We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lime Tree

24 St. Mary Street | Monmouth, Chepstow NP16 5EU, Wales
+44 1291 620959
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good34%
  • Average11%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (21 reviews)
“burgers” (33 reviews)
“cake” (12 reviews)
Open Now
8:30 AM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
24 St. Mary Street | Monmouth, Chepstow NP16 5EU, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

As locals we have visited this establishment many times. However, we have wowed never to return. I have reviewed before and rated very low. Nothing has changed, toilets are still shocking, drinks are London prices and when my wife questioned the cost of the drinks,...More

3  Thank 778roger
LimeTreeCafeBar, General Manager at Lime Tree, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Roger, Many thanks for you feedback. As my staff member mentioned at the time. Our prices are set by head office. But I will feedback your comments to the pricing team. With regards to your comments about the toilets we regularly check the cleanliness...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

At a glance this is a nice looking place with a good atmosphere, however that's where it ended. The time taken to get the food was excessive and the food was poor on arrival

Thank chrispage24
LimeTreeCafeBar, Manager at Lime Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience with us. We take customer feedback, both good and bad seriously. Please give me an email on limetree@sabrain.com and we can discuss the matter further. Kind regards, The Limetree

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Lovely cafe-bar in central position. Good atmosphere, run by a great young and helpful team. Food and drinks we had were all excellent. The gin and tonics from the decent range of gins were very well made and very good indeed.

Thank Andrew B
LimeTreeCafeBar, General Manager at Lime Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

We are glad that you had a great time. I will give your feedback to the team. I hope we'll see you again soon. Kindest Regards, The Limetree

Reviewed 11 September 2017

We went to the Lime Tree for lunch after a slightly soggy visit to the Castle. The older kids were very happy with their all day breakfasts (excellent value at around £7) and our 4 year old had the pancakes. I had Nachos with pulled...More

Thank VLeeGorton
LimeTreeCafeBar, General Manager at Lime Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

We are glad that you had a great time. I will give your feedback to the team. I hope we'll see you again soon. Kindest Regards, The Limetree

Reviewed 9 September 2017

Good overall spread of tastes on the menu, reasonable prices except a glass of wine will hit you nearly a fiver. Not massive portions, but sufficient for a lunch time. Staff friendly but appeared stressed with too many orders although not even half full. Overall...More

Thank Benjiponting
LimeTreeCafeBar, General Manager at Lime Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

We are glad that you had a great time. I will give your feedback to the team. I hope we'll see you again soon.

Reviewed 8 September 2017

it is a nice bistro typical of brains pubs but it is the top side of brains service was great the menu a little confusing but ok clean but a little dark i love the coffee choice, my food was nice as it was only...More

Thank sarah1066newport
LimeTreeCafeBar, General Manager at Lime Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

We are glad that you had a great time. I will give your feedback to the team. I hope we'll see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

I visited the lime tree this afternoon as I had some time to kill. I decided to order food from the menu. I decided on a posh fish finger sandwich at£7.50. Well what a disappointment. I opted for the side salad option to accompanying. The...More

Thank alli207
LimeTreeCafeBar, Manager at Lime Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience with us. We take customer feedback, both good and bad seriously. Please give me an email on limetree@sabrain.com and we can discuss the matter further. Kind regards, The Lime Tree

Reviewed 28 August 2017

popped in for after dinner drinks , enjoyed wine, desserts and the life music on offer, nice vibes, friendly venue, and enjoyed a fab evening.

Thank Rick L
LimeTreeCafeBar, General Manager at Lime Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

We are glad that you had a great time. I will give your feedback to the team. I hope we'll see you again soon.

Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Ok service. Food was burnt and/or very dry. Don't recommend eating a meal here. Maybe better for tea and cakes?

Thank cmjhl
LimeTreeCafeBar, General Manager at Lime Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience with us. We take customer feedback, both good and bad seriously. Please give me an email on limetree@sabrain.com and we can discuss the matter further.

Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Great beers, price wise it's slightly high but that's what they're going for. There's a weatherspoons opposite if you want a cheaper option. Great menu and good service

Thank mcdandyandy
LimeTreeCafeBar, General Manager at Lime Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

We are glad that you had a great time. I will give your feedback to the team. I hope we'll see you again soon.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Firstclass Cafe
159 reviews
.20 km away
The Three Tuns
30 reviews
.24 km away
Shangri-La Restaurant
264 reviews
.06 km away
Sitar Balti
230 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Chepstow Castle
816 reviews
.21 km away
Chepstow Museum
106 reviews
.29 km away
The Priory and Parish Church of St. Mary
18 reviews
.48 km away
Chepstow Port Wall
5 reviews
.40 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Durannie
29 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from bath123 | Reviewed this property |
No I don't think it does, but there's public car parks near by
1
Vote

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Chepstow

Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
8:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
8:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
8:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
8:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
8:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
8:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
8:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 24 St. Mary Street | Monmouth, Chepstow NP16 5EU, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Monmouthshire  >  Chepstow
  • Phone Number: +44 1291 620959
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing