We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Qubana

1-3 Wood Street, Wakefield WF1 2EL, England
+44 1924 299000
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good23%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“tapas” (291 reviews)
“jambalaya” (28 reviews)
“steak” (77 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Mediterranean, European, Spanish, British, Cuban, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1-3 Wood Street, Wakefield WF1 2EL, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 936 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

The hake option could really do with a sauce. The dish itself is too dry other than that....all good.More

Thank Peter K
MatthewQubana, Owner at Qubana, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello Peter K, Thank you for your feedback, we always appreciate notes on where we can improve. Due to the nature of our menu we have the freedom to change these things and if you make a request on the day we have plenty of...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

Whast a great meal we hadfor our christmas get together. We were in a small room which used to be the bank vault. Couldn't fault the food or the service everything was great, the Company was good too.

Thank dwaite7
MatthewQubana, Owner at Qubana, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello dwaite7, Very happy to hear you had such a great time with us on all accounts, I'll make sure the team receive the positive feedback, we always like to hear when our guests have enjoyed themselves

Reviewed 5 days ago

The food is gorgeous and very varied, we had tapas and the portion size is very good, we had 6 tapas between 4 of us and a cheese board to finish and we were stuffed, the wine was really good and the cocktails amazing. We...More

Thank nadine b
MatthewQubana, Owner at Qubana, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello Nadine b, Thank you for your review and recommendation, we always stive to seat guests where they request and our booths are very popular - maybe next time!

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Called on Sunday for an anniversary meal & loved the dishes on offer. We ordered the lamb & mint meatballs, Spanish omelette and Cajun potatoes and the handmade burger between us. All of it was really tasty & the atmosphere was really good with lots...More

1  Thank Mooster B
MatthewQubana, Owner at Qubana, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Mooster B! Thank you for your brilliant review! So happy to hear that you enjoyed your dishes and gin! We have a fab new Violet Gin in at the moment - definitely worth a return visit!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Can’t fault this place, one of my favourite restaurants. Great for lunch, dinner or just a cheeky cocktail! Gorgeous food, great cocktails and the staff are super friendly.

Thank Mollie H
MatthewQubana, Owner at Qubana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Mollie H, Glad you like our gorgeous food and great cocktails! I will pass on the brilliant feedback to the team, Thanks you!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely love it here!!! The decor is amazing!! I booked The Volt for our Work Christmas Do!! We had the Cocktail masterclass with tapas!! Really quaint room! James our cocktail “tutor” was fab!!! Nothing was too much trouble and we got to sample lots of...More

Thank simonamgb
MatthewQubana, Owner at Qubana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi simonamgn, Thank you for your fabulous review! I have spoken to James and he thouroughly enjoyed working with you that afternoon, See you next time for more cocktails and tapas :)

Reviewed 1 week ago

23 of us booked this restaurant for a party at 8pm on 24 th November . We got fed at 11 pm despite preordering a month prior , and the meal was terrible . Food quality was poor and virtually inedible . Now I can...More

Thank petchfam2017
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited for the second time in a couple of months, absolutely beautiful meal, yet again in the Vault. Beef cooked to perfection, all the vegetables perfect. We had ample beef and even took a doggy bag for supper. All the staff were excellent, very attentive,...More

Thank GINGERWILDCAT2012
MatthewQubana, Owner at Qubana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Gingerwildcat2012. What amazing comments to read, I will ensure all the team see this wonderful feedback! Look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice environment and a really comfy place to hang out for a few hours and have a drink. Staff were friendly, drinks were great - Jambalaya was pretty nasty, but friend's burger looked good.. they did comp the jambalaya for me with no fuss. Probably...More

Thank Andrew A
MatthewQubana, Owner at Qubana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Afternoon Andrew A, Thank you for the complements on our restaurant and team. We do apologise that you didn't like our Jambalaya, it has been a strong favourite for the past 9 years! I'm happy to see this was rectified for you on the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I recently visited for a family meal. On arrival we received a warm welcome from the hostess. Advised our table wasn’t ready yet but to take a seat in the bar area and get a drink whilst we wait so we did. We were told...More

1  Thank Emily C
MatthewQubana, Owner at Qubana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Afternoon Emily C, I would firstly like to apologise on how you were spoken to on your visit, this is not what is expected of our team or our usual high standard of customer service. I have spoken to the team members involved and...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Jose's Tapas Restaurant
408 reviews
.11 km away
Iris
798 reviews
.04 km away
Marmalade on the Square
192 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wakefield Cathedral
203 reviews
.17 km away
Theatre Royal Wakefield
179 reviews
.24 km away
Wakefield Museum
46 reviews
.28 km away
Trinity Walk Wakefield
58 reviews
.28 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Liz H
8 March 2017|
Answer
Response from MatthewQubana | Property representative |
Yes the Restaurant is wheelchair friendly. For any queries regarding possible wedding bookings please contact us by email info @ qubana. co. uk or telephone 01924 299000 where we can discuss possible options.
0
Votes
Steve F
19 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from MatthewQubana | Property representative |
Hi Steve, Qubana has now moved to new premises at 1-3 Wood Street. The Restaurant is open, has new menus and live music on a Friday and Saturday. The bar area is now a lot bigger and there is a roof terrace open on Friday... More
0
Votes
Chris H
27 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Alison J | Reviewed this property |
No actual parking onsite, however lots off parking on the road and nearby car parks.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1-3 Wood Street, Wakefield WF1 2EL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Wakefield
  • Phone Number: +44 1924 299000
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing