We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Barley Mow

) #1 of 176 Restaurants in Skegness ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ Bar, British, Pub
Sea Lane | Friskney, Skegness PE22 8SD, England
+44 1754 820883
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good13%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
DETAILS
Sea Lane | Friskney, Skegness PE22 8SD, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

Sunday lunch was a bit expensive for what we had which was belly pork also others had either beef or chicken

Thank Skeggyviv
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We've come away this weekend and in our 'places near here' booklet they provided us, this was top of the list. The place is beautiful! Staff amazingly friendly and the food was the best food we have had in a long time!! Amazing portion sizes,...More

1  Thank Andrew C
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were made to feel extremely welcome when we arrived, and looked at the menu before sitting at the table. It was nice and relaxed. The size of the starters was really good and extremely tasty. With regards to the mains, again the portion size...More

1  Thank 1234ss
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked here for Sunday lunch after reading TripAdvisor reviews and I must say I'm so glad we did. This was the best Sunday lunch we have ever eaten out, it was divine!!!! And the rhubarb crumble was pure perfection 💝 It's a lovely old...More

Thank BevBarnsley
BarleyMowSkegness, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your lovely review, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your Sunday lunch, I have to agree with you, rhubarb crumble after a roast is the best, we make all our puddings on site, our biggest seller is Treacle Sponge! We look forward...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I cannot believe that this place exists in Lincolnshire it should be in London just amazing. Ribeye steak was melt in the mouth and to die for. Thank you for making our evening memorable. Ian and Orla LondonMore

Thank ianharman2017
BarleyMowSkegness, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your lovely review, I'm pleased you liked our pub, we certainly have cheaper prices than London! The rib-eye steak is very popular a recent addition to our menu! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to lovely Lincolnshire...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having been on numerous occasions over the last several years I was really disappointed with both the service & noticed a change in the quality of produce also. I think it may be under new ownership or different management since my last visit. The order...More

Thank MHR17
BarleyMowSkegness, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your review, I was most alarmed when I read it, great food and service is what we are all about and if you received the level of service you stated I can't apologise enough! Mistakes do happen here and we try...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited Saturday lunchtime.Ordered Tai Curry.It was very bland tasteless.Complained to the waitress.was offered alternative meal.However when that eventually arrived it was lukewarm.This may be due to the lack of staff.I felt a second complaint would be pointless, we left very disappointed.More

Thank Paul O
BarleyMowSkegness, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your review, I'm sorry you didn't like our Thai Curry, what a shame, we make it fresh to order, its such a popular dish, meals are a very subjective thing, and what one person likes another will not! I'm pleased we...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went last month for a birthday meal food was very very good loved the pimms with all the fruits will be returning very good value for money

1  Thank calagran145
BarleyMowSkegness, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your lovely review, Pimms season is upon us, I'm just updating my range of soft drinks and introducing some new alcoholic lines too, so look out on your next visit kind Regards Jayne

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We called in because of the reviews on Tripadviser and were over the moon. We didn't book so it was potluck we managed to get in.The place was busy and the staff were amazing. They sat us down to look at the menu while we...More

1  Thank Diane S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First time visit, which will not be our last. It is difficult to add anything more to all of the very positive reviews to date. We visited for Sunday lunch. The first thing to note is the fact food is Sunday lunch was served from...More

1  Thank payntes1965
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Suttons Traditional Fish and Chips
30 reviews
4.12 km away
The Old Chequers
108 reviews
6.15 km away
Bricklayers Arms
91 reviews
7.90 km away
Nearby Attractions
Batemans Brewery
141 reviews
3.71 km away
Lincolnshire Wildlife Park
672 reviews
4.34 km away
George Bateman and Son
13 reviews
3.71 km away
Gibraltar Point National Nature Reserve
482 reviews
7.98 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
j0hnp0ppy
do you serve gluten free food
1 May 2017|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from BarleyMowSkegness | Property representative |
Hello, Thank you for you're enquiry, we do indeed cater for Gluten free diets, as most dishes are prepared on sight, we can adapt to suit GF diets, alot of sauces are reduced or thickened with arrowroot or butter and cream... More
0
Votes
Claire D
hi do you have a website or Facebook page with menus and price list please x
27 December 2016|
Answer
Response from BarleyMowSkegness | Property representative |
Hi Claire We have a FB page, sample menus are on it. Website going live in January 2017. We are closed today, 27th, will reopen 28th at lunch, if you need any further help, please contact us after 1030am. Thank you
0
Votes
Kicamacl
Hi do you allow dogs in ?
3 September 2016|
Answer
Response from BarleyMowSkegness | Property representative |
Hello, sorry, we don't allow dogs in the pub, however, we do have a garden area you are welcome to use ( weather permitting of course!)
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 13 - US$ 39
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
17:30 - 20:30
Wednesday
17:30 - 20:30
Thursday
17:30 - 20:30
Friday
17:30 - 21:00
Saturday
17:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Sea Lane | Friskney, Skegness PE22 8SD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Skegness
  • Phone Number: +44 1754 820883
  • E-mail
Description
We are a country pub, located 14 miles from Boston, 8 miles from Skegness, we boast a large car park, beautiful garden with patio and heated smoking hut.Inside we offer a large conservatory overlooking the garden, which leads into the public bar, with 2 drinking areas and a separate dining room on the side overlooking the countryside.
We close all day Monday and serve evening meals from Tuesday to Saturday evening and lunches from Friday to Sunday. We get very busy in the evenings and on a Sunday Lunch, so we do recommend to book!!
We offer fresh prepared food using reputable suppliers and make majority of the dishes here on sight, we pride ourselves on Proper Food in a clean comfortable cosy yet modern village pub with restaurant.