We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Heifer That Travelled

West Park John Fowler Way | John Fowler Way, Darlington DL2 2GG, England
+44 1325 462464
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good19%
  • Average20%
  • Poor20%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“halloumi” (2 reviews)
“onion rings” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
West Park John Fowler Way | John Fowler Way, Darlington DL2 2GG, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

If you like to eat at an establishment that has the food it sells cooked at an undisclosed location then transported to another location, then microwaved at that establishment to the legally required temperature and if you raise any concerns about the quality of the...More

2  Thank andy s
Reviewed 1 week ago

Called in for a snack and a few drinks, shouldn't have bothered. Two bar staff on and they couldnt manage a smile between them. Both totally uninterested. They didn't know the correct law on under 18's and alcohol consumption either. Very poor impression.More

Thank jps73
Axl B, Manager at The White Heifer That Travelled, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi and thank you for the feedback. I have spoke with my staff who were on this day and both assured me that the conversation was dealt with in a professional manner. They were also correct in stating that our licensing policy does not allow...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice pub with simple good food. Staff are lovely but there aren't enough of them serving at the bar. The decoration has seen better days - it's desperately needing refurbished. There are places where the wall paper is coming off the walls, damaged chairs, broken...More

1  Thank SansAlcohol
Axl B, Manager at The White Heifer That Travelled, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. All feedback is taken on board to help drive the business in the future and we will look at your comments. Thanks again

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So brought our friends from isle of wight and although a 45 minutes wait for food it was amazing i must say . Seems there food back to how it used to be . Great to see . Very busy tonight so the very few...More

1  Thank Deano7719
Axl B, Manager at The White Heifer That Travelled, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your response and feedback on our pub. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your food and also appreciate the feedback on waiting times. Thanks again

Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Im here now at the bar 1 person serving 8 ppl waiting to be served and the person at the bar is so miserable its unreal . 17.50pm what has happened to this place lately . Look at my previoua reviews for the white hef...More

3  Thank Deano7719
Axl B, Manager at The White Heifer That Travelled, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Hi Deano thanks for your feedback about the pub again. We do try to put enough staff on to manage the pub, but some times it can get busy at unexpected times and we just have to do our best at times like that. I...More

Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Have just visited the heifer for Sunday with my family. We had two beef Sunday dinners, lamb shoulder and a rack of ribs. The beef dinner was absolutely gorgeous- the meat being tender and melt in the mouth and the vegetables were really nice too....More

Thank 52Laura
Axl B, Manager at The White Heifer That Travelled, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback it is much appreciated. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience and look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

the beef was so tender, was the best Sunday dinner I've had for a while! Best service from all the staff too, especially bar staff

Thank Britt D
Axl B, Manager at The White Heifer That Travelled, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback it is much appreciated. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience and look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

Wow, no more than a handful of people in the place & stood for "what felt like" 15 minutes. I sat near the bar and watched as client after client came in to just stand at the bar with no engagement at all. #lazystaff

Thank No1waggi
Axl B, Manager at The White Heifer That Travelled, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Hi sorry to hear of this. I am very interested in hearing of your experience and who was on this day so I can investigate. Please give me a call to discuss on 01325462464

Reviewed 29 June 2017

We were invited by friends and last time we visited this pub/restaurant the service and food were very disappointing. However last night we experienced excellent service and the food was lovely and freshly cooked arriving at the table hot and very well served. Two for...More

Thank Catherine S
Axl B, Manager at The White Heifer That Travelled, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Thank you for your recent feedback it is much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 10 June 2017

Could have been anywhere, really detest these purpose built catalogue pubs, decided not to eat as meals coming out looked bland, had one drink and left.Did not enjoy drink either.

Thank Michael R
Axl B, Manager at The White Heifer That Travelled, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Thanks for your feedback. It seems pretty hard to judge the food based on observations. However, I am intrigued to know what drink you had? If you would like to discuss please call 01325462464

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Hummingbird Kitchen
85 reviews
1.02 km away
Robineau Cafe & Patisserie
234 reviews
1.50 km away
Table Talk Indian Diner
107 reviews
.71 km away
Spice 4U
97 reviews
1.61 km away
Nearby Attractions
Head of Steam - Darlington Railway Museum
217 reviews
2.40 km away
Darlington Hippodrome
204 reviews
3.37 km away
South Park
81 reviews
3.59 km away
Thornton Hall Gardens
37 reviews
1.62 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ian j
20 December 2015|
Answer
Response from 52Laura | Reviewed this property |
no
0
Votes
Kelly M
27 June 2015|
Answer
Response from 52Laura | Reviewed this property |
yes
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:45 - 23:30
Monday
11:45 - 23:30
Tuesday
11:45 - 23:30
Wednesday
11:45 - 23:30
Thursday
11:45 - 23:30
Friday
11:45 - 23:30
Saturday
11:45 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: West Park John Fowler Way | John Fowler Way, Darlington DL2 2GG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Durham  >  Darlington
  • Phone Number: +44 1325 462464
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing