We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waterfront Cafe

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
39 Sandside, Scarborough YO11 1PG, England
07800720832
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 160: English reviews
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We visited a couple of times during a two day visit to Scarborough. Very welcoming and friendly staff. Drinks for adults and children were good and reasonably priced for the location. Toilets were clean. A really good find and on our list for our next visit.

Helpful?
Thank swoot_uk
joshuaclark859, Owner at The Waterfront Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Swoot_uk Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your time with us, we are really grateful for your review we hope to see you again in the future! Josh and Jenna More 

Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came in yesterday after a nice walk down the beach. The cafe looked really nice so we thought we will go and check it out. The staff was really polite and the coffees were amazing. Ordered a full breakfast which was really nice and a tea cake which was lovely. Would definitely recommend this place and am definitely coming back... More 

Helpful?
Thank macy223
joshuaclark859, Owner at The Waterfront Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Macy223 Thank your for your review your kind words mean a lot to myself and josh and this is our first year in business. We hope to see you again. Jenna & Josh More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went in with a friend for breakfast followed by a yummy teacake (that i'm sure was home made) and coffee. Breakfast was cooked perfectly, i got my bacon well done and my egg yolky like i requested - the lady that took our order who i'm sure was the manager was very polite and attentive and couldn't be more accommodating.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura F
joshuaclark859, Owner at The Waterfront Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Laura Thank you for your review we are really grateful for your fee back and hope to see you again soon. Jenna Burrows More 

Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
318 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fairly standard seafront cafe. It was just about warm enough to sit outside. Cash only tili and no churros left which disappointed my draughtier. Service friendly, coffee Ok just joshing special.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
joshuaclark859, Owner at The Waterfront Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Gary Thank you for your review, reading your review though we are not sure if this is based on the Waterfront Cafe Sandside, This is because we do except card payments. And we do not sell churros. Thank you again. Kind regards Jenna Burrows More 

Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Don't get ripped off here go elsewhere not a patch on what it used to be give it a miss.Tea cakes were awful .

Helpful?
Thank patcarolan21
joshuaclark859, Owner at The Waterfront Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Patcarolan Sorry you didn't enjoy your teacake. Maybe next time come and see. us if you didn't enjoy your snack with us. Kind regards Jenna More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Firstly I think they were a bit cheeky - advertising everywhere (including on the broken cash machine next door!!) that they take card payments but this is not free. I can understand if it's under a certain amount but it's not and you're charged 50p whatever you spend. I had bacon sandwich which was nice, and I asked for it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katie B
joshuaclark859, Owner at The Waterfront Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Katie B. Thank you for your review and taking the time out to review my cafe. We are really glad you enjoyed our breakfast with us. Regarding the sign we have put on the broken machine outside ( that has been turned off for around 6 months now) we have put the sign up to help people see that... More 

Holmfirth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Incredibly rude staff and terrible customer service. Not a nice place at all. Do not bother visiting here.

Helpful?
Thank JNMabbett
joshuaclark859, Owner at The Waterfront Cafe, responded to this review

Dear JNMabbett. Regarding your review, you came into my cafe used the toilet then left without buying anything, I simple told you the toilets are for paying customers only. If you feel I was been rude then I probably was because I am not a public toilet. Regards Jenna Burrows More 

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well well well, where do I start? Me and my friends visited here one morning for a breakfast and a coffee, I ordered 2 breakfasts with scrambled egg instead of fried eggs and 2 lattes, which came to £20.. expensive in my eyes. We sat and waited and when the food arrived the orders were wrong, only 1x came with... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank Lola290
joshuaclark859, Owner at The Waterfront Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Lola290. Firstly I am really sorry it have taken so long to reply back to you have been away on holiday. I have invested what happened on the day you came in, my staffs version of events are slightly different with regarding the order. They believe you came in 3 of you 2 different orders: 1 of which was... More 

moggy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really enjoyed our coffee's from the locally roastery, bay town coffee! The ham sandwich was tasty too, nice thick ham and plenty of piccalilli. It's nicely decorated too which makes a change from the usual greasy spoon cafes in Scarborough

Helpful?
Thank moggy17
joshuaclark859, Owner at The Waterfront Cafe, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your time with us hopefully see you again soon. Kind regards Jenna More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We come many times a year to Scarborough and always found this cafe the nicest ...however today we was sorely disappointed!! We ordered two teas, bacon egg and sausage sandwich and toast and jam. Took 10 minutes for tea to come out and a further 15 minutes for food. No egg on sandwich had to be sent back and bread... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholla G
joshuaclark859, Owner at The Waterfront Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Nicholla G I do remember you coming in that day & bringing your sandwich back, I did indeed forget to put a egg on your sandwich I do apologise, I hope it wasn't to much trouble. We are sorry you had to wait a long time, my girls must of forgot to mention that there would be a slight... More 

Travellers who viewed The Waterfront Cafe also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Waterfront Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, British
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 39 Sandside, Scarborough YO11 1PG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Scarborough District  >  Scarborough
  • Phone Number: 07800720832
Description
We have brought a bit of city to the seaside, we sell our own brand coffee specially made for us from the heavenly coffee company. We do a selection of Hot drinks/Yorkshire tea Tea pigs/ Hot chocolate with all the works. Homemade cakes classic scones served with homemade jam and clotted cream. We have menus on tables and on the walls/children menu's and the seaside classic's Whitby Scampi and fries. Sandwiches Grilled Sandwiches Snack treat fries/olives Homemade soup everyday Locally sourced Trotters Farm burgers Beef burger Locally sourced chicken fillet burgers Freshly made salads Veg options cold drinks selections including Fentimans

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Waterfront Cafe and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Waterfront Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?