We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Duke's Head

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Dukes Head Slugs Lane | Somerleyton, Lowestoft NR32 5QR, England
+44 1502 730281
Today
11:30 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 18:00
Mon - Sat 11:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 252: English reviews
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Dukes head is well worth a stop, lovely village setting and has a beautiful beer garden which was perfect for the weather we had while on holiday. The bar stocks a superb range of well kept real ales and has a good wine list too. The resturant looked lovely although we had a table in the bar as we... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannette504216
Fritton A, General Manager at Duke's Head, responded to this review

Hi Jeannette Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, its fantastic to see you had such a great meal with us and enjoyed the food and service. I hope you will be back again very soon. Kind Regards Ewen More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We've eaten here before and it has been great. This time really wasn't. Five of us ate, collectively eating 12 courses of food. Half of those courses were below par. With the mains, the pies were really good, but all the grilled meat was badly over cooked. The rabbit in particular was ruined. Desserts were a disaster. What came out... More 

Helpful?
Thank FTP82
Fritton A, General Manager at Duke's Head, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for us following your visit to the Duke's head. Its disappointing to see you found the grills overcooked and the desserts confused. I will certainly pass on your comments to Sam the head chef, we are currently working on the new menu for June so wil... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Once again me and my wife was not disappointed with our trip to the dukes. We started with the large anti-pasti to share and there was plenty for us two. For our mains we had the swordfish and the Lamb, my wife said her lamb was absolutely delicious and my swordfish was perfect. After debating wether to have a dessert... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank John P
Fritton A, General Manager at Duke's Head, responded to this review

Hi John Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review following your second visit to us. Its fantastic to see you enjoyed the food and experience so much. I will of course pass on your feedback to Matt and the team. I hope we see you back again very soon Kind regards Ewen More 

Chedgrave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

How refreshing to be welcomed in to a pub as you enter. First visit but not our last, the pub is warm and welcoming to all, the service is really good, polite and trying to ensure your visit is without fault. We had Saturday lunch, starters, main and dessert, gutted the pigeon had sold out but I cannot fault the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Croyde33
Fritton A, General Manager at Duke's Head, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review of your visit to the Duke's head. Its fantastic to read that you had such a lovely warm welcome and found the food to be of the highest standard. I will pass on your comments to Matt and his team. I do hope you will... More 

Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here with my friend on Sunday, the pub was very busy, but the waitress still managed to find us a lovely table by the window looking out into the garden. Everything about our visit was enjoyable, we had the picpul wine which is gorgeous! The Roast pork dinner was served pretty quickly, plenty of veg and the best gravy... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank raspberrymellon
Fritton A, General Manager at Duke's Head, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for us, its very pleasing to see that you found your experience to be of the highest quality. I look forward to passing your comments onto the team at the Duke's head. I do hope we will see you back again very soon. Kind Regards Ewen More 

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited twice this establishment and both times the food was wrong or didn't arrive . First time my steak was cremated so I though it can happen , but you charge so much for it so it should be perfect . We went for a special lunch I though I give you second chance , but you spoilt our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gintare1986
Fritton A, General Manager at Duke's Head, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for leaving your feedback for us, please accept my sincere apologies that twice you have been disappointed by your lunch at the Dukes Head. Please could you contact Matt the Manager of the Dukes Head on matt.clarke@somerleyton.co.uk who would like to discuss your experiences with you personally. Kind Regards Ewen More 

1 review
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I have limited mobility so access/egress is difficult. I wouldn't have got in in my wheelchair or my waking frame - the car park is loose shingle and the ramp up to the back door is steep - then there is a deep threshold to cross. The service is slow and unprofessional, the food OK but a little overpriced.

Helpful?
Thank Reuben D
Fritton A, General Manager at Duke's Head, responded to this review

Hi Reuben Thank you for your feedback following your visit to the Duke's Head, I will of course look into your comments regarding the access to the pub. I will also discuss your comments regarding the team members with Kieran the Manager and address this going forwards. Kind Regards Ewen More 

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2017

My husband and I had dinner here last week and were very impressed with both the choice on the menu and the execution of the dishes. We started with beetroot mousse, feta, walnuts, pickled golden beets, blood orange and tarragon dressing + crisp belly pork. Continued with salmon, confit chorizo, crushed potato cake, purple sprouting broccoli and celeriac + risotto... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank christinebeehive
Fritton A, General Manager at Duke's Head, responded to this review

Hi Christine Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback following a visit to the Duke's Head. It's pleasing to read that this was the best meal and experience you have ever had with us, the team will be very pleased to hear your comments. I hope you will be back to see us again in... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

After pulling up the pub which was not busy staff kept passing us by !! until a young lady arrived and was served immediately !! When I asked what was going on I was stared at and ignored. The service was none existent, the attitude was disgraceful , !!!! The food I must admit looked terrible so I think he... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark E
Fritton A, General Manager at Duke's Head, responded to this review

Hi Mark Thank you for your comments following a visit to the Duke's head, please can you contact me directly on ewen@somerleyton.co.uk so I can contact you personally? Kind Regards Ewen More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Whilst out walking last summer, we came across the Duke's Head, called in for a drink and promised ourselves we would go back there for a meal. This we did a couple of weeks ago and we were not disappointed. Staff polite and friendly, service great and food superb! Prices are what you would expect to pay for this cuisine.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rita T
Fritton A, Manager at Duke's Head, responded to this review

Hi Rita Thank you so much for your lovely comments regarding your visit to us last year and a couple of weeks ago, its great to see you had another fantastic experience with us. I hope we will be seeing you again very soon. Kind Regards Ewen More 

Travellers who viewed Duke's Head also viewed

 
Lowestoft, Suffolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Duke's Head? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 63 - US$ 63
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 18:00
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Dukes Head Slugs Lane | Somerleyton, Lowestoft NR32 5QR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Lowestoft
  • Phone Number: +44 1502 730281

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Duke's Head and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Ipswich Suffolk
4 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Duke's Head staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?