We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red House

) #14 of 144 Restaurants in Newbury ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ , British,
Marsh Benham, Newbury RG20 8LY, England
+44 1635 582017
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good24%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Marsh Benham, Newbury RG20 8LY, England
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Continue to like coming here. Good beers and good cooking by laurent and team in particular very good skilful homemade puddings. Good staples and i know the sunday lunches tick many boxes. Sensible good reasonably priced wine list

Thank Mark M
Reviewed 1 week ago

great food service very good prices for standard of food great the he pub you never know the well know people dine there

Thank ian-bradshaw1
Laurent L, Owner at The Red House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thanks for your kind review - hope to see you again sometime!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The actual location is idyllic set in rural Berkshire and with a thatched roof! Lovely garden and a nice ambience inside. We went for a family afternoon tea and had a room to ourselves. The food was lovely - in particular the homemade scones, sausage...More

Thank Annette B
Laurent L, Owner at The Red House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your visit and your very kind review. We are proud of our Afternoon Tea so we are very glad you enjoyed it. Please do return and try our a la carte menu!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Not been here for years, and attended a works night out. The service was quite good considering we were a party of 16. When our meals arrived, they were very small portions. Also lacking in any vegetables! The chicken was beautifully cooked and with a...More

1  Thank Claddersmum
Laurent L, Manager at The Red House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We feel it's a little unfair, as the Chicken Ballotine is a very special and popular dish - corn-fed chicken breast, stuffed with chicken mousse, served with sautéed wild mushrooms, port sauce and potato gratin. We do also served roast...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ordinarily, the Red House is an excellent country pub serving above average lunches and dinners. We're regular diners. We thought we'd give one of their promotional curry nights a go. Regrettably their attempts to produce Indian food were below average. The issues were : -...More

Thank tofer50
Laurent L, Owner at The Red House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. The Curry Night is new so we value your feedback and will certainly take it on board. I'm sorry you were disappointed, and hope that you will return so we can restore your faith in The Red House.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having had slow service received over cooked steaks. They were replaced however the offer of vouchers was withdrawn at the till. Shame as it could have been great.More

Thank HoldayHey
Laurent L, Owner at The Red House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi - as discussed via email, we don't feel that your review is an accurate reflection of your experience. You were offered complimentary wine and desserts, and we have discussed privately your interactions with our staff, who were very upset, and I do not propose...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely little gem this place is! After hearing rave reviews from numerous people, we thought we'd give it a try for our rare night out without the kids. Suffice to say, we were not disappointed. The Red House is tucked away in a...More

Thank Ree723
Laurent L, Owner at The Red House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your visit and your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Dropped in for dinner on way to Newbury for a break and really pleasantly surprised by how good the food was. Great selection of well kept real ales and friendly service followed by an excellent meal. My burger was superb and thoroughly recommended whilst the...More

Thank Pete L
Laurent L, Owner at The Red House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

We visited the Red House for Sunday lunch. Ordered roasts and fish&chips. Both the chicken and pork were very good. However, the potatoes and veg were very salty and not to our taste. Fish and chips was average and we found the fish to be...More

Thank JB138
Laurent L, Owner at The Red House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I'm very sorry to hear of your experience. We are currently training new staff so can only assume that the service charge was genuine human error. We would be more than happy to fully refund your service charge - please contact Tim on (01635) 582017...More

Reviewed 14 May 2017

We phoned the Red House to book a table for Bank Holiday Monday 1st May and asked if the Chefs Menu was available for that day. We were informed that it was available but with some potential changes due to stock availability. We booked a...More

1  Thank ASBI54
Laurent L, Owner at The Red House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

I'm very sorry to hear of your disappointment. On a bank holiday we continue the Sunday menu, which is usually based on the a la carte menu (not the Chef's Menu), subject to availability of ingredients. There are usually a couple of additional dishes, plus...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Dundas Arms
335 reviews
4.14 km away
The Woodspeen
901 reviews
2.66 km away
The Vineyard at Stockcross
521 reviews
1.74 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kennet Horse Boat Company
63 reviews
3.92 km away
Donnington Castle
250 reviews
3.79 km away
Kennet & Avon Canal
237 reviews
3.40 km away
Corn Exchange
28 reviews
4.50 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
steffi_bean2212
Has anyone recently visited for afternoon tea? Was it good?
27 May 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Joan D | Reviewed this property |
Visited The Red House, Marsh Benham, In March 2017 for afternoon tea. Excellent tea and lovely location.
0
Votes
KazzieJ
I am trying to write a lovely review on Trip Advisor but it is insisting I open up an APP, which I cannot do on my phone at the mo..... help? Wish to get my review onto TA asap, how else can I go about it? Thank you, Karen
13 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Daniel D | Reviewed this property |
Hi. Go onto the site on browser and then it will submit. The app is good but it will be easier to upload to the site from a browser
0
Votes
Mandy200447
Have you a double room available for 1st nov for 2 nights. We have a well behaved Labrador with us! How much are your rooms? Mandy Morton
29 August 2015|
Answer
Response from laurentlebeau7 | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry, however we do not have rooms here at The Red House, might I suggest The Hare and Hound which is 5 minutes from us. We are a pub/restaurant renown for our exceptional quality of food and... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 8 - US$ 44
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Marsh Benham, Newbury RG20 8LY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Newbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1635 582017
  • E-mail
Description
The Red House is a traditional thatched pub set in the beautiful West Berkshire countryside. We pride ourselves on offering Great British Food, complemented by a well-stocked bar full of local beers and and a hand-picked wine list. Chef Patron Laurent has been cooking for over 25 years in brasseries, bars and Michelin-starred restaurants.

The pub has a lovely snug bar, a charming restaurant and a beautiful private dining room overlooking the marshes. In the summer our sunny patio and meadow garden provide a perfect opportunity for al-fresco dining or afternoon tea. We look forward to welcoming you to The Red House for a drink, a meal or one of our special events.

We open at midday and serve food all day, every day of the year.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing