We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plough Inn Wreay

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
Wreay, Carlisle CA4 0RL, England
+44 16974 75770
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent82%
  • Very good12%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“fajitas” (13 reviews)
“steak burger” (7 reviews)
“duck” (18 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Wreay, Carlisle CA4 0RL, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 557 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Myself and my partner have been here several times and each time couldn't be faulted...the food is delicious plenty of it too. The staff are lovely and so welcoming. Would recommend this place to anyone. I usually have the fajitas and my partner has recently...More

Thank 456teresa58
Jane K, Owner at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review and comments made. It is pleasing to see customers who acknowledge the hard work that goes into our business with the number one aim of customers having a very positive experience all round so thank you.

Reviewed 4 days ago

Sadly we were disappointed with our light lunch at The Plough. Having visited the exquisite St. Marys church in Wreay we stopped into the Plough hoping for some Cumbrian hospitability and warm welcome. We imagine that many tourists possibly follow a similar trail as seemingly...More

3  Thank mickmusique
Jane K, Owner at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit and the comments made. Firstly on a Sunday lunch we offer light bites as a standard and many people order sandwiches so this is not a problem. The bacon and Brie sandwich is £6.95 per...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On route to our friends Hen Party for Spa treatments and afternoon tea my daughter and I decided to call here for lunch. I had passed this pub on several occasions and thought how nice it would be to call in. On entering the premises...More

Thank Helen R
Jane K, Owner at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for the lovely review and lovely comments too. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we hope you enjoyed your afternoon tea and hope to see you again very soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited the plough when visiting family in Carlisle. Food came quickly, waitress was very friendly. The food was delicious, big portions but enough space left for a pudding! Lovely environment and good music played to top it off! It was very quiet and we didn’t...More

1  Thank Spansishwef
Jane K, Owner at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank You for taking the time to review your visit. As a small family business we love to hear visitor reviews and am so pleased you enjoyed your visit. We hope you will visit again if in the area.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wife and I visited here for a meal, great food, quick service and portion sizes were very good. Weren't drinking but bar seemed well stocked and had local ales, will definitely be returning.

Thank leadyb
Jane K, Manager at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit to The Plough Inn and we are so pleased you enjoyed your food. We look forward to your return

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely food in a warm and friendly pub. Service was first class and we will definitely return - well worth booking as it was busy when we went for lunch.More

1  Thank johnbS715KC
Jane K, Owner at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank You for taking the time to review your visit John, this is very much appreciated. We are aware that people have to drive to us as a destination pub so don’t like to disappoint and turn away if full or busy so it’s always...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

On entering the Inn we received a warm welcome from Jane then shown to our personalised table for the afternoon. A lovely touch of homemade biscuits in a pretty favours bag with a ribbon on each place setting with a cracker. The lunch was served...More

Thank M6FAB
Jane K, Owner at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the fabulous review. Christmas Day is very hard work with months of planning so it’s lively to get feedback from somebody who came this year. We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience and thank you for acknowledging the little gifts and...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Alex & Jane did a fantastic job of hosting a full days shoot hospitality for our local syndicate in November. Starting the day with fresh coffee and delicious bacon sandwiches and even providing a very nice bottle of port for the morning toast. Once we...More

Thank Adam L
Jane K, Manager at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank You for reviewing your corporate food event held at The Plough. We currently offer functions at The Plough and are now offering corporate bookings too. The monthly shoot event offering early morning breakfast and port together with a three course meal was thoroughly enjoyable...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Popped in here for a late lunch on the way back from shopping. It is a nice county pub set in a lovely little village. We were warmly welcomed by a very friendly gentleman who i presume is the owner. We sat down and were...More

Thank whatnamecaniuse
Jane K, Manager at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Lovely comments and lovely review. Many thanks for your kind words and we hope to see you back again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I took my 98 year-old grandmother to lunch. Staff were accommodating and helpful. They opened the back door for her to come in and were helpful with menu suggestions. The food was very good with my discerning gran liking the fish and chips and me...More

Thank Sophdock
Jane K, Manager at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your visit to the Plough. We are so pleased your grandmother enjoyed her meal and yes the Strawberry and Cream home made cheesecake has been a particular favourite this week. Hope to see you...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 hotels in Carlisle
Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel
915 reviews
3.03 km away
Travelodge Carlisle M6
234 reviews
3.79 km away
Pinegrove Hotel
75 reviews
5.74 km away
The Milton Hilltop Hotel
194 reviews
6.29 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant
216 reviews
6.09 km away
The Hound Inn
31 reviews
5.08 km away
Fantails Restaurant
405 reviews
6.34 km away
Nearby Attractions
St Mary's Church
5 reviews
.06 km away
High Head Sculpture Valley
13 reviews
5.39 km away
Walton's Bar
47 reviews
6.49 km away
Five Senses Hideaway
7 reviews
6.82 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Raymond B
15 December 2017|
Answer
Response from Jane K | Property representative |
Hi We have a children's menu available on our website and our Facebook page. All our food is freshly cooked to order and made from locally sourced products at all times. Hope this helps.
1
Vote
scarletflt
1 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jane K | Property representative |
Hi We are approximately 4 miles off junc 42 of M6
0
Votes
SabineHolgado
29 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Jane K | Property representative |
Hi Unfortunately trip advisor does not offer facility to offer food versus opening times. Monday we only open for charity quiz 7-11pm Tuesday's we are closed Wednesday - Sunday 12-3pm(2.30pm last food order) 5.30pm - 9pm... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 6 - US$ 23
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Wreay, Carlisle CA4 0RL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Carlisle
  • Phone Number: +44 16974 75770
  • E-mail
Description
The Plough Inn was tastefully refurbished with handmade brickwork and granite slabs, under floor heating adding to the warm, relaxing and welcoming atmosphere in 2005. The bar has been built using hand-made bricks rescued from an old Cumbrian mill race, decorating its front is an old ploughshare, the rural connection continued with a part of the edging to the bar coming from a combine harvester. The Plough has a well-deserved, excellent reputation for it's food which is locally sourced, wherever possible. Meals are served between 12 and 3pm, Wednesday to Sunday and between 5.30 - 9pm Tuesday to Sunday from March - November, The Plough opens on a Monday evening from 7pm for a fun quiz night which starts at 8.15pm. It is a £1 to enter and teams can have up to 6 players per team. A bottle of wine is raffled on the evening with the proceed going to the winners charity of choice. Free home made chips are given to all that attend on the evening. Tuesday evenings during March - November offer a small limited menu followed by a weekly acoustic music evening where musicians can come and play with other like minded folk or can just come to sit and listen and enjoy the music. A fun night is guaranteed for all who attend with a selection of real ales available from Corby & Hawkshead Brewery. It has been LocAle accredited by the Solway branch for it's local real ales and we are in the We hope to be in the 2016 edition of The Good Beer guide and have won CAMRA Winter Pub of the Season December 2015 and have just been nominated for CAMRA Pub of the Year 2016 so fingers crossed. We have been nominated 2014 and 2015 as Best Country Pub in the Carlisle Living Magazine awards and as a small family business are thrilled with the achievements so far since we took over the pub in May 2014. We have a real wood burning stove lit on a cool evening to add to the lovely ambiance of this Country Inn. We often have live music acts who come to entertain customers at The Plough Inn. The dates for these can be found both on the website and on The Plough Inn Facebook page. We can cater for up to 65 covers, weddings, funerals, birthday parties, special events, business/corporate lunches/meetings and training days. Afternoon teas are available on request, but must be booked. PLEASE NOTE - ALL OUR FOOD IS COOKED FRESH TO ORDER SO YOU WILL HAVE A WAIT WHILST YOUR FOOD IS COOKED. WE CATER FOR PEOPLE WITH VARIOUS ALLERGENS, PLEASE DISCUSS THIS WITH YOUR WAITRESS ON ARRIVAL
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing