We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Frozen Mop

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
Faulkners Lane, Knutsford WA16 7AL, England
+44 1565 873234
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good25%
  • Average14%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (17 reviews)
“rump steak” (7 reviews)
“pies” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Faulkners Lane, Knutsford WA16 7AL, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I came here 6 years ago and it was a beautiful country pub. Everything you’d expect from a beautiful hidden away Cheshire country pub. Sorry but not so anymore. It’s like a 2 for 1 chain, and the charm has gone. It has the potential...More

Thank ian_hammersley
Reviewed 1 week ago

Called in for a late lunch today, too many customers & too few staff but to be fair we were advised at the bar that it could be an hour before we get our food, although not happy at first we decided to be patient....More

1  Thank kitchykitch
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a table for 5 0,clock for 2 people, we arrived at 5 to 5 at 5 25 we still hadn’t had our pre dinner drinks order taken we waited another 5 mins and then left will never eat there again the staff didn’t...More

1  Thank susanturton
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were glad we had booked a table because the restaurant was very busy, with a good atmosphere. We had wanted to have roast beef but there was a 40 minute wait for that, so we ordered pork loin instead. A good choice! We couldn't...More

Thank Edwina P
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I took my elderly parents out for Sunday lunch but I can’t tell you what the food is like as after been sat at the table for over an hour they’ve only managed to serve us two Pate starters. The staff are very pleasant and...More

1  Thank Dave W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Absolutely fantastic - called in on the off chance due to a change of plan. Took my Mum and 2 teenager daughters who said it was the nicest food they'd ever had! Wonderful meal, can't wait to go back. Lovely venue and service too.

1  Thank Jane W
Reviewed 10 December 2017

I'm afraid the title says it all - we waited 30 minutes before we could put in a pre-dinner drinks order, let alone order food. The interval between each course was similar! It's a shame because the food was quite reasonable and plenty of it....More

1  Thank Retsofar
General Manager A, Manager at The Frozen Mop, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Hi Retsofar, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. Let me assure you that we take into consideration all feedback, positive as well as negative...More

Reviewed 4 December 2017

we ate in the bar as the restaurant was fully booked on a Sunday afternoon. Only a couple of the tables in the bar are actually suitable for eating at, the majority being very low with lounge type informal seating. The meals were ok although...More

1  Thank glyn r
General Manager A, Manager at The Frozen Mop, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Glyn R, we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory. Sundays as you said are very busy days here at The Frozen Mop, so therefore slight delays may occur. For...More

Reviewed 24 November 2017

Following a visit a few months ago when we thought it was terrific we called in for lunch again today. I was surprised we were asked for a swipe of the plastic upon ordering so decided to pay upfront (making a tip less likely). The...More

Thank Andy_Knutty
Stuart R, Manager at The Frozen Mop, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Hi Andy, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We do ask for a swipe of the card to set up a tab for anyone in the bar area so this is why you would have been asked at the time....More

Reviewed 21 November 2017

Called in to the Frozen Mop for a business lunch, a very warm welcome and the steak was cooked to perfection. Valentin was very attentive and right on the ball, nothing was to much trouble highly recommended !

Thank Ariel B
Stuart R, Manager at The Frozen Mop, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Hi Ariel, Thank you for the five stars, we look forward to seeing you again soon! Many thanks, The Frozen Mop Team

Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in Knutsford
Moat Hall Motel
4 reviews
2.89 km away
Premier Inn Manchester (Wilmslow) Hotel
415 reviews
4.16 km away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
303 reviews
4.20 km away
Alderley Edge Hotel
409 reviews
4.38 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Bull's Head
346 reviews
1.49 km away
Bird in Hand
25 reviews
.71 km away
The Roebuck Inn
122 reviews
1.47 km away
Nearby Attractions
White Peak Alpaca Farm
18 reviews
1.96 km away
Quarry Bank Mill
1,210 reviews
5.36 km away
The Botanist
105 reviews
4.19 km away
Corks Out
40 reviews
4.21 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jane H
27 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from peterwilly62 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they love dogs
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Faulkners Lane, Knutsford WA16 7AL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Knutsford
  • Phone Number: +44 1565 873234
The Frozen Mop in Mobberley is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing