We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kings Arms Restaurant

18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England
+44 1202 588933
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good25%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“chateaubriand” (10 reviews)
“artisan bread” (8 reviews)
“cheese souffle” (16 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 735 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visiting with family today. Been here a few times and have enjoyed every one. Lovely historic building and fine decor. Views onto the castle andconstable’s house. Staff are lovely,professional and couldn’t be more hospitable and the food is high quality, menu interesting and creative and...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Sonas1
CharlesWilliamson82, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking the time to write the fantastic review regarding your recent dining experience with us. It is wonderful to read how you keep returning to us and enjoy what we do from the food to the service. We look forward to welcoming...More

Reviewed 10 December 2018

The food at the Kings is always very good. As it was a mid week visit the restaurant wasn't very busy.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Diane S
CharlesWilliamson82, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Diane S, Thank you for your review after your latest visit. Its lovely to read you enjoyed the food as always and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Luke

Reviewed 9 December 2018 via mobile

Be careful with the prices. We had two identical rounds of drink over £4 difference in cost.... When we questioned it, the response was 'must of made a mistake' Will not be going back there in a hurry.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Sarah-Jane1266
CharlesWilliamson82, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Sarah-Jane 1266 Thank you for reviewing after your recent visit for drinks. I am most disappointed to read of the issue that you encountered and that this wasn't resolved for you. Please would you provide me with your personal correspondence details so we may...More

Reviewed 4 December 2018

I booked the Christmas Wreath workshop which included lunch before the workshop. I arrived at 12 as requested in the email confirmation. No sign of a single member of staff so I had to resort to asking someone in what looked like the staff room-...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Sixtimesinanaheim
CharlesWilliamson82, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Sixtimesinanaheim I am most disappointed to read the content of your review and the issues that were experienced during your visit. This is by no means the standards of food and service that are the norm. I can see that a member of the...More

Reviewed 2 December 2018

So looking forward to a “Girls Xmas function” last Friday night! All the bling and sparkles, “favourite choice” for our “Venue” “The Kings Arms” Christchurch! Renowned for exceptional good food and service! Renowned for food and service, that also the Christchurch Harbour Hotels serve with...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank linda h
CharlesWilliamson82, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear linda h Thank you for taking the time to post the review having attended one of our Christmas Parties. I am most disappointed to read that this visit to us was not in keeping with your previous ones. Please would you provide me with...More

Reviewed 30 November 2018 via mobile

Food was reasonable for a set menu Surprising, however, because the customer service from some of the female waiting staff was awful We stood waiting to be seated,having booked, and waited. While the staff ignored us we went to the bar and ordered a drink-barman...More

Thank jojoclo
Reviewed 28 November 2018 via mobile

Went here for a celebratory meal, booked for 8:30pm. The food was absolutely wonderful, but sadly the staff didn’t live up to it. They obviously didn’t want us to stay beyond about 9:45 as they wouldn’t clear the table, bring desert menus round (we had...More

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Meat-eater249
CharlesWilliamson82, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2018

It saddens me to read your review regarding your recent meal with us. This is not the service we aim to give at The Kings and I can only apologise at this stage that this was how you were made to feel towards the end...More

Reviewed 23 November 2018

We booked a table on line for two of us midweek and decided to try the Market Menu. We chose this because the sample menu on line looked delicious. The first problem is parking, there is nowhere very close. We arrived at 6.45 as the...More

Thank Barbara1000
Reviewed 18 November 2018 via mobile

Wow wow wow! Amazing roast lunch, served with generous amounts of perfectly cooked roast beef, roast potatoes, giant Yorkshire pudding, kale, cauliflower cheese, roasted carrots, parsnips, gravy and horse radish, two of us had the sticky toffee pudding & two of us had Creme brûlée...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Doozie1964
CharlesWilliamson82, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2018

It is wonderful to read how you enjoyed your recent Sunday Lunch with us. We pride ourselves on our Roast at The Kings with the service to match so appreciate your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back on the next occasion Charles...More

Reviewed 12 November 2018 via mobile

Best service i’ve experienced in years, lovely young waitress called Mia brought our food out- really knew her stuff and could explain everything we needed on the plate- very smiley too! Food was divine and we didn’t have to wait too long for it- will...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank FRichardsBrown
CharlesWilliamson82, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write the amazing review and especially regarding the service you received from Mia. We hope to see you soon, best wishes Charles Williamson

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Christchurch
The Kings Arms
877 reviews
.01 km away
Travelodge Christchurch
492 reviews
.29 km away
Captain's Club Hotel
904 reviews
.65 km away
Premier Inn Christchurch West Hotel
672 reviews
1.09 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Priory Fryer
62 reviews
.14 km away
Splinters
362 reviews
.11 km away
Coast Coffee
270 reviews
.12 km away
Loch & Quay
690 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Christchurch Priory Church
817 reviews
.24 km away
Christchurch Quay
162 reviews
.36 km away
Regent Centre
120 reviews
.17 km away
Red House Museum & Gardens
120 reviews
.23 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
MICHAEL C
28 November 2015|
Answer
Response from incabodc | Reviewed this property |
Leave Bournemouth onA338 Ringwood road at Christchurch turn go left and follow airport sign go past airport straight across traffic lights at next island turn left next island left again 300yards on the left
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 8 - US$ 41
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly Jacks Restaurant at The Kings Hotel)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +44 1202 588933
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at The Kings Arms
Description
Alex Aitken from Le Poussin, Limewood and The Jetty, is now in charge of the food and menus at The Kings Restaurant.The Restaurant serves the very best local and seasonal food – with sophisticated simplicity and a unique and charming English setting, overlooking the Kings Arms Bowling Green and historical castle ruins.The Kings Restaurant is honoured to introduce the new 'Josper Grill', a technique that imparts a distinctive charcoal flavour to all the local and handpicked ingredients placed upon its coals. The delicious menu makes use of the very best local ingredients either caught, grown or prepared close to Christchurch from the New Forest and the waters of the South Coast.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing