Park
22 reviews
.68 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
julieManchesterUk
27 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Laurenjean1997 | Reviewed this property |
14.99
0
Votes
Tracey B
31 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from banksja007 | Reviewed this property |
I've never booked a table. They normally fit you in
1
Vote
Shannonjones91
10 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Gaynor R | Property representative |
Hi there we are really child friendly and welcome children of all ages
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 4 - US$ 18
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Parking Available, Buffet
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:30
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:30
Saturday
12:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 63 Standishgate, Wigan WN1 1UP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Wigan
  • Phone Number: +44 1942 820277
Description
The Chinese Buffet is a dynamic and exciting, modern Chinese restaurant. Launched initially as a single restaurant in Bolton the concept has grown in size and stature into an emerging brand with nationwide aspirations. Peter Wu, Paolo Hu and David Hu created The Chinese Buffet with the clear aim of providing a new style of buffet restaurant, high quality food at low cost to customers. They created an eclectic blend of Chinese food using only the finest and freshest ingredients, prepared and presented to the highest of standards. THE Chinese Buffet believes all their customers should receive the care, attention and quality they would expect from the finest of a la carte restaurant. THE Chinese Buffet has exciting and ambitious expansion plans with more than 18 new restaurants planned to open across the North West within the next five years with a national franchise in place by 2016.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing