We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Updated 10/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 10/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$ 14 - US$ 27
CUISINES
Thai, Asian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveller rating
235
21
13
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
235
21
13
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai food green curry tofu sticky rice mixed seafood tiger prawns duck set menu amazing food very generous portions top quality food friendly service lovely meal main course recommend this restaurant booked a table saturday evening
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago

Ordered a takeaway , prompt service and pleasant waiting staff Wasn’t overly impressed with the take out - curry’s both tasteless and bulked up with many vegetables, both curry lacked flavour Starter was poor quality and disappointing Very expensive for what was received (2 curries...a rice and stater £35 ) wouldn’t return or recommend sadlyMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

The worst customer service I’ve ever experienced, waited 2 hours for starter. Not busy in here for there to be a reason behind it. Rude staff. Impatient and terrible manners. Would not come here again although food was outstanding. Rude staff put you off the...food. Don’t work in service if you hate peopleMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Toni R, Owner at Tana Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Rosek279, we regret to hear that you are displeased with your recent experience with us. Thank you for leaving feedback however we don’t recall customers waiting for 2 hours for starter and no one has complained as I would have gone to talk to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great Thai restaurant, one of the best! Sensible prices, incredible food and efficient unobtrusive service. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here for dinner. We were greeted warmly and shown to our table by friendly staff. We chose our meal and our drinks came promptly. We had the classic starter to share. It came well presented however it was lacking somewhat in flavour. The prawn...crackers , which used to come served warm and were pale in colour, were so obviously out of a packet this time. The spring rolls lacked their filling , they were almost empty on the inside. Somewhat disappointed we awaited our main courses. We had a chicken dish and a beef dish with rice. These came presented on cold plates and our plates with the rice already on them were also cold. The chicken dish was nondescript - it was bland with no flavour whatsoever. The beef dish was slightly better in flavour but was still lacking in authentic Thai seasoning. This restaurant used to be so amazing with its home made food and the flavours were delicious, hence our return visit. This time it was disappointing and it felt like corners had been cut from the previously high standards. I’m afraid I cannot in my opinion say I would recommend it and I don’t think we shall return.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 22 July 2021 via mobile

Great tasting freshly made food. Really flavoursome and polite, friendly service in a relaxed environment. I had the crispy sea bass for main and it was gorgeous, would highly recommend.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 13 July 2021

We had a fabulous meal at the Tana Thai. The crispy bass fillet in a creamy coconut sauce was amazing! Great service too! Comfortable surroundings.

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 27 June 2021

Found tana Thai on the gourmet society website. I never knew such amazing food was available in Bedford. The restaurant is unassuming and relaxed, the staff were polite and left you alone to enjoy the food without ignoring you. The food was stunning, fresh, hot,...well presented and the flavours were so clean and balanced. We’ve eaten in some very good restaurants over the years but this is at the top, surpasses the IVY and the oriental restaurant in Harrods could learn some lessons from tana Thai. Number one on our list of favourites nowMore

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Toni R, Owner at Tana Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2021

Thanks a lot for your kind review. Much appreciated by all of us at Tana Thai 🙏

Reviewed 15 May 2021 via mobile

Wow! You guys can cook! Super delicious food. Loved the Tom Yam, Satay and the Gaeng Phed Ped Yang and the spring rolls were not greasy like they sometimes come. Great and easy app too. Hope to dine in with you soon! I can really...recommend you!More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Toni R, Owner at Tana Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2021

Thanks a lot for your review. We are very happy you enjoyed the food. Looking forward to seeing you 🙏

Reviewed 19 March 2021 via mobile

Just had a takeaway as we can’t visit at the moment. 1st time we’ve had Tana Thai as a takeaway and it was gorgeous. It was delivered by just eat who were 5 mins early. (Downloaded app but can’t get delivery as too far away)...Couldn’t fault this meal best one for a long time. Thank you 🙏More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Toni R, Owner at Tana Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2021

Thanks a lot for your review. Looking forward to serve you again 🙏

Reviewed 15 March 2021

Having tried another Thai food restaurant at Bedford where the food can only be described as Bland, We saw this place in passing. so we gave it a go the food can only be described as Delicious spicy with all the ingredients expected from a...Thai food restaurant. Been back since also excellent. may i add we had take away food due to covid.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?2  
Toni R, Owner at Tana Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2021

Thanks a lot for your review. Looking forward to serve you again 🙏

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Mercure Bedford Centre Hotel
49 reviews
.20 km away
Premier Inn Bedford Town Centre Riverside Hotel
368 reviews
.26 km away
Bedford Swan Hotel
24 reviews
.30 km away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
199 reviews
.46 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Miller and Carter
602 reviews
.29 km away
Blue Monk
144 reviews
.33 km away
Nazar Turkish Restaurant
667 reviews
.33 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Higgins Bedford
188 reviews
.44 km away
Saint Paul's Church
52 reviews
.31 km away
Bedford’s Charter Market
19 reviews
.36 km away
Bedford Bridge
15 reviews
.22 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
sahar_bandei
3 June 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from TanaThai | Property representative |
Duck and chicken is halal. Thanks
1
Vote
JenJ64
2 April 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from TanaThai | Property representative |
Yes, there is a council car park attached to the restaurant. Drive to the first barrier and then call the restaurant and someone will come and lift the barrier for you
0
Votes
TimSharrock
6 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from TanaThai | Property representative |
The review from Paul it is definitely for a different location. We have reported to TripAdvisor last Friday but they haven’t removed yet. Tana is very passionate about her food, using only the best ingredients. She puts her... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tana Thai

Yes, Tana Thai offers takeaway services.

Yes, Tana Thai is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Tana Thai is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5