We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Piazza Latina

596 Durham Road | Low Fell, Gateshead NE9 6HX, England
+44 191 487 5810
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good11%
  • Average6%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (39 reviews)
“potato skins” (7 reviews)
Open Now
17:30 - 23:00All hours
Italian, Pizza, Mexican, Vegetarian Friendly
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
596 Durham Road | Low Fell, Gateshead NE9 6HX, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2017

If you're going to advertise gluten free pizzas, and sell them through Just Eat, you should at least have them in stock. Ordered twice, and had 2 refunds due to not having any gluten free bases in. Will never attempt to order from them again.More

Thank Adam W
TahsinMadhi1960, Manager at Piazza Latina, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

We understand this was an issue for you and we have answered the negative reviews you have posted elsewhere. We would just like to confirm that we no longer offer gluten free pizza bases and apologise that we didn't have them in when you ordered,...More

Reviewed 26 May 2017

I have frequented the restaurant for 35+ years, so always had an affinity with the place. It has had a few different owners, chefs and names but have stuck with it. Sadly last night will be the last visit and after a few disappointing take...More

Thank Andy C
TahsinMadhi1960, Manager at Piazza Latina, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

We're sorry to hear that you aren't happy with the experience you had at our restaurant but from what was observed by our staff, most of the food that was sent out was eaten with exception to the calzone, however our front of house staff...More

Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

My family and I visited the night before my wedding in November. We entered the restaurant and found the place to be cold with dated decor. We ordered our food which was ok, nothing special. The waitress assigned to our table was annoying and over...More

Thank amhewitt91
TahsinMadhi1960, Manager at Piazza Latina, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

We are sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory experience here, we have kept the decor as original as possible due to requests from our regular customers as we have been part of the low fell community for quite some time. Also...More

Reviewed 20 April 2017

Went to the Piazza Latina for dinner with a friend, we both started with potato skins and then I followed with a Mafiosa pizza while my friend had the sizzling chicken platter. Everything was absolutely lovely (and the chicken coming out sizzling on a hot...More

Thank Jake B
TahsinMadhi1960, Manager at Piazza Latina, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thanks for the review, we're glad you had a good time and enjoyed your meal

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

We fancied a nice pizza and decided to try a takeaway from here. When we got them hone the dough was completely raw. As an Italians I would have expected them to know how to cook a pizza. I won't be going back

Thank vjaney
TahsinMadhi1960, Manager at Piazza Latina, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

We are sorry to hear that you had a problem with our pizza however we can assure you that we would never send out a pizza that we felt was undercooked.

Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

We had a dreadful experience here. We waited quite a while for starters to arrive, and when they did only half came. We then waited a further hour for the mains and the rest of the starters. So we sat down at approximately 6pm, ordered...More

Thank NicWeatherburn
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

I can only recommend avoiding!!! Were seated in the place at 6pm with only one other table taken. After starter and 1.5 hours we asked how long our pizzas would be and were told 5/10 minutes. After 15 minutes checked again and was told they...More

Thank Paul W
TahsinMadhi1960, Front Office Manager at Piazza Latina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

We would like to start off by apologising as we are sorry that you weren't happy with the service you received and we always try to go out of our way to ensure our customers enjoy coming to our restaurant. We do understand that with...More

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Incredible take away food! Very friendly staff as well! I loved the lasagne and the garlic bread was so full of flavour!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Take away pizzas...gorgeous...amazing service.. very friendly..and make pizzas to your liking..can't fault them...order them all the time....amazing

Thank tigersean
Reviewed 27 September 2016

My nephew wanted to take me out for my birthday and booked a table here. When we arrived on time at 7.00pm there was only one other table occupied by a family of two adults and two children. The young guy who greeted us was...More

2  Thank ripley054
Nearby Restaurants
The Imperial Restaurant
286 reviews
.24 km away
67 reviews
.05 km away
216 reviews
.41 km away
Fells Kitchen
109 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Saltwell Park
635 reviews
.96 km away
Battlezone Laser
75 reviews
1.44 km away
Ravensworth Golf Club
20 reviews
1.35 km away
The Little Theatre Gateshead
5 reviews
1.52 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Piazza Latina staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
17:30 - 23:00
17:30 - 23:00
17:30 - 23:00
17:30 - 23:00
17:30 - 23:00
17:30 - 23:00
17:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 596 Durham Road | Low Fell, Gateshead NE9 6HX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Gateshead
  • Phone Number: +44 191 487 5810
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing