We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Original Pasty House

Bedford House, bedford square | Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 0AE, England
+44 1822 616003
Website
Save
Certificate of Excellence
All photos (60)
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good28%
  • Average16%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“pastries” (96 reviews)
“steak pasty” (8 reviews)
“jacket spuds” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Fast food, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bedford House, bedford square | Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 0AE, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We always visit the Pasty House when we are on holiday with my elderly parents who absolutely love this place. The staff are always very friendly and helpful. Great choice of food from tasty pasties to delicious sandwiches served with a light salad and coleslaw....More

Thank Chris F
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 8 February 2017

A busy town center eatery.A great choice to eat in or take out ,the selection was endless.We found the staff friendly and efficient and the turnout was to a high standard. In fact it is on our list when we visit Tavistock this year.

1  Thank Musicman780
Reviewed 1 week ago

Shared a traditional steak pasty and a leek, chicken and bacon pasty with my husband. The traditional one was OK, edible but wouldn't have another. The other one just seemed to consist of a green gloop though, not pleasant and no sign of any chicken...More

Thank suziepq
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Loved the food here, we had pasty and cream tea, the pasty was so fresh and tasty. Cream tea was also nice! Will definitely visit again when we are back to Tavistock.More

Thank Rob S
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your pasty and your cream team. We look forward to seeing you when you are next in Tavistock. As a small independent business these reviews are very much appreciated, thank you for spending time to send in a review....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Come here often for pasties and jacket potatoes. Usually excellent with great service. Today, we were given jacket potatoes in a bag with the boxes placed on their sides.... went to eat them and the fillings & butter had leaked everywhere and the bag wet...More

Thank Wintersnowdrop
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sorry that you had a disappointing visit today. Unfortunately there was too much butter put onto your jacket potato. We have addressed the problem and hopefully this will not happen again. I am please to hear that you visit us often and usually the service...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Been here a couple of times for lunch. Can highly recommend the egg baguettes come with side salad and crisps. Food is well presented. There is also a takeaway section too so you can either eat in or out. There are a large selection of...More

Thank talbotnicola
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visits. Thank you for spending time to send in a review, it is very much appreciated.

Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Only ever had take away panini's from here, a bit pricey but always good, well filled and hot! Even though they're pricey, I keep going back!

Thank Owain G
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoy our panini's. Regards Janet

Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Very disappointed because the Ham inside the Ham Baguette was warm when I mentioned it seem like I was an alien speaking in a different language.More

Thank Markus P
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Sorry to hear about your disappointing visit and the way your waitress dealt with your complaint. It would appear that the baguettes were still warm from the oven when they made up your baguette. Please accept my apologies, I am sorry that we did not...More

Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

We love the pasty house! Never lets us down with delicious pastys. The restaurant does get very busy though so worth arriving early or later to ensure a table particularly on weekends.

Thank RachelandChris17
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're so glad you enjoy our pasty's. Your review is very much appreciated. Regards Janet

Reviewed 28 May 2017

Whenever I visit Tavistock,I always call in at The original Pasty House for a coffee,sorry only kidding,although the do an excellent range of coffees too.This particular time I pre ordered a dozen pastys to take home.I had chosen 3 different fillings,steak(large) traditional,and veg only .As...More

Thank pamhorse
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you for your lovely review, it is very much appreciated. Hope to see you on your next visit to Tavistock. Regards Janet

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Taylors
749 reviews
.05 km away
Cornish Arms
920 reviews
.15 km away
Robertson's
280 reviews
.09 km away
The Kitchen
56 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tavistock Pannier Market
367 reviews
.08 km away
Tavistock Farmers Market
79 reviews
.07 km away
The Wharf
129 reviews
.28 km away
Stannary Brewing Company
22 reviews
.76 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Original Pasty House staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Takeout, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 17:30
Monday
07:30 - 18:30
Tuesday
07:30 - 18:30
Wednesday
07:30 - 18:30
Thursday
07:30 - 18:30
Friday
07:30 - 18:30
Saturday
07:30 - 18:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bedford House, bedford square | Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 0AE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Dartmoor National Park  >  Tavistock
  • Phone Number: +44 1822 616003
  • E-mail
Description
The Original Pasty House is a cafe & takeaway restaurant in Tavistock Devon, offering friendly eat in table service and fast takeaway. We serve a great selection of traditional West Country pasties, freshly made baguettes & sandwiches, toasted wraps & paninis, homemade cakes and oven baked jacket potatoes as well as fair-trade barista coffee, fruit smoothies and ice cream milkshakes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing