We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Oak

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
Christchurch Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0LA, England
+44 1590 718104
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good23%
  • Average9%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“roast meats” (4 reviews)
“lasagne” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Bar, British, Pub, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Christchurch Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0LA, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

I have previously reviewed this pub - a couple of years ago - and it’s improved. The beer was good last time and it was again. It was the food this time that made the difference. Excellent “daily” pie and I tried some of my...More

2  Thank David S
Reviewed 8 December 2017

A wonderful early Christmas dinner, beautifully prepared and presented, such a shame the present landlords are leaving because of Exhorbitant rent. Having taken over a failing pub they have turned it into a destination. Wonderful entertainment from Jamie Adams and his wife....Music and Magic.

Thank clivegil
Debbie M, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Thank you so much, very happy you had a great evening, Have a wonderful Christmas

Reviewed 3 December 2017

Just fancied having a Sunday roast so thought we'd ( The Misses ,The Dog and Me)try The Royal Oak at Downton. I phoned up Sunday at 11.30 to book for 13.00. Unfortunately they could not do 13.00 but offered me 13.30 which worked out Ok....More

Thank parkerjazz
Debbie M, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you so much for your review, I am very Happy you enjoyed your meal here with us.

Reviewed 30 October 2017

We booked a table for 6.30. Staff were pre-occupied when we first arrived, but eventually showed us to our table. Our food did not arrive until 8pm., which is an unacceptably long wait. We were not told that there would be a delay, a well...More

1  Thank BentleyBubble
Debbie M, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback, we truly do appreciate it. It is a very difficult time of year for us, to staff the Royal Oak, as all of the seasonal staff have moved on and taking on additional is not an option as Half term...More

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

The service was friendly and attentive, although very understaffed for an October half term and the food was delicious, well presented and plentiful. One more waiter/waitress would have made it even better as the service was slow due to the lack of staff.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

The reviews for this pub are misleading. Visiting the area for a family trip and decided for the last night we would have dinner out. We booked a table for 7 people at 1830 and we were really looking forward to it after reading the...More

2  Thank lrwoodman
Debbie M, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you for submitting this review. We assure you we do take all of our reviews very seriously. It is how we grow. I have responded to the same review from your family. please see those comments. Thank you both once again we do appreciate...More

Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Had dinner there tonight food was good but service really let it down. We were served by a man who didn’t provide any cutlery (when asked) or other requirements and when challenged was quiet rude.More

1  Thank noaharchylawson
Debbie M, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to send in a review, steps have been taken to retrain our Team Members, we usually pride ourselves on our customer service as you can see from our past reviews. I do assure you all our reviews are taken...More

Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

I love this place. The owners are friendly and helpful. The food is delicious. I recommend the curry night on Thursdays. All the food is home made and cooked to order. The price is reasonable. The portions are huge. They also have a special price...More

Thank Natasha G
Debbie M, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you so much for such a lovely review, we truly appreciate it and are very happy you enjoy coming to visit us.

Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

This is the my second visit. The first time, the service and the food was faultless. Unfortunately tonight we visited as a family and the meal/experience were disappointing. Firstly the service, they were understaffed/disorganised and this meant that simple things were forgotten, like bringing out...More

Thank chrismF2905YA
Debbie M, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for bringing this to my attention, We were a lot busier than we expected, however it does not excuse the service. We usually pride ourselves on our Service and our food, as you know from your first visit. I am happy you enjoyed...More

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Had another lovely meal Saturday night which was our second visit this week. Service is always good and the food is excellent. Always well presented lovely selection of vegetables. Would like to say keep up the good work Carl and Debbie thank you.

Thank Richbrand
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Lymington
South Lawn Hotel
555 reviews
2.24 km away
Premier Inn Lymington (New Forest, Hordle) Hotel
383 reviews
2.36 km away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
1,992 reviews
4.38 km away
Passford House
767 reviews
5.27 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Cedar Tree Restaurant
210 reviews
2.23 km away
La Perle
732 reviews
2.72 km away
The Cave
261 reviews
2.70 km away
The Britannia Thai Restaurant
336 reviews
2.59 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hurst Castle
944 reviews
2.76 km away
Sammy Miller Motorcycle Museum
398 reviews
4.70 km away
Braxton Gardens
135 reviews
2.38 km away
Highcliffe Beach
254 reviews
4.99 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
17 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Debbie M | Property representative |
Hello Sandy yes it is true, we have already exited, there are New Landlords and should be back open 1st week of February. Thank you for your kind words about food, we certainly tried very hard and are devastated to have had... More
1 April 2017|
Response from clivegil | Reviewed this property |
Carl loves a pussy
Monica F
8 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Debbie M | Property representative |
Hello Monica, Thank you for your inquiry. My Menu is displayed on my web site. theroyaloakdownton,co.uk. I hope this helps. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any other questions. Debbie
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$ 6 - US$ 17
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Open Hours
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Christchurch Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0LA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  New Forest  >  Lymington
  • Phone Number: +44 1590 718104
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing