We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Post Office

St Martins Street, Wallingford OX10 0AA, England
+44 1491 836068
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good31%
  • Average19%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“fries” (17 reviews)
“house burger” (8 reviews)
“salad” (26 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
St Martins Street, Wallingford OX10 0AA, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

I arrived exhausted from a long flight. The staff helped me get coffee and a quiet table. My eggs arrived quickly and were just yummy. On a later evening, I also enjoyed soup by the fire in the bar. A really warm and cozy spot.

Thank 112ashley
Oakman I, Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi 112ashley, Thank you for the lovely review, we're pleased we could accommodate you and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Old Post Office Team

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped by last Saturday lunchtime and the place was busy. Lovely old building outside with a modern New York loft type look inside. It is very much a pub type atmosphere rather than restaurant. We were seated straight away - friendly waitress took our...More

Thank regulartraveller01
Oakman I, Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi regulartraveller01, Thank you for the lovely review, we're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to you visiting again. Kind Regards, The Old Post Office Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went to this restaurant on a Sunday morning and it was great. The food was tasty (eggs benedict and egg royale). The service was attentive and the order was delivered in a timely manner. I do not agree that this restaurant is just for...More

Thank Flyingnurse090
Oakman I, Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Flyingnurse090, Thank you for the lovely review, we're pleased that you enjoyed your visit and do apologise for the tea cup! Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Old Post Office Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Four of us for dinner, having not been before not sure what to expect. Main course was yummy, cleared plates all round. Puddings were just as good. Will go again soon.

Thank Alexa F
Oakman I, Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Alexa F, Thank you for the lovely review, looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, The Old Post Office Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came in after the Remembrance Parade in the Market Place,. Having forgotten to book, we were not very hopeful of finding a table. The staff were extremely helpful, they apologised that there were no tables free and asked if we would mind using the...More

Thank Alec H
Oakman I, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Alec H Thanks for your excellent review. We're delighted we could accommodate for you despite you not having a booking.It sounds as though your meals were enjoyable. Looking forward to your return. The Old Post Office team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent food, very well prepared and presented. Good atmosphere. It was our favorite place on the Thames. Try it, you will like it.

Thank Ben A
Oakman I, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Ben A Thanks for your excellent review. We're delighted we're your favourite place, with excellent food and good atmosphere. We look forward to your return. Kind regards The Old Post Office team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Each year my wife and I vow never to return, each year they change the menu and tempt us back, and each year we recall why we had originally made our decision. The service here is frankly abysmal. In a near empty restaurant at breakfast...More

Thank stevefburnley
Oakman I, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi stevefburnley Thanks for your review. We're disappointed to hear the service let us down on this occasion and others. We'll be sure to look further into this and take your feedback on board. Kind regards The Old Post Office team

Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

We were keen to return to a Cafe/Restaurant which has recently been expanded/renovated. Clearly the venue suits younger people who like a pub-like atmosphere and enjoy easy dining. However, it is unlikely to attract the more mature guests who like colour, style and cleanliness. We...More

1  Thank Malcolm C
Oakman I, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Malcolm C Thanks for your review. We're disappointed to hear you weren't a fan of the decor and found the tables to be dirty. This doesn't sound like our usual high standards as whilst we appreciate we are a pub - we strive to...More

Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

Despite an eclectic and far-ranging menu, all we had were actually very well done. Nice decor and ambiance, good waiters and more than half-decent cooks; really, well worth a visit.

Thank Milo H
Oakman I, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Milo H Thanks for your review. We appreciate your kind words regarding our menu, decor and service. It sounds like your visit was an enjoyable one. We hope you'll return. The Old Post Office team

Reviewed 1 November 2017

Three of us had lunch. We were surprised we had to ask for water and then disappointed that we had to ask 3 times. Maybe there was a shortage of staff. The mains were fine but the desserts were rather expensive and not brilliant. We've...More

Thank 1505Cathy1505
Oakman I, General Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi 1505Cathy1505 Thanks for your review. We're disappointed the service let you down on this occasion, we'll be sure to look into this as it was likely a staffing shortage rather than lack of training. We hope you'll return soon. The Old Post Office team

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Avanti
417 reviews
.20 km away
Delhi Brasserie
172 reviews
.14 km away
The Partridge Inn Wine Bar & Restaurant
272 reviews
.24 km away
The Dolphin
147 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wallingford Castle
42 reviews
.36 km away
Cholsey-Wallingford Railway
32 reviews
.82 km away
Wallingford Museum
26 reviews
.30 km away
Summers Davis Antiques
6 reviews
.26 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Brandyshandy1
23 September 2016|
Answer
Response from Quietman70 | Reviewed this property |
Possibly. It is a pub though but definitely serves tea and coffee.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 11 - US$ 37
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Business meetings, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: St Martins Street, Wallingford OX10 0AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Wallingford
  • Phone Number: +44 1491 836068
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing