We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bothy

43 Bridge Street, Ballater AB35 5QD, Scotland
+44 1339 755191
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good33%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lunch” (76 reviews)
“cakes” (95 reviews)
“soup” (40 reviews)
Open Now
09:00 - 17:00All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Soups, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
43 Bridge Street, Ballater AB35 5QD, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 366 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Went in for snack, panini and toasted sandwich which were very tasty, served with salad and crisps. When the assistant realised each couple was sharing, she brought us extra plates to use with some salad and crisps at no extra charge. Both the tea and...More

Thank carele
Reviewed 4 days ago

The place was busy, always a good sign, and the cherry scones were nice and nobly, served with clotted cream and jam - nice. The cherries were genuine as mine had a stone in it to prove it - it wasn't an issue. As I...More

Thank MoreTea2Vicar
Braemarbothy, Manager at The Bothy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent visit. We are very busy at present as it is our peak season and I do understand that having to wait sometimes is annoying. Our staff do work very hard and always try...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Based on other reviews we stopped here as a group of 5, with a mixture of vegetarians, vegans and omnivores. The scones were excellent but the sandwiches and panini were pretty ordinary and the options disappointing, without much "local" style or food on offer. Service...More

Thank Chris V
Braemarbothy, Manager at The Bothy, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review and recognising the excellent customer service that we offer. However, we are disappointed that you have stated in your review that our food is "ordinary" or without "local style". You will see from the majority...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Popped in for coffee in the pouring rain. Lovely service and the decor is really lovely.,Would happily return.

Thank AngelaBrown398
Braemarbothy, Manager at The Bothy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thanks for providing a review of your recent visit. We are pleased that you found our coffee shop to be warm and welcoming, especially when our Scottish weather is an issue! We'll look forward to welcoming you back to The Bothy.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Been few times and very consistent. Soups great. Coffee and Fine cakes. Please don't ask for more words. We only go for soup and snacks

Thank Bob S
Braemarbothy, Manager at The Bothy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We're delighted to hear that you are regular customers and that the service and food provided has been consistently up to standard. We'll look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely scones, stopped by after riverside walk. Lovely friendly staff. Would visit again for the scones

Thank Samina A
Braemarbothy, Manager at The Bothy, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for giving feedback for your recent visit. As you will see from previous reviews, our homebaked scones are always very popular, so I am glad they didn't disappoint! We'll look forward to welcoming you back to the Bothy.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Popped in here for lunch (first time) with my daughter and grandson after visiting the Ballater Games yesterday. The food was excellent. Really well filled sandwiches and quick service. Very reasonable prices too. They had high chairs for the little ones as well.More

Thank Steve130558
Braemarbothy, Manager at The Bothy, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to give a review of your visit to The Bothy. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food and service provided. All of our food is freshly prepared and cooked on the premises, so it is always good to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lovely cup of tea and scones. Service was good and the place was very clean. Nice atmosphere

Thank Karen B
Braemarbothy, Manager at The Bothy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for providing feedback for your visit As you would see from many of our reviews, our freshly baked scones are very popular. I'm glad that you enjoyed them along with the service provided by our cheery staff.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited a few times during our holiday and never disappointed ! Homemade cakes, shortbread and scones each day, plus we tried a homemade sausage roll :) good breakfast options as well as lunch and afternoon tea stop options.

Thank juliesneds
Braemarbothy, Manager at The Bothy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for giving us feedback on your visits while here on holiday in Ballater. We are delighted that you enjoyed our homemade food, bakes and cakes. Hopefully we'll be able to welcome you back in the future.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Today I stopped of at the Bothy for some light refreshments. The lady who served me was very nice and welcoming. The scone was great and the jam and cream was very tasty! I was able to sit in peace and enjoy my coffee and...More

Thank Baz1424
Braemarbothy, Manager at The Bothy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for letting us know about your recent visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed our homemade scones - they are very popular! Our staff are a happy bunch and will look forward to welcoming you back to the Bothy.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Lochnagar Indian Brasserie
523 reviews
.09 km away
Rothesay Rooms
106 reviews
.06 km away
India on the Green Restaurant
362 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
Ballater Golf Club
75 reviews
.29 km away
Old Royal Station
109 reviews
.25 km away
Ballater VisitScotland iCentre
23 reviews
.06 km away
St Kentigern’s Church
5 reviews
.26 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Bothy staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 17:00
Monday
09:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 17:00
Thursday
09:00 - 17:00
Friday
09:00 - 17:00
Saturday
09:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 43 Bridge Street, Ballater AB35 5QD, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Aberdeenshire  >  Ballater
  • Phone Number: +44 1339 755191
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing