We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mail Rooms

Gloucester Road | HR9 5BS, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5BS, England
+44 1989 760920
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good44%
  • Average14%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“bean chilli” (2 reviews)
“rump steak” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
DETAILS
Gloucester Road | HR9 5BS, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5BS, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We ended up in Ross on Wye as I messed up trying to get to the butterfly farm in Symons yat. I found this place on Google maps. We got seats at the back of the restaurant and our party had different items on the...More

Thank Ian H
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Called in for early evening meal (17:45). Bbq chicken melt for spouse and chicken burger fo me. Free soft drinks with each meal; 2 ginger beers. Airy surroundings and food was good could have been very good if it was hotter. Staff friendly and courteous.

Thank Millboy
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Used the new app to order food and drinks to the table. Ordered three filter coffees but the receipt only showed two (have worked out since charged for three) so my husband went to the bar and bought his filter coffee. Then the drinks arrived...More

Thank princessbewok
MailRooms R, Manager at The Mail Rooms, responded to this review

Hi princessbewok, i'm sorry to here about the problems you've had with our app, i have reviewed this and hopefully this doesn't happen again to you or anyone else for that matter. the app seems to be working correctly now and haven't had any problems...More

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Following on from my poor visit in December i received an invitation to return to the mail rooms with my partner for a complimentary meal to show the service we received was not of usual standard. On returning today I'm pleased to say that the...More

Thank Rachel M
MailRooms R, Manager at The Mail Rooms, responded to this review

Hi Rachel, I'm more than pleased to see that you've enjoyed your visit back with us and gave us a chance to show you what we can do, we are looking forward to hopefully seeing you in the near future. Regards Duty Manager, Chris

Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Where do I start. My husband and I called in here in the way home from lake district holiday. We ordered fish and chips. It was brought out by one of the kitchen workers ..... his uniform was very dirty but I did think maybe...More

Thank babeingwent
MailRooms R, Manager at The Mail Rooms, responded to this review

Hi babeingwent i'm sorry to read that you did not enjoy your experience at the mail rooms. clearly we did not get it right, We do review every bit of feedback on here and use it to help us improve, i will pass this on...More

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Visit on steak night, had a FANTASIC rump steak with a massive salad, steak was very well cooked just to my liking, lovely staff and great value for money. Steak and a drink for under £10

Thank mrsbake1
MailRooms R, Manager at The Mail Rooms, responded to this review

hi mrsbake1 Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your visit to us, i'm really happy to hear that you've enjoyed your visit to our steak club hopefully see you again soon regards duty manager, chris

Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

This is a standard spoons that is no different to any other. You always seem to have to wait ages to get served as they never have enough staff on though. The prices have slowly gone up over the years and it hasn't got the...More

Thank Mark W
MailRooms R, Manager at The Mail Rooms, responded to this review

hi mark, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your visit to us, your feedback is valuable to helping us understand customers views on their visits and I have passed on your feedback to the team, We do review every bit...More

Reviewed 4 April 2017

Just popped in for a spot of lunch and a drink. Excellent value, very clean friendly and helpful staff. It is what it is, a Spoons, but better than some I have visited.

Thank Kelvin E
MailRooms R, Manager at The Mail Rooms, responded to this review

Hi kelvin, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your visit to us, i'm delighted to see you've had a pleasant visit and hope too see you again! regards duty manager, chris

Reviewed 3 April 2017

Very disappointed with the three breakfasts we ordered. Food luke warm, plates cold and no tea as "the water not hot enough yet" Couple of the eggs looked inedible. We asked and got a refund and staff very apologetic but had breakfast elsewhere.More

Thank norman p
MailRooms R, Manager at The Mail Rooms, responded to this review

hi norman p Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your visit to us, your feedback is valuable to helping us understand customers views on their visits and I have passed on your feedback to the team, and i'm sorry we...More

Reviewed 27 March 2017

Visited this pub recently and it was very friendly, pleasant and for it not to be a 'locals local' was a bonus. We didn't eat but the there were a couple ales which were in good condition.More

Thank George B
MailRooms R, Manager at The Mail Rooms, responded to this review

hi George, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your visit to us, your feedback is valuable to us and i'm really happy to see you've enjoyed your visit with us and we hope to see you again in the near...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
No 3 Restaurant
388 reviews
.09 km away
Pots and Pieces
308 reviews
.16 km away
Avellino Italian restaurant
227 reviews
.18 km away
Caffe Eleganza
213 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
In The Footsteps Battlefield Tours
131 reviews
1.21 km away
Wilton Castle
41 reviews
.96 km away
St Mary The Virgin Church
25 reviews
.23 km away
The Thomas Blake Memorial Gardens
8 reviews
.48 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Mail Rooms staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Gloucester Road | HR9 5BS, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5BS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Herefordshire  >  Ross-on-Wye
  • Phone Number: +44 1989 760920