We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Post Office

St Martins Street, Wallingford OX10 0AA, England
+44 1491 836068
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good31%
  • Average19%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“fries” (17 reviews)
“house burger” (7 reviews)
“salad” (26 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
St Martins Street, Wallingford OX10 0AA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We came in after the Remembrance Parade in the Market Place,. Having forgotten to book, we were not very hopeful of finding a table. The staff were extremely helpful, they apologised that there were no tables free and asked if we would mind using the...More

Thank Alec H
Oakman I, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Alec H Thanks for your excellent review. We're delighted we could accommodate for you despite you not having a booking.It sounds as though your meals were enjoyable. Looking forward to your return. The Old Post Office team

Reviewed 5 days ago

Excellent food, very well prepared and presented. Good atmosphere. It was our favorite place on the Thames. Try it, you will like it.

Thank Ben A
Oakman I, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Ben A Thanks for your excellent review. We're delighted we're your favourite place, with excellent food and good atmosphere. We look forward to your return. Kind regards The Old Post Office team

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Each year my wife and I vow never to return, each year they change the menu and tempt us back, and each year we recall why we had originally made our decision. The service here is frankly abysmal. In a near empty restaurant at breakfast...More

Thank stevefburnley
Oakman I, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi stevefburnley Thanks for your review. We're disappointed to hear the service let us down on this occasion and others. We'll be sure to look further into this and take your feedback on board. Kind regards The Old Post Office team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were keen to return to a Cafe/Restaurant which has recently been expanded/renovated. Clearly the venue suits younger people who like a pub-like atmosphere and enjoy easy dining. However, it is unlikely to attract the more mature guests who like colour, style and cleanliness. We...More

1  Thank Malcolm C
Oakman I, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Malcolm C Thanks for your review. We're disappointed to hear you weren't a fan of the decor and found the tables to be dirty. This doesn't sound like our usual high standards as whilst we appreciate we are a pub - we strive to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Despite an eclectic and far-ranging menu, all we had were actually very well done. Nice decor and ambiance, good waiters and more than half-decent cooks; really, well worth a visit.

Thank Milo H
Oakman I, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Milo H Thanks for your review. We appreciate your kind words regarding our menu, decor and service. It sounds like your visit was an enjoyable one. We hope you'll return. The Old Post Office team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Three of us had lunch. We were surprised we had to ask for water and then disappointed that we had to ask 3 times. Maybe there was a shortage of staff. The mains were fine but the desserts were rather expensive and not brilliant. We've...More

Thank 1505Cathy1505
Oakman I, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi 1505Cathy1505 Thanks for your review. We're disappointed the service let you down on this occasion, we'll be sure to look into this as it was likely a staffing shortage rather than lack of training. We hope you'll return soon. The Old Post Office team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The interior is very appealing but the bar man gave me 3 old pound coins in my change and £2.70 for a glass of Diet Coke !!! So didn't stop dinnerMore

Thank nickpC2597KE
Oakman I, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi nickpC2597KE Thanks for your review. Apologies you received old pound coins as change - we hope you mentioned this so it could be rectified. It would've been an honest mistake by our bar team member. We hope you'll return in future. The Old Post...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My sister called at the beginning of the week to book for eight adults and two children and was told they didn’t accept bookings. She told the girl who answered that we’d booked on previous occasions but was told again that they were not taking...More

5  Thank ABPijp81
OISite, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi ABPijp81 Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. After investigating this further, we can only offer our sincerest apologies with regards to being unable to book your table - this is far from how we run the site and we've been...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ate with 2 clients who had pizza and pasta, not rocket science to cook that ok but I ended up with a burnt chicken burger, over toasted bun and a basket of chips. No nice coleslaw or bit of salad. Plate looked awful. Better places...More

Thank Ruth C
OISite, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Ruth C Thanks for your review. We're disappointed to hear your food wasn't to the highest standards we strive to achieve - we can assure you that your burger shouldn't have been burned and as unsatisfactory as it sounds. We hope you'll give us...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A large menu conveniently divided into styles of food covering almost everything imaginable (European) but seemingly light on fish dishes. All well prepared from an open kitchen and presented carefully. Tables are well spaced out and chairs are comfortable for long-stay indulgence. And the place...More

Thank normalguy2016
OISite, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi normalguy2016 Thanks for your review. We're delighted you're a fan of the menu and choices on offer - it's also good to hear you like the open kitchen so you can see your meals prepared fresh. We look forward to your return. The Old...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Avanti
414 reviews
.20 km away
Delhi Brasserie
166 reviews
.14 km away
The Partridge Inn Wine Bar & Restaurant
269 reviews
.24 km away
Thai Corner
111 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wallingford Castle
41 reviews
.36 km away
Cholsey-Wallingford Railway
32 reviews
.82 km away
Wallingford Museum
26 reviews
.30 km away
Corn Exchange Wallingford
5 reviews
.05 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Brandyshandy1
23 September 2016|
Answer
Response from Quietman70 | Reviewed this property |
Possibly. It is a pub though but definitely serves tea and coffee.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 11 - US$ 37
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: St Martins Street, Wallingford OX10 0AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Wallingford
  • Phone Number: +44 1491 836068
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing